Oil Change Dinner.

Hey there!

Last night I had to get my oil changed & I knew I would need a quick dinner. Before leaving for work, I threw some chicken and chicken broth in the crock pot (4 chicken breasts & enough broth to cover the tops of the chicken breasts) & turned it to low. It cooked for about 6 1/2 hours & once I got home from my oil change I was ready to start dinner.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted..but I knew it involved buffalo flavor. Just like taco flavoring, I LOVE buffalo flavoring! The weird thing is that I NEVER used to like buffalo sauce..or anything that had buffalo flavor. But I think I figured out why. I HATE chicken wings. To me they are just gross. I think eating meat directly off the bone just bothers me. And then it’s a whole different story WATCHING people eat chicken wings…now that really just grosses me out! I’m sorry if you love chicken wings…I really just don’t..but if you do, I don’t think different of you- I promise 🙂

So once I discovered Frank’s buffalo hot sauce, I figured I would give it a try. Once I had my first bite of chicken with Frank’s on it, I discovered my true love of buffalo sauce 🙂 I guess it was just chicken WINGS that I didn’t like..and I associated the buffalo flavor with chicken wings.

Have you ever done that with any food?

So while I was thinking of how to use buffalo sauce in my shredded chicken…I thought of Ranch immediately. Ranch dressing + buffalo sauce = one WINNING combination!

Buffalo Ranch ‘Subs’

Ingredients:
-about 4 chicken breasts, shredded (I cooked them in the crock pot for easy shredding)
-3/4 cup Frank’s buffalo sauce (you can use less if you’re not a fan of spicy things)
-1/4 cup reduced fat Ranch dressing
-about 1 tbsp. Parmesan cheese
-4 hotdog buns
-additional Ranch dressing for topping

Preparation:

1. Take your shredded chicken & add the buffalo sauce & Ranch dressing to it. Mix well.

2. Take your hot dog opens & open them up. Add about 1/4 cup of the shredded chicken mixture to each hotdog bun.

3. On each bun, add a drizzle of Ranch dressing to the top of the chicken mixture. Then top with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese over each.

^before & after 🙂

I prefer using hotdog buns for ‘sub’ rolls because typically whenever I eat a sub I get SO full from all of the bread. I actually just prefer using hotdog buns- you can fill up on the good stuff 😉

With the buffalo ‘subs’ I made some Kraft macaroni & cheese (my FAVORITE food…& something I can NEVER give up) & some mixed vegetables.

^served on my cute Easter placemats 🙂 Hard to see them, but they are really cute!

I thought this was the perfect meal before the Men’s college basketball championship.
If you watched it, who were you rooting for??

I was SO hungry when I finally got home from my oil change & this meal hit the spot! I could NOT believe how long it took for them to do my oil change. I had even called & made an appointment this morning with Pep Boys..but it still took them a little over an HOUR to complete it. The worst part was that they were not even that busy. 😦 Oh well- now I know not to go back there.

Before I go, I wanted to share with you the leg workout that I did on Monday morning. It was awesome & I felt sore almost immediately..but the good sore!

I did this circuit style, but you could also do it in sets rather than in circuits. Each of the exercises was done with 15 reps and I did 3 circuits total.

Walking lunges with barbell on back (15 each leg)- I used a 30lb. barbell
Leg extensions on machine- I did it with 40lb.
Barbell Plie squat-I used a 30lb. barbell
Leg Curl- I did it with 40lb.
Leg press- I put 45lb. on each side (90lb. total)
Seated Calf Raises- I put 70lb. on the machine
Standing calf raises- I used 30lb. EACH hand
Inner thigh press on machine- I used 40lb.
Outer thigh press on machine- I used 40lb. 

I warmed up with 15 minutes on the treadmill- doing sprint intervals. I followed this leg workout with an ab workout. Just wait until you are done with the leg portion of this workout, you will FEEL it!! 🙂

Well I hope you have a good day! We made it past Monday- yay!! Catch up with you soon 🙂

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Hahaha…I can’t believe you made a shredded buffalo chicken sandwich yesterday!! I made one for lunch using leftover chicken (cooked EXACTLY the same way). I didn’t add the ranch dressing and Parmesan cheese though – maybe next time since I still have lots of chicken left. I think this is just too funny – this isn’t the first time we have eaten the same meals on the same day!! I was just craving some buffalo sauce yesterday!! Glad you enjoyed your dinner : )

    Reply
  2. Your buffalo chicken sandwichs look great. I’ll have to keep that in mind when I need a quick and easy meal!

    Reply
  3. i love franks too!!! Good call on using the hot dog bun instead of sub rolls… I rather fill up on the chicken too 🙂

    Reply
  4. I need my oil changed, too! (TWINS!) Haha… except I’m embarrassed to tell you exactly how overdue I am!

    Reply
  5. My housemate has those plates too. I love them so adorable. I also have a strange addiction to hot dogs. Those seriously look amazing.

    Reply
  6. I envy your ability to plan ahead so well. Definitely something I need to work on!

    Reply
  7. I hate it when they take sooo long to change your oil!

    Your buffalo chicken looks really good! I love anything spicy. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Ohhh I like this leg routine. I’m always looking for a quick one because by the time I’m done with cardio, I just want to leave :-). I’ll have to try it out tonight.

    Also, you have definitely made me want to invest in a slow cooker. I just wrote about how it’s impossible to find the time to prep dinner after a long day at work (like last night). BUT, if I had a slow cooker, this wouldn’t be a problem :-). Once I buy it, I’ll def try this recipe!

    Reply
  9. Nice leg workout. I really hate that errand of oil change.

    Reply
  10. All of your recipes sound so tasty and I can’t wait to get home from school to cook a bunch of them! I do have access to a kitchen in my dorm, but there are no pots, pans, utensils….sooo cooking anything is a bit impossible! haha
    I hate doing anything car related! I always put off that kind of thing until it’s absolutely necessary to deal with, probably not the best thing for my car 🙂

    Reply
  11. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  April 5, 2011

    What a great recipe!

    Sorry your oil change took so long 😦 Too bad I can’t send you to my place, 20-30 minutes for an oil change. And if you want it done during work you can drop it off in the morning and they’ll shuttle you to and from work.

    Reply
  12. OMG when I used to eat meat, I was JUST like you with the chicken wing thing…I could not do it. I’d literally gag. I don’t have issues watching people eat meat in general, it doesn’t gross me out, but I hate watching people eat chicken wings and I especially hate the pile of bones that’s left over. Ewwwwwwwww.

    Good to know I’m not totally nuts!!! LOL!

    Reply
  13. Omg amazing looking buffalo chicken! I’m addicted to Franks hot sauce too, love the stuff. Sorry your oil change took forever, I’d be so cranky lol

    Reply
  14. I LOVE Franks!! I actually have a recipe similar to this (http://thisitalianfamily.wordpress.com/recipe-book/crock-pot-buffalo-chicken-sammies/) and it’s definitely one of Christopher’s favorites. Yum!

    Reply
  15. those. look. AWESOME. what an easy, great idea!

    Reply
  16. Chicken wings are one of the only meats I miss being vegetarian! I make tofu with Frank’s all the time. It is DELISH…but buffalo tofu is NOT buffalo chicken wings. Oh well…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

