Lack of Organization

Happy Monday! I hope your week has started off great! ๐Ÿ™‚

After demolishing about 8 of those mini pancake muffins yesterday, I was in the mood to RUN! Little did I know I would be running as much as I did…butย  I was just feelin’ the running vibe! I had planned on doing a 6 miler, because that’s typically what I run on Sundays, but since I was feeling SO good, I continued on for another 3 miles. I rocked out 9 miles in 1 hour & 10 minutes! Not a PR, but I was definitely happy with my time. I think I was feeling the marathon spirit, since I was supposed to be running the Flying Pig marathon yesterday in Cincinnati, Ohio.

You all know though that I couldn’t run it this year…I have some pretty important event coming up on May 27th ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I WILL be running it next year. My Mom, Craig & I are planning to make the trip out there in 2012. I’m trying to convince Craig to run it with me, but I’m not getting too far with that one. Haha ๐Ÿ™‚

I also know that I promised a big wedding post yesterday, but I kind of got side tracked with some cleaning (more on that later). I do have a little wedding stuff for ya ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here are our favors:

One is purple with black ribbon & one is black with purple ribbon.

I have made them all, along with some help from my Mom & sister, and there are over 100 of them! Even though it was kind of a lot of time to devote to making these, it is so worth it! Before deciding to make these, I had asked for some opinions on what I should use.ย  I was planning on going with the bottle stoppers, but then after doing some research on The Knot.com, I found out that most people suggested doing some kind of candy or candy bar. Not only does it save you a bunch of money, but also most people forget to grab their favors…so why waste them?!

Here’s the front of the label:

And here’s the back:

They were super easy to make-ย they are just round pre-cut tulle in purple & black. And on the black ones we tied purple ribbonย & on the purple ones black ribbon. For the label, I used my Circuit machineย & selected this certain design. After I cut them all, I bought a stamp – with the “Many Thanks” on it & then I used VistaPrint.com for the clear labels on the back with ‘Craig & Holly- May 27, 2011’.

Also, have you ever seen those wedding picture where the bride & groom hold up the ‘Mr.’ & ‘Mrs.’ signs??
Like this–>

(Source)

Well, I decided to make my own. I found these blank signs at Hobby Lobby:

Then I purchased stencils & paint…& it turned into this:

The ‘Mrs.’ one is in purple, but it’s still drying..otherwise I would show you that one too ๐Ÿ™‚ Instead of buying them, I figured it would be just as easy to make my own!

So, it’s been quite a BUSY weekend & besides doing all of the wedding stuff, I did some MAJOR cleaning in the guest room…aka my room. ๐Ÿ˜€ You see when I moved in with Craig (which was like 2 years ago), the guest room kind of became my room. All of my stuff ended up in there, so yes, it’s FULL of stuffed animal pigs. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, the closet in that room is ‘my closet,’ as well as the bathroom. I know I’ve said it before, but I seriously think one of the KEYS of our relationship is having SEPARATE closets & bathrooms. I think we will always have them separate. It just works better for us & we never have little fights about each other’s space.

Well, ‘my room’ really needed a good cleaning. I ended up getting rid of FIVE bags of garbage!! I just had a bunch of old stuff-ย like from college & just stupid stuff that I needed to go through- like paperwork, etc.ย I also managed to clean out my closet– and ended up withย TWO big bags of clothes, shoes & purses that I will be donating to Good Will.

^Bags to donate.

Even though I cleaned up so much in that room, I still have one issue…and I’m HOPING you can help me ๐Ÿ™‚

You see this—->

I was almost too embarrassed to put this up…but I wanted to show how BAD it is. You see, that is the bottom of my closet..where my shoes go. The problem is that:
1. I LOVE shoes.
2. They are in absolutely NO order
3. These are just my ‘spring/ summer’ shoes…& you see how messy they are..image adding the rest of the shoes to the mix. :/ Yikes!

Did you notice how I have my running shoes all nice & perfectly up front? Probably because I know I use them everyday…so at least I know where to find them! Ha ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyways, do you have any suggestions?? How do you organize your shoes? I am willing to do just about anything at this point. I just need a shoe organizer of some sort that allows for a LOT of shoes. Most of the shoe organizers that I have seen only hold like 20 or less pairs..& that just won’t do.

I hope you have a WONDERFUL day! ๐Ÿ˜€

Some questions for you, before you go:
1.ย If you have a significant other, do youย share a closet with them or a bathroom? Or do you guys have separate ones?

