One for you & One for me

You probably already know this, but I think Jess is a genius! She is like a real life Betty Crocker πŸ˜€ I have used more of her recipes than I can count! She just has a HUGE talent & I am forever grateful that she has decided to share her creations!

When I happened to see her recipe for One Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes for Two it just confirmed my belief that Jess is my cooking idol. I swear she can read minds. Since we have given up any kind of frozen yogurt or ice cream or anything like that for LentΒ we have been really good with not eating any desserts after dinner. But sometimes you just have that need for something sweet, ya know what I mean? Typically I grab my 5lb. bag of animal crackers if I’m in desparation mode, but sometims they just won’t do. When I saw this recipe I KNEW I had to try it!

One Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes for Two
(copied DIRECTLY from Jessica’s blog)

serves 2

1 egg white

2 tablespoons sugar (I usedΒ Splenda instead of sugar)

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla (yes, a full teaspoon – they are super vanilla-y!)

1/4 cup flour

1/4 heaping teaspoon of baking powder

pinch of salt

1 1/2 tablespoons milk (I used Almond milk)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin pan with 2 liners.

In a bowl, add egg white and sugar and whisk until combined. Add in vanilla and melted butter and stir until mixed. Add flour, baking powder and salt and stir until smooth. Stir in milk.

I even got a little crazy & added sprinkles to the batter…and since it was St. Patrick’s day yesterday, I added green dye as well. See, I can be festive πŸ˜‰ (don’t worry those green spots in the bottom left is just the green dye!)

Divide batter equally between the 2 cupcake liners. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes, or until cake is set.

Β Let cool completely, then frost as desired.

One thing I also love about these is that they are completely customizable!! So, as you can see- I made one chocolate frosted one & one vanilla frosted one.Β (Chocolate for Craig, Vanilla for me πŸ™‚ )
The decoration on the chocolate cupcake is supposed to be an “MM” for March madness…I’m a nerd & I support his sports-loving habit πŸ˜€

This is what we did for St. Patrick’s day- eat cupcakes! Sounds like the PERFECT night to me…& it definitely was! We are quite the party animals, huh?! πŸ˜‰

Well, we are now off to go to all of our wedding meetings! We have quite a list of questions for each of them too, I sure hope they are ready for us! Personally I cannot wait for the cake tasting!! I think I might just skip breakfast so I can save room for cake. Cake is a good breakfast, right? I mean it has eggs in it πŸ˜€

I hope you have a great Friday!! Not too much on our agenda for tonight..just more basketball of course. Yesterday was ALL basketball, ALL day. And, just to prove how OBSESSED Craig is with March Madness (well, it’s really any & every sport) here is a picture of him on Wednesday night trying to figure out who he was picking in his brackets:

It’s not that great of focus because I took it with my cell phone- he didn’t know I was taking a picture. There were newspapers EVERY where- he keeps the special NCAA section in the USA today for like 10 years. He then uses past newspapers & statistics to figure out his picks for this year. It is PURE madness! Seriously! He needs to be committed to the sports fanatic looney bin πŸ˜‰

Catch ya later…after I’m filled with cake πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Love that you added sprinkles!! So glad you guys like them. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Yay for sprinkles and green dye of course πŸ™‚
    My brother and boyfriend are both like that over sports! It drives me insane!!

    Reply
  3. Oh my goodness. I need a two person recipe for cupcakes (both for me obviously ha). Those look so good!

    Reply
  4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  March 18, 2011

    OMG! Craig is like Lloyd with football when he’s doing his fantasy draft. TOO FUNNY! I love that you made the cupcakes green. I have to try that recipe- Jess is totally my idol, too. (Duh!) Have fun and good luck at your meeting, Holls!

    Reply
  5. Hope your meetings go well!! Sounds like quite the process for Craig to fill out his bracket. I think I complete mine in about 30 seconds. I usually pick all the top seeds with a few upsets sprinkled in. I have yet to win a pool! : )

    Reply
  6. Hope the wedding meetings go well for you guys. I know that’s got to be soooo exciting. Getting closer πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  March 18, 2011

    That is an awesome recipe! So nice to not have to make a lot of cupcakes, less temptation to eat a lot πŸ˜‰

    Good luck with all of the wedding meetings today! Enjoy your cake tasting!

    Reply
  8. Those look so yummy! and a great way to celebrate St. Patty’s Day! I will definitely be making this easy treat soon! I love how focused and intense men can be with things that really excite them…and how equally uninterested they can be in clothes shopping.

    Reply
  9. I saw those cupcakes too and want to make them…I think vanilla actually BEATS chocolate..yeah take that!

    Reply
  10. Want want want! I love these pared down cupcake recipes, cake in a mug is also good too!

    Reply
  11. These are so cute! I agree, Jessica really is a genius, I have made so many of her recipes and they always turn out perfect πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. Those cupcakes are adorable! Jessica definitely knows her baking craft πŸ™‚ Enjoy all the cake!

    Reply
  13. CrashlyConquers

     /  March 18, 2011

    this totally made me laugh out loud. Your fiancee looks veeeery serious about those brackets haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

