Wedding Help, Please

Good Morning & Happy Saturday!! πŸ™‚

We accomplished SO much yesterday with all of our wedding meetings. It was definitely worth taking the day off of work to schedule those meetings.

Our first stop was to our venue- which is located at…

Walt Disney World…where dreams come true- LOL! Sorry the picture is blurry, I was trying to take it as we were driving in & my steaming HOT coffee spilled all over me. 😦 Of course I had white shorts on too- great right?! At least it wasn’t too bad!

We got all of our questions answered & feel a lot more comfortable about everything. You see the person we were working with LEFT in December from our venue. So we were freaking out for a while because they did NOT tell us who our new contact was. It took the venue about a MONTH or more to finally figure out who they were going to hire for that postition. Let’s just say it was a lot of uneasiness for us for about a month. We finally got to meet her in person (I had been emailing her for a while) & she is fantastic!! Very sweet & promised to do EVERYTHING she can to make our day perfect πŸ˜€

I just need some help from you guys, if you don’t mind πŸ˜‰ For our ceremony, I am not sure what to do with our ours. Here is a picture of the chair:

For the reception, I am just thinking of getting purple linens to tie around them- no chair cover, just the bow. Just because the linens are EXPENSIVE $$$$- I had NO idea how much linens are– just take a look:
Chair tie (which is what I want to get): $2.10 – EACH
Chair cover: $5.25- EACH
Table linen: $22.05 – EACH

That is just crazy expensive to me. Mind you, these are all based on approximately 120 – 130 people. (that is how many people we are expecting to be at our wedding) It is crazy how FAST things start to add up.

So, my question to you, is what would you do for those chairs picture above for the ceremony? Here are some ideas I had– (remember, my flowers are ALL sunflowers- so even though the pictures are not all with sunflowers, that is what I would use):

*Just big purple bows


*A single flower


*Just some kind of ribbon/ tool/ lace design on the end chairs


*Some kind of flowers bunch/ design to each of the end chairs

These are just some of the ideas that I had…but I would LOVE to hear your imput as well. I would LIKE to be able to hand make these. My florist actually recommend even using silk flowers for these, since you really cannot tell that they are fake flowers anymore. They just make silk flowers so well now a days.

After meeting with our florist, who might I add is AWESOME & the prices are SOOOOOO fantastic that we signed up on the spot for her to be our florist! We put the deposit down as well, just to make sure she doesn’t have any one else for that weekend…since she only does ONE wedding a weekend. So we are good to go πŸ™‚

Next up was cake tasting!! The best part, of course πŸ˜‰ I even told Craig that I was going to eat a light breakfast so I could fill up on cake- lol! Gotta live it up- this only happens once in life πŸ˜€

I have the idea of the cake thatΒ I want, I just have to narrow down the design. It is going to be aΒ 3 tier cake.Β  Here are some ideas:

*Just instead of the hay looking stuff, I will use purple ribbon around the bottom of the tiers.


*Just purple & black ribbon, instead of the orange ribbon


*It is a little too busy for me, I would not use AS many sunflowers on the cake, but I like the square design.


*I think this one is my favorite one so far- I would just use purple for the swirl design & then maybe another sunflower added to it.

Which one is your favorite? Any tips/ ideas- let me know πŸ™‚

Now– for the tasting- I was so surprised at how they did this. They actually made us a WHOLE cake of the 3 different flavors that I had picked out. It wasn’t different slices, but a WHOLE cake. The cake had stickers on the sides to indicate the flavors.

I selected red velvet, chocolate/ vanilla marble & vanilla cake with raspberry filling. They also let us take the cake home to sample & just told us to let us know which one we liked best & if there were others we would also like to try. They were SO nice!!

