Double Workouts

Good Friday…opps..I mean Thursday morning! I only say that because it’s actually my Friday— My bachelorette party starts TONIGHT! 😀

This morning got off to a great start! Craig & I got up extra early & headed to the gym. I was up at about 4:45am- because I wanted to get in a workout in before work! We needed to leave the house earlier than usual this morning so that I could drop him off at the airport to head to VEGAS!

I started with a warm up of 10 minutes on the elliptical- on the highest resistance. I really don’t use the elliptical that much, I just don’t feel like I get a good workout on it- I much prefer running. But since my workout this morning was going to incorporate a lot of running & sprints, I figured I would just start on the elliptical.

After my warmup, I did a workout that I found in a Fitness Magazine from March of 2010. I have a binder of workouts, and happened to pull this one out last night thinking it would be a good one to do again. The bad part is that I CANNOT find it online 😦 Bummer!! I really wanted to share it with you, but I have spent all morning searching for it- on the Fitness Magazine website & on Google.

It was a full body workout- with weights & in between each set I sprinted on the treadmill for 90 seconds. I REALLY wish I could find it- I’m going to continue to search & if I find it, I’ll post it on here 🙂

As you know, I posted yesterday about my mind being all over the place yesterday. I really could not figure it out, but once I started REALLY thinking about it….I figured out what it was. It’s not something I am really ‘proud’ of, but I thought I would post it on here, so that I hold myself accountable.

I’m not sure if you ever read my ‘daily workouts‘ (tab at the top) but I have been doing two workouts a day on Monday- Friday. This all started because I wanted to up my mileage, so that I am ready for upcoming races. But this double working out thing has turned into a bad thing.

When I first started doing two workouts a day, I told myself that I would NOT become obsessed with doing them daily & that they were supposed to be FOR FUN…and to get some fresh air! Initially, they were- I love using my lunch break to go for a nice run- it was a nice break for the office.

But over the past week or so, it has turned from a FUN activity into a MUST activity. That was the VERY thing I told myself from Day one that I did not want to happen.

I figured all of this out because on Tuesday I was just feeling really kind of drained…and I had a few errands that I needed to run. I was just going to run the errands after work, but really after work I just want to go home & RELAX! So I thought, well I COULD just do them on my lunch break. That’s when the ‘freak out’ sort of happened. 

In my head, I kept telling myself that it was TOTALLY fine to miss my afternoon workout, considering I had an AWESOME workout that morning. But then on the other hand I was like…oh no! That is going to affect my body & slow down my metabolism. Then I figured if I didn’t workout then I would just eat less calories, to make up for not working out.

It seriously was a BACK & FORTH mind battle for about a good HOUR.  Then I TOLD myself that I made a promise from the beginning of these two a day workouts that I was NOT going to force myself to do them- they were supposed to be for fun.

I ended up using my lunch break to run errands, but I was miserable. I had all of these crazy thoughts running through my head & I just knew something was NOT right. When I got back to the office I even had a bit of anxiety- like weird stuff- heart beat was faster, shortness of breath. It was scary.

That’s when it REALLY hit me. WHAT was I doing to myself?! WHY IN THE WORLD was I being so critical?! I had a GREAT workout that morning, it’s not like I was skipping a whole day of working out. (Which should not affect me either..but it does..at least for now)

I seriously do NOT know what goes on in this brain of mine! It freaks me out sometimes- I really need to get these crazy thoughts under control.

Once I got back from lunch, I started Googling ‘exercise addiction.’ I just was reading all of the signs & common side effects..and what was scary was that I answered YES to almost every single question that was asked regarding exercise addiction. Just the constant feeling of exhaustion, the feeling of the NEED to workout- rather than just for fun, ANXIETY over not working out, letting it interfere with life events (like I really needed to run those errands, but I was going to pick working out instead), etc.

After reading all of that, I have made a PROMISE to myself. I will ONLY do another workout if I REALLY want to do one- IF I think I am doing it for FUN..or if I am doing it to enjoy the nice weather. NOT because I feel obligated, or that I MUST workout twice.

