Coffee Cake.

Well, guess what?! We made it!! Happy FRIDAY & a BIG TGIF to you ๐Ÿ˜€

Thank you so much for all of your encouraging words on my last post regarding my Humira injections- you guys always know how to make a girl smile ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t know about you, but I have certain blogs that I know will just put me in a good mood. One of them is Mama’s Pea’s blog- Peas & Thank you. I am POSITIVE that you have probably already heard of her blog & you probably love it too! I actually will ‘save up’ a few posts in my Google reader just so that I can have a few of her posts to read..I just love them that much. I feel like I’m reading a story & she is HILARIOUS! ๐Ÿ˜€ I CANNOT wait for her book to be released, I will probably just curl up on the couch & read the whole thing in one night.

While I was reading her posts today, I happened to stumble upon a recipe for Apple Spice Coffee Cake. I LOVE coffee cake. I remember when I was younger & my Mom would occassionally get the Entenmann’s crumb coffee cake for her Bible study class. After Sunday school I would always hussle my way up to her classroom in hopes that there would be a piece left over. And, I hate to admit this, but I would scoop out all of the remaining crumbs that were left in the pan. Oh ya, I really liked it…that much ๐Ÿ˜‰

When I saw Mama Pea’s recipe, I just knew that I HAD to try it.ย I know anything that she creates HAS to be good! I have tried many of her recipes & love them all ๐Ÿ™‚ (& so does the mister..especially the Pumpkin Spice Latte)

Apple Spice Cake
(original recipe here– I have just changed a few things in the recipe I made)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4ย cupย brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Splenda, or your choice of sweetener
  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground allspice
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 apple, peeled, cored and diced

Streusel topping:

  • 3 Tbsp.ย  brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. Splenda, or your choice of sweetener
  • 3 Tbsp. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 Tbsp. light margarine
  • 1/4 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 2 t. cinnamon

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a small mixing bowl or a liquid measuring cup, combine milk, applesauce, vanilla,ย brown sugar, and Splenda.

3. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon,ย ground allspiceย and salt.

4. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until just combined.

5. Add your peeled, cored and diced apple to your batter and fold in gently.

6. Transfer batter to an 8ร—8 pan that has been lightly greased or coated with cooking spray.

7. In a small bowl, mash together all of streusel topping ingredients until uniform in consistency.

8. Sprinkle topping evenly over the top of the coffee cake.

9. Bake for 28-32 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

And you could get a little itch & feel like it would be a good idea to add melted peanut butter to the top of the cake..like a frosting..

…or maybe it could just be part of a peanut butter addiction ๐Ÿ˜‰

I don’t see this coffee cake lasting very long…

I hope you have a great day! I am looking forward to just RELAXING this weekend. We have been go-go-go every weekend for the last couple of months, we are just going to kind of hang out at the house & catch up on Dexter ๐Ÿ˜€ …with a few wedding things thrown in here & there ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sounds like a PERFECT weekend to me!

Did you have a favorite breakfast food when you were growing up??
Mine was definitely any Entenmann’s baked good…or Pop Tarts.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. The Enteman’s things are like Lloyd’s fav things ever!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ He loves him some coffee cake. And of course I love anything Mama Pea makes! ๐Ÿ˜‰ TGIF!

    Reply
  2. Bahaha. My favorite breakfast food growing up was not pancakes actually! I was addicted to eggs. Or cinnamon buns which my mom would make on the weekends.

    I saw the title of this and I almost had a panic attack. I love love love coffee cake and that seriously looks so good.

    Reply
  3. Yumm that looks good! When I was little I had a lot of poptarts and powdered sugar donuts, or the chocolate ones!!

    Reply
  4. The biggest treat for me was French toast. I thought that was something super special. Mom used to make coffee cakes frequently, but I was never a fan to be honest. But my hubby loves them. I made a pretty tasty vegan one for a brunch-themed party. He was a happy camper ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  5. I’ve always been a lover of any breakfast food, but I’d have to say my favorite has always been pancakes! I can never get sick of them! ๐Ÿ™‚

    That coffee cakes looks really good! I wish I could have a bite!

    Reply
  6. So pretty and health-ified. Can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  7. That peanut butter “frosting” is the perfect last ingredient if you ask me!
    My favorite growing up was a Dunkin Donuts Boston Creme! Yummm, I think I ate at least three per week when I was a kid ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. Growing up…poptarts definitely! As an adult…poptarts definitely! haha!

    Reply
  9. I love blogs that put me in a good mood. Yours is one of them ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m with you on the Pop Tarts thing. I had a favorite flavor too: Smores. YUMMY! I want to recreate the Smores poptart but make it healthier. I will definitely post the recipe if I’m successful!

    Reply
  10. Wow love the coffee cake with the pb frosting ๐Ÿ˜€ Growing up my parents never really made me breakfast so it mostly consisted of cereal with milk. Now I’ve transitioned to oats ;D

    Reply
  11. I love Mama Pea! Her oatmeal cookie cupcakes are amaaaazing too, I made those ๐Ÿ™‚

    Growing up every Sunday my mom would bake homemade cinnamon rolls for brunch. I still have a soft spot in my heart for cinnamon rolls!

    Reply
  12. I just had some Entenmanns last week! Andy brought home a cheese danish, it was to die for! My favorite breakfast growing up were either Toaster Strudels or Special K cereal with fruit.

    Reply
  13. You are too kind. Honestly, reading this post just made my Saturday morning. Thank you!!!!

    Reply
  14. This looks so similiar to the apple pie recipe I made! ๐Ÿ™‚ it was so heart and delicious I’ll have to try the cake version to SPICE up my variation of dishes! (no pun intended) haha. Sorry I’ve been so MIA holly I’m still checkin out your blog just been busy with school and such! I’m glad to be back and ready to read some of your awesome posts! I really love the bachelorette party post you had BTW

    Reply
  15. OH man- i loveee coffee cake! that sounds amazing!!!! your man is so lucky that you ROCK at cooking/baking!

    Reply
  16. Melted peanut butter on coffee cake!? You are a genius Holly. Seriously delicious looking

    Reply
  17. Favorite Childhood Breakfast’s: Well, I had quite a few… chocolate chip eggos, smore’s pop tarts, frosted mini wheats, market day french toast sticks, and sunday morning donuts at church! Yes, those might not be the healthiest breakfasts but I never over did it and I new when to stop when I was full when it came to sweets and carbs! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  18. mama pea makes me giiggle and I love it too! Always always gret recipes. LIke this one! Hope you had a great weekend.
    LC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