Let the tastings begin πŸ˜‰

They were all really good, but our favorite was the vanilla with raspberry filling. Red velvet is my favorite cake normally, but I am in just MAJOR fear that Craig will decide to smash the piece of cake all over me…and, well, so long to my white dress. 😦 Deciding to STAY away from any red cakes- I’m even gambling with getting a raspberry filling- haha πŸ˜€

Look at our cake after the sampling:

Let’s just say we had a GREAT day off!! πŸ˜€ I spent the rest of the afternoon with my friend Cori- just having a girls afternoon. It was a lot of fun & much needed girl time πŸ™‚

Well, now I’m off to hit the gym! It is MUCH needed after all of that sugar yesterday!! Then it looks like we will be laying out to get some sun – the weather is so nice. I hope you enjoy your day too πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Omg how awesome to have your venue at Disney!! I haven’t been there in years. I love the single flower picture, looks so classy and so good that you got everything settled with your party planner. So jealous of all your cake testing!! Have a great Saturday πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. Oh how I loved cake tasting. I went to 3 or 4 different places and then obviously have done a lot as a wedding planner too. NOM!

    Hmm, for the chairs…yes covers are very expensive as our linens. A cheaper way to get a punch of color is to do colored napkins that you just purchase (not rent). I think a bow wrapped around the chair could work. Adding flowers to chairs is a huge pain in the arse (and is a lot of work the day of the wedding). Hope that helps!

    Reply
  3. My sister had the same issue with the person in charge of her venue being fired in December, and the head cook too! She’s been stressed over it, but it’ll all work out!

    I like the chair bows. For the cake I like the last one and the 2nd one. How nice they sent you home with a cake!

    Reply
  4. I actually really like the single purple bow. Boooo. I would have most def chose the red velvet cake-but you don’t want to be worrying about that all day long.

    The weather is actually freezing here. It has been warm all week and it plumeted today. How sad schmeee.

    Reply
  5. A Disney wedding sounds amazing. I haven’t been there since I was 12 😦 I’m trying to organize a trip in October, for now I will live vicariously through everyone else.

    Reply
  6. i want to go to a cake tasting!! one day, one day…haha. maybe!? i like the 2nd cake best.

    Reply
  7. Mmm cake tasting, red velvet is among my favorite flavors, but I would also be concerned, white dress + Red dye= BAD! (potentially)
    I like the single flower for the chairs, that would be such a pretty and elegant look. And I also agree with you, I think the last pictured cake is my favorite too
    Can’t wait to hear what you decide!

    Reply
  8. Ha! That’s so funny that you’re worried about the dress – I’d never think of that. Smart girl! Can you do different flavored layers? Maybe that way you could be sure that the part of the cake you guys cut into would be red-free…

    Reply
  9. Liz’s idea is great! I bet they could accomodate that. How sweet and romantic that your venue is Disney World!!!

    Reply
  10. I love the big purple bows on the chairs. I think you could do those yourselves (with enough time and a little help). I’m drooling over your pictures of your cake : ) Did your appointments yesterday interfere with Craig’s NCAA basketball watching?? ; )

    Reply
  11. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  March 20, 2011

    MY thoughts… do every other chair with a purple bow and a sunflower type of floral thing, just alternate- it would look pretty, incorporate both colors/themes and you could make it look cohesive if you did every other chair or eery other table like that. I actually like the first two cakes the best. πŸ™‚ All of them are cool, though! πŸ™‚ Good call on the red cake! πŸ˜‰ Although rasp is scary, too. Just give Craig a big talking to about that little white dress… πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  12. oh I love that cake!!! Sunflowers are my favorite. I like the flowers on the chairs, but thats if they are going to be outside. If its inside, maybe straw and shear ribbon??

    Reply
  13. Ahh! DISNEY!! So exciting! Holly, your wedding is going to be so gorgeous! I’m so excited for you!

    I really like that last cake the best too! I love the square cakes! Technically that’s what we were supposed to have (and what we paid for), but the cake people messed up and made a round cake (they also messed up all the scroll work on the cake too). Aaanyway, I definitely like the square cakes! πŸ™‚

    By the way, I like the first three chair ideas the best! They’re all so different and I like them all equally, haha!

    Reply
  1. Cake + Flowers = DONE. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