I know some people are going to tell me that I just shouldn’t work out twice  a day, at all. But truth be told, I DO enjoy it. Seriously! I love using my lunch break to get in some exercise, just because it clears my mind & gives me more energy to power thru the day. BUT if I am feeling tired, or just plain exhausted then I will NOT push myself to do another workout, that is just stupid & bad for my body.

I know this post has gotten a bit out of control- super long! But like I said, I wanted to post it not only to get it off my mind, but also to hold myself accountable. I would also just like to know if you have ever experienced this yourself (an exercise addiction or the need to exercise twice in a day) or if you know someone that has.

I know it has a lot to do with just THINKING- it’s ALL mental & I just need to be strong & get past it!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. When you feel drained and scattered, that is usually a sign that your body is trying to tell you something…back when I forced myself to work out twice a day, not only did my fat loss come to a screeching halt, but I also got the worst cold of my life — I was literally holed up, miserable, for a week and a half. Make sure you’re eating enough to make up for your twice-daily workouts, and as you said — only do the second one if you WANT to!! Take care of yourself 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m just glad you recognized it 🙂

    Reply
  3. Have fun at your bachelorette party, post pics!

    Reply
  4. Have an awesome time at your bachelorette party!!
    I used to enjoy working out twice a day too… But life just got too busy for it, and thats OK too 🙂

    Reply
  5. Happy Thursday. Can’t wait to hear about the party! As for 2 workouts a day…I think it depends on what they are. If they are 2 hour-long, super intense workouts then I think that’s over doing it. But if one is say 30-40 mins of weights then the other is another short cardio session, then no biggy. Mostly, you have to listen to your own body.

    Reply
  6. I’ve never done 2 work-outs in one day. I might do something active after dinner like go for a walk or bike ride but, I don’t consider that a workout.

    I definitely wouldn’t do 2 intense workouts in one day. Just don’t see the reason and how it could be good for you.

    I’m glad you realized it and have given your body more rest!
    Have fun at your bachelorette party!!

    Reply
  7. Oye girl, I feel for ya! I can only fit in 4-5 workouts per week — two would be unheard for me. I hope you can find a good balance.

    Have FUN this weekend =)

    Reply
  8. CrashlyConquers

     /  March 24, 2011

    I totally know where you are coming from on this one. I always work out in the morning and there is a gym in my office as well. I started doing a double workout on my lunch at my office gym for awhile just for fun and to ramp up my mileage. However, at some point, that switched from fun to I HAD to do that second workout or I felt lazy or fat or like my metabolism was going to slow and then I would tell myself I had to cuz even though I work out in the morning it wasn’t enough since I work in an office all day. I started feeling tired and drained all the time from doing 2 workouts a day but it didn’t matter, I kept doing them because I felt like I “had” to. It was a really hard thing to get out of and sometimes I think it can even be bad for your metabolism to do 2 a day every day if you don’t fuel properly (I know I wasn’t). Hang in there, try to remember it’s for fun, not a must.

    Reply
  9. CrashlyConquers

     /  March 24, 2011

    sorry for the book of a comment lol 🙂

    Reply
  10. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  March 24, 2011

    Have fun at your bachelorette party! I hope you take lots of pictures to share 😉

    It’s a good thing that you recognize that the two work outs Monday-Friday is starting to not be fun to you and that your body is probably trying to tell you it’s too much. I’ve never experienced this problem so I don’t have any advice for your, sorry. I’m glad you blogged about it though. I too find that blogging keeps me accountable 🙂

    Reply
  11. Aww have SO much fun at your bachelorette party tonight!!

    I’m so glad that you took the time to stop and realize how you were feeling about working out. I’m so glad you normally enjoy working out twice and that you gave yourself a break today!

    Reply
  12. I completely understand where you are coming from. I am the type of person that could not start doing 2 workouts a day without becoming obsessed with it. I just know how my body works with disordered eating/exercise obsession in the past. I think if you can recognize between doing it for fun and doing it because you have to, you will be fine!

