Dark Chocolate Pomegrante Waffles

Good Morning! It’s Thursday!! As you know, it’s one of my favorite days of the week- YAY! & I’m pretty sure it’s a brand new ‘The Office’ tonight! YES 😀 Makes my day even better.

Since last night we could not eat any meat, (because of Ash Wednesday) I figured we would have breakfast for dinner! I actually really like having breakfast for dinner. Pancakes, waffles & eggs at any time of the day sound good to me 🙂

I was trying to think of a good combination of flavors to make these waffles out of. I really didn’t just want to make plain ol’ waffles. Even though they are rather delicious, I was feeling a bit creative. 😉

I was searching around the kitchen, and I happened to find these two items:

Chobani pomegrante Greek yogurt & mini dark chocolate chips. Pomegrante + dark chocolate= perfect combination to me! After coming up with the recipe, I got to work in the kitchen 🙂

Dark Chocolate Pomegrante Waffles

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup old fashioned oats 
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tbsp. Splenda 
1 6oz. container Chobani pomegrante Greek yogurt 
1 cup unsweetened Almond milk
3 egg whites
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup applesauce
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
Sugar free syrup for topping OR toppings of your choice (I added chocolate syrup & Reddi whip to Craig’s stack)

Preheat a waffle iron.

Sift together the flours, oats, baking powder, salt, cinnamon & Splenda .

 In another bowl, whisk together the yogurt, egg whites, Almond milk, vanilla & applesauce.
Make a well in the dry ingreidents & then pour the wet ingredients in the well. Stir to combine both the wet & dry ingredients. Be sure to get all of the lumps out of the batter.

Stir in the mini chocolate chips.

Spray the waffle iron with cooking spray. Drop 1/4 cup of the batter onto the waffle iron, and cook for 3-4 minutes, until waffle is lightly browned. Remove with a fork, and repeat until all batter is used.

Now that stack looks kind of boring…so I have to make it a bit more fancy 😉

Now those are some fancy waffles for ya 🙂 That was actually Craig’s stack..and he definitely went back for more.
Please don’t think I’m a complete weirdo (it’s ok if you think I’m a little weirdo) but I really don’t like chocolate in pancakes & waffles..so I made a stack for myself without chocolate. They were quite delicious 🙂 I actually really liked the hint of cinnamon that I put in the batter…I think it kind of made them! It’s pretty crazy how one little spice can make such a difference in recipes!

I also want to share with you some awesome web articles that I have found lately.
2-in-1 toner exercises
I actually really LOVE 2-in-1 exercises! Not only do they keep your heart rate up, but they also help you work more muscle groups.

(^example- sumo squat & curl)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJj6mmKf_5Q
Have you seen this video of Elisabeth Hasselbeck’s workout routine? I know it has been floating around it the blog world…but a reader, Laura, posted it in my comments section on Tuesday’s post. She said when she saw it, she thought of me- so cool, right?! 🙂 But, really this workout is AWESOME!! I was writing the whole thing down as the video was playing & I cannot wait to try it out- especially the 10.5 sprints. Bring ’em on! Oh yaaaaa! 😀

Running Twice a Day
I have already felt the difference in running twice a day. My endurance is already picking up, along with my pace!

FEAR NO RUN!!
Tips on how not to let your mental thoughts get the best of you when it comes to running. I definitely have my days where I let the thoughts get to me when it comes to running..especially long runs. But honestly, I think once you get going it just all starts to flow, ya know what I mean?

What is your secret to psyching yourself up before a long run?? Do you have something that you always do before you go out for a long run? I always like to have some great music to run to- when the jams start pumping, my pace really picks up 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I have never tried pomagranate waffles (or pancakes). That and dark chocolate coconut waffles are my next adventures. 🙂 They look so good though. You can always make your food look so fancy ha. 😉

    Reply
  2. You always make your breakfasts look SO good! Mine taste good…but they look like a mess haha!

    I have been wondering if greek yogurt would be good in waffles/pancakes! Now I know it’s safe to experiment 😉

    I don’t run but before every lifting sesh I repeat my mantra to myself AND set a goal for the workout — whether it’s to increase weight on a lift or increase reps. It gives me something to strive for!

    Reply
  3. Those waffles are freaking mouth watering! I’ve never made waffles well bc of my lack of a waffle iron lol but even then I’d probably never use think to use greek yogurt. Love the creativity they look delicious!

    Reply
  4. Pretty waffles! I add cinn to everything…seriously everything. It’s best in batters of course, but it’s super tasty in coffee grounds or a fresh brewed pot!

    Reply
  5. Zomg. It’s times like NOW that I wish I had a waffle maker.

    Reply
  6. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  March 10, 2011

    Those are some yummy looking waffles!

    Reply
  7. Mmm.. I’m gonna have to call you out for being weird and not liking chocolate chips in your pancakes or waffles 😉 Just kidding! But yes, I am obsessed with anything chocolate so these are heaven to me!

    Reply
  8. OH MY GOSH those look so so so good! I really need to buy a waffle maker and a panini maker too! I think I’m missing out on life!

    Reply
  9. those waffles are ballllllerrrr.

    Reply
  10. Um… seriously… those waffles look amazing. Will you please come to my house and make them for me??

    Reply
  11. laura

     /  March 10, 2011

    thank you
    your workouts are my inspiration, i always see what are you doing 🙂

    Reply
  12. How about I come visit you after graduation??? I need some Florida I mean Holly in my life. Hahaha

    Reply
  13. Those waffles look delicious! I’ve also found that a sprinkle of cinnamon and/or nutmeg in pancake or waffle batter makes a huge difference. Breakfast for dinner is one of my absolute favorites, but the hubby isn’t such a fan. I’m sure you can guess what I eat when he’s out of town on business trips!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

