Maple Sloppy Joes

Boy do I have a sweet dinner for you! 🙂 I was trying to figure out all of my meals this weekend, & I happened to remember one that I saw last week. I get an email once a week from Rachael Ray’s website with a few different recipes of the week. This recipe was the ‘featured’ recipe of the week. As soon as I read it I immediately thought it sounded good. It’s kind of a mixture of savory & sweet.

Sloppy Maple – BBQ Turkey Joes
(adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1  pound ground turkey or ground turkey breast
  • 1 tablespoon poultry seasoning
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 small bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 cup tomato sauce (I used just regular spaghetti sauce because I didn’t have plain tomato sauce on hand)
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 1/2tablespoons lite soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon yellow mustard
  • 4 soft burger rolls, split
  • Preparation:

    1. In a large skillet sprayed with cooking spray, heat over medium-high heat. Add the turkey and season with the poultry seasoning, salt and pepper. Cook until browned, then stir in the bell pepper, onion and garlic and cook until the vegetables are tender, 5-6 minutes.

    2. In a bowl, stir together the tomato sauce, maple syrup, soy sauce, vinegar, brown sugar and mustard. Pour the sauce over the meat and simmer over medium-low heat for a few minutes to combine the flavors.

    Serve the sloppy turkey on the rolls.

    I served the sloppy joes with my two favorite sides:

    Kraft mac & cheese (which is my ALL time favorite!) & green beans with LOTS of mushrooms!

    Macaroni & cheese is my favorite food…well, ok, that & cereal. But I will ONLY eat Kraft macaroni & cheese, I do NOT like homemade macaroni & cheese. How weird is that?! I actually LUUURRVE that fake bright orange cheese 😀 I will not even touch homemade mac & cheese, I just turn my nose up. What a mac & cheese snob I am 😉

    Another thing I love is mushrooms. Typically I do not add mushrooms to green beans, but I had half of a can leftover from my egg whites that I made for breakfast on Sunday. It was more like ‘would you like some egg whites with your mushrooms?!’..that’s how much I love them. I also tend to just eat mushrooms right out of the can..but that grosses people out- one of those people being Craig. So, instead he gets to suffer through them in the green beans. See, I believe in compromise 😉

    Can you believe that I used to HATE sloppy joes when I was little?? Yes, I hated them! I don’t know why. They are such a PERFECT ‘kid food’- you can get all messy while you eat! Maybe that’s why I like them now 😉 I can be the messiest eater that I wish to be whenever sloppy joes are served. Thank goodness it’s just Craig & I at the table. 😉

    I haven’t posted a workout on my main page in a while, typically I just list them in the ‘Daily workouts’ tab. I have been picking up my mileage lately, but not too quickly because I don’t want any injuries! I actually now do two workouts in a day- one in the morning & one on my lunch break. The morning workout is both weights & running, but the afternoon workout is typically a faster run. Sometimes I switch the afternoon workout up & will do the elliptical as well…just depends on my mood. I have to tell ya, my appetite has been growing significantly too! It’s pretty crazy how much hungrier I get now. I definitely listen to my body- when it wants food, it gets food 🙂 I’ve learned it’s SO important to fuel your body with lots of nutritious food.

    Anyways, here is a workout that I did on Saturday that I really liked & totally felt it the next day! I have had a few requests for some workout ideas, so here’s one for ya 🙂

    This workout took me a little over an hour to complete at the gym.

    Cardio:
    Up & down interval workout. (I like running workouts that change every minute- makes time FLY!)

    Minute  Speed  Incline 
    0-1   6   0.5  
    1-2   7   1  
    2-3   8   1.5  
    3-4   9   2  
    4-5   4   0  
    5-6   6   0  
    6-7   9   0  
    7-8   4   0  
    8-9   6   0  
    9-10   9   0  
    10-11   4   0  
    11-12   6   0  
    12-13   9   0  
    13-14   4   0  
    14-15   6   0  
    15-16   9   0  
    16-17   4   0  
    17-18   6   0  
    18-19   9   0  
    19-20   6   0  
    20-21   6.5   0  
    21-22   7   0  
    22-23   7.5   0  
    23-24   7   0  
    24-25   6.5   0  
    25-26   7   0  
    26-27   7.5   0  
    27-28   7   0  
    28-29   6.5   0  
    29-30   9   0  
    30-31   4   0  

    Full body weight workout- I have listed how much weight I used, but adjust the weights according to your needs.
    I completed this circuit THREE times, I did 12 reps for each exercise.
    1. Walking lunges with leg lifts (15 lb. each hand)
    2. Calf raises (on machine)- 55lb.
    3. Barbell bench press- 45lb.
    4. One arm dumbell row- 25lb.
    5. Reverse flyes- 7.5lb. each
    6. Regular flyes- 10lb. each
    7. Cable tricep pushdown- 50lb.
    8. Alternating Bicep DB curls- 15lb. each
    9. Iron Cross exercise- 5lb. each
    10. Hanging abs- lifting to the left- right-then center
    11. Reverse incline situps – raise legs in air
    12. Incline sit ups – 10lb. medicine ball
    13. Side to side incline sit ups – 10 lb. medicine ball

    Let me know if you try the workout! Also, let me know if you would like me to list more of my workouts for you. 🙂 Sometimes I’m not sure what I should post or not.

    Hope you have a good day!!! 😀

    Previous Post
    Leave a comment

    12 Comments

    1. I hate raw mushrooms but I sreiously saute an entire container and eat it for meals. It’s a bit of an addiction. I suppose I could apply for my strange addiction.

      I’ve never been a fan of Sloppy Joes. I think it is because back in middle school there was a massive food fight in my cafeteria and some landed in my hair and I had to spend days getting the smell out. Random fun fact ha.

      Reply
    2. I don’t think I’ve ever had an actual sloppy joe. I love the way you made yours, it looks delicious 🙂

      Reply
    3. Ohhh my gosh I LOVE mushrooms! I will totally eat them raw too as a snack. I hated them when I was a kid but now I can’t get enough!

      Reply
    4. I totally didn’t like sloppy joes as a kid either! Weird, I know! I love them now! So yummy! 🙂

      Reply
    5. Amy @ countrystrong21

       /  March 8, 2011

      I love mushrooms but not raw.

      Kraft Mac & Cheese is da BOMB! 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your sloppy joe recipe. I’ve always liked them.

      Reply
    6. Those sloppy joes look awesome! I’ve never had one, and I don’t think I’d like normal ones. But yours look super tasty!

      Reply
    7. laura

       /  March 8, 2011

      i saw this workout, and the first person in my mind was you 🙂

      Reply
      • Girl- you ROCK! Thanks SO much for posting this! I made a list of all of the exercises she was doing- looking forward to doing this!! Especially the quarter mile sprints! WOOHOO! 😀 You are awesome!
        PS: I need a tutorial on how to embed You Tube videos..pleeeasse! I have no idea! GRR

        Reply
    8. You just can’t go wrong with kraft mac and cheese! It’s so much better than the Annie’s healthy mac and cheese version LOL

      Reply
    9. LOL! I hated sloppy joes too when I was kid. Now I like mine fancy, with maple!

      Reply
    10. mmmmmmm i LOVE kraft mac and cheese. happy to see it here! the recipe looks really good too…i love most things sweet and salty

      Reply
    1. Dark Chocolate Pomegrante Waffles « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

    Leave a Reply