    Reply
  13. Have an amazing time tonight, boo boo! Wish I could be there!!!! Thanks for noticing my vodka… lol

    Reply
  14. Have a great time!!! 😀

    Reply
  15. OOh girl I do the same thing mentally.

    But I hope your party goes super well.

    Your blog is the only one I have stayed subscribed too since the very beginning of mine (6 months ago). Therefore you win! And I don’t think I’m going to be getting unsubscribed so you will forever win. 🙂

    Reply
  16. Double workouts-my goodness! I remember our xc coach used to want us to do two a days with cross country running…umm not happening! haha congrats to you though girl thats amazing!

    Reply
  17. way to go for recognizing that! You have so much on your plate right now that one a day exercises are all you need. But you knew that already.
    😉

    Reply
  18. It’s really good that you recognized the issue before it got really out of control. Do you feel better now that you got that post out there? Hope you have a fabulous weekend!!!

    Reply
  19. decibelbelownormal

     /  March 24, 2011

    Sounds like your body and mind were struggling to come to an agreement! When I don’t get a daily workout in I definitely struggle with that inner voice that makes me feel guilty.

    Every so often I do two workouts a day but it usually leaves me feeling so wiped out that I don’t attempt it again for quite a while. But if the weather is amazing it’s hard not to get back out for an evening jog!

    Reply
  20. First, I hope you have a fabulous, amazing time at your Bachelorette party! 🙂
    About this post, I am so glad you were able to recognize what you were doing and the reasons why. On that note, I can soo relate to this! I don’t workout twice a day, but if I miss even ONE day of some kind of exercise, I get very anxious and as a result cut calories, ya know to avoid getting fat! ughh… this needs to stop, for both of us!
    When you workout and WANT TO you have a much more fulfilling time, and feel great about it after, not just a “check” of the things to do list. Perhaps on days you want to get out during lunch, you could try doing something more low-key, perhaps walking? I personally like to walk in the evenings, listening to a book on tape (nerd alert!) or talking to someone on the phone. It’s a great way to get my body moving, but also time to relax, and do your own thang 😉
    You can bust through these irrational thoughts, we BOTH CAN!

    Reply
  21. Girl, I know exactly what you are going through!! I run for texas A&M, and have ran all my life and it is a major addiction! Once you start increasing your milage, you think that you can never go back down! I have this fear that when I actually get into the real world I won’t be able to work out as much as I do now, and I will gain weight or lose fitness…. but that is not true!!! Rest is the key to success I promise! I made it to Nationals once I finally realized this. I used to never take days off and I became very obsessed, but when I started taking rest days and keeping my milage at a good amount for my body I ran the fastest I have ever ran! It is also key to NOT eat less on your rest days! I know its hard to do….. trust me! But your body needs it! Please email me I could go on and on about this!!! 🙂

    Reply
  22. Laura

     /  March 25, 2011

    have fun at the party! I bet you guys will have a blast!
    Yes it’s good you have realized that you have a problem. It’s obviously not healthy to feel such anxiety about not doing your SECOND workout of the day. You should be able to miss days of workouts and be able to deal with it. Life happens, and it’s ok.
    the thing is that you think you’ll get fatter without tons of workouts, but the tons of workouts could be working against you in this dept. Personally I have not worked out in weeks and weeks due to this injury. Not only can I not run, I can’t even walk, bike, elliptical, swim or do anything pretty much. And I haven’t ballooned out to hugeness.
    I used to have the same feelings as you, I would be scared to miss a workout. It would make me anxious. I would workout anyway, no matter how tired or sore I was. Now I realize there is more to life, and that it’s not healthy to work out all the time. Not even the actual working out part, but feeling so anxious because you can’t fit it in.
    Good luck working through this!
    Have you considered just taking a walk outside at lunch? It’s less taxing on your body and you can get some nice fresh air.

    Reply
  23. Anne

     /  March 26, 2011

    have fun at your party girlll! 😀
    and hey- kudos for actually realizing that it’s a problem. i used to feel the same way regarding exercise and i can’t really say i’ve shied away from thinking that way completely :/. we just gotta remember to listen to our bodies!!
    can’t wait to hear about your crazy weekend when you get back!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

