Chicken Taco Sliders

Happy Hump Day! (Ok- so does anyone else think that is one of the weirdest sayings?! I almost feel like I should apologize- lol!)

Last night I had NO idea what I was going to make for dinner. I really wanted to make a recipe for White Chicken Chili that I had seen on Courtney’s blog, but then I realized that I did not have the right seasoning packet- I had BBQ pulled pork seasoning & I needed White Chicken Chili seasoning. The good thing was that I remembered to pull out some ground chicken from the freezer..that way at least I would have something defrosted.

All day I really count NOT think of what to make for dinner. I browsed a ton of recipes…and still just couldn’t find any that really caught my attention. (& that I had all of the ingredients for)

When I got home from work I sat on the couch for a bit,  watching The Bachelor- the Final Rose. Pretty crazy if ya ask me! Once that was over I walked over to the kitchen to see what I could find. One thing kept coming to mind– tacos! But I had a little problem- no shells. I kept trying to think of something….and then I figured that I would incorporate tacos into dinner, but in a different way.

I found these two ingredients in the kitchen….

Now my mission was to figure out what to do next. Then it hit me.

Chicken Taco Sliders

Ingredients:
-1 lb. ground chicken
-1/4 cup taco sauce
-2 tbsp. taco seasoning
-1 egg
-1/2 cup bread crumbs

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
2. Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl & mix well.

3. Take the chicken mixture & divide it equally into mini burgers- I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make sure that I got an equal amount in each burger.
4. Take each mini burger & shape it into a ball, then flatten it. (so they are more pancake- like)

5. Bake for about 20 minutes, flipping HALF way. And when you have about 3 more minutes left to cook, pull them out & sprinkle some cheese (I used Mexican cheese blend) on top. Put them back in the oven for the remainder cooking time.

6. Place the burgers on slider buns & top with more taco sauce & diced tomatos, if desired.

Devour 😉 …and try to eat just one!

After telling Craig about my hard time trying to decide what to make for dinner…and then just making these on a whim, he took a bite & said, ‘Whoa H! I think we have a winner!!’ 😀 I love hearing that! Not to toot my own horn (*toot toot*) but these sliders are fantastic! The incorporation of the taco seasoning into the ground chicken mixture just worked! Sometimes you just find that right combination of flavors & they mesh very well.

On a side note, I’m not sure if you ever watch those 30 on 30 movies on ESPN, but we typically watch all of them. (or DVR them & watch them later) But we just watched The ‘Fab Five’ Documentary last night & it was REALLY good! Even if you don’t like basketball, I think you will like this. It’s one of those movies that just gives you extra motivation & you find yourself cheering for the team on the TV:) (Kind of like Rudy)

**Dad: You will LOVE it!! Let me know when you watch it & what you think- I know you taped it 🙂 **

Oh & since I’m talking basketball– are you doing a bracket for March madness???

I am!! I do one every year..and this year I’m actually entering one of those bracket challenges. (it’s one that Craig is in too) I always like doing brackets each year…makes watching the games even more fun! Part of the reason that we selected THIS Friday to take off work & go to different meetings for the wedding is because the March madness tournament starts on Friday…and Craig suggested that day for that reason. Imagine that 😉

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I NEVER do well in those brackets lol so I decided to quit last year. Good luck though!! =)

    That recipe looks AWESOME. I so need a way to spice up chicken, we eat chicken every single day and it’s getting old! I can just NEVER find ground chicken around here! Maybe I’ll just use ground turkey breast.

    Reply
  2. Trang

     /  March 16, 2011

    How ironic?! I watched the Fab 5 documentary with my husband too! I remember watching them way back when. We were wondering why Chris Webber didn’t participate in the documentary. Any ideas?

    Reply
  3. whoa, those are too cute! I love sliders just cause they are mini. hehe!

    Reply
  4. Aram always wants me to get to those brackets ha. I don’t know the first thing about basketball and don’t follow it at all-so I just put all the schools I have heard of. Like all the VA and upstate NY schools to win ha.

    Reply
  5. I have to admit my sports knowledge completely LACKS! I am such a girl in this regard, and I need to learn more, especially since basketball is all over the news right now, it being March and all 🙂

    Reply
  6. That is a neat recipe idea! I won’re be participating in any brackets since I know next to nothing about basketball. It is one of the only sports I enjoy watching though because my boyfriend played in high school so I understand it to a point and it’s fast paced!

    Reply
  7. those sliders sound delicious!!! And even though I worked in collegiate athletics and professional sports, I can never bring myself to fill out a bracket ha. But I am excited my alma mater (UCSB!) made it in this year 🙂

    Reply
  8. Those sliders look so yummy!

    Reply
  9. Those are so cute! And they sound tasty!

    Definitely filled out a bracket for March Madness. Sad that the Illini won’t make it far, but I can still hope. 😉

    Reply
  10. Those look amazing!! I love tacos…we have them almost every week. This is a great alternative to traditional tacos! Definitely going to give these a try!

    Reply
  11. Mexi mashups make the best dinners, I swear. You can never go wrong 😉

    Reply
  12. Great recipe! I love that idea!

    Reply
  13. Your sliders look so good! Looks like a lot of us were craving Mexican recently!

    Reply
  1. Crescent Taco Casserole « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