2. Do you think candy is a good idea for favors?

3. Can you help me with myย shoe organizationย issue??ย Pretty please ๐Ÿ˜‰

**America’s Next Great Restaurant SPOILER!! Do no read below if you have not watched it yet!**

PS: My favorite guy, Jaman, WON on America’s Next Great Restaurant!!! Did you notice his restaurant colors were PURPLE & BLACK?! And do you know why?! It was his wedding colors…..ahhhh! A man after my own heart ๐Ÿ˜€

If you watched, who was your favorite??

Ok, I’m really done now ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a wonderful day!!

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. I just organized my closet last week… except my shoes! There is just never enough room ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe Shanna has some tips!

    I love all of your wedding stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. I don’t live with Aram but I think we will not be able to share a bathroom. Ha. I have too much makeup and such to even be close to sharing one with him.

    I got a shoe rack and it is seriously the best thing in the world. My shoes were always just thrown in my closet.

    Your wedding is so so so close! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  May 2, 2011

    THe site is looking great, Holls!!!!! I think candy is great- I love practical gifts that won’t go to waste. (We are doing candy glasses as our centerpeice, with bags for people to take home as favors! Done and done! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Reply
  4. I am absolutely 0 help on the shoe issue haha. I have like 5 pairs of sneakers (cross trainers, running, lifting, casual, and then another cross trainer pair) but that’s the worst of my shoe collection!!

    We currently share a bathroom and a closet and I hate it!! He’s so messy!

    Reply
  5. I don’t live with my boyfriend yet but if I did separate areas might help a little since I am very organized and he…..well he is not. But I think I’d still end up cleaning his area so I’m not sure if it it worth the effort of them being separate?

    Reply
  6. Three things we have in common:
    1) My closest floor looks exactly like yours, if not worse.
    2) I donated two bags of clothes yesterday in an *attempt* to get more organized.
    3) We’re doing chocolate bars (Sarris, a local company) with custom wrappers for our favors.

    =)

    Reply
  7. Keith and I were lame with our wedding favors. We did match books that said ‘kelly & keith’ with our wedding date below and then we also did little bags of mints. We bought organza bags and filled them with those candy mints. And yes 99.9% of the people didn’t take their favor. Keith and I still have countless boxes of matches 5 years later! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. Candy is an absolutely fabulous idea for favors. People often will not “use” whatever favor you provide, but they will EAT! And often, they’ll eat them right there at the table. Good choice!

    As for shoes, always keep the boxes so you can stack them and keep them neat.

    Reply
    • With the boxes though, don’t you ever go through like 5 pairs in the morning trying to figure out which ones to wear? That’s part of my problem..they just get thrown everywhere…and it looks like a bomb went off in my closet- lol!

      Reply
  9. I love the wedding projects that you are doing! I also love your colors. I’m thinking of a deep purple for my wedding as well. I’m just not sure about the other colors to go with it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  10. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 2, 2011

    This probably isn’t much help because I’m sure you don’t have all of the boxes for the shoes any more but going forward you could keep the box, or if you find old shoe boxes, you could take a picture of the shoes and stick it to the outside of the box. This way you could keep the shoes inside the box and stack them but not need to open every box to find out where the shoes you’re looking for are.

    Reply
  11. I have shoe cubbies (for lack of better word). I do switch out winter vs summer shoes as well. I save the boxes so I can put the shoes back in the boxes and put away for the season. The cubbies really help keep the shoes in order though. I just need more ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  12. I wouldn’t even mind having my closet look like that if I had so many cute shoes!

    Yay for you coming up north next year!!! Maybe I’ll run it too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  13. I love the candy idea! I also love the mr. and mrs. signs sooooo adorable! The big day is coming so soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  14. Your favors look adorable. I like the candy idea, I think it’s cute to do. How exciting that your big day is coming up so fast, time flies!
    I have my shoes stacked up in clear boxes so that I can see what they are before tearing apart my closet. I placed a storage thing on top of my closet for sneakers since I use those more often ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  15. Haha, your shoe situation is pretty intense! I would say a shoe rack, but I don’t think they’ll all fit on one…hmmm..
    Also, I think candy is great for your favors! Everyone likes candy, and they’re easy and cute! My sister used cool tea bags for hers, and they were a hit!

    Reply
  16. First off, I’m OBSESSED with those mini pancake muffins. You know about my great love for egg muffins right? This is EVEN better. I’m definitely 100% baking these. I embarked on this whole eating on a budget thing this week. LUCKILY, the items are in my pantry right now. wahoo!

    Second off, love the favors. You’re so crafty! Candy bars are perfect. You’re totally right about not wasting the money.

    Third, 9 miles in 1 hour and 10 minutes. Oh hello, speedy!

    Next, I was rooting for Jamal too. I even cooked some healthy soul food last night in his honor.

    Finally, I too love shoes…but unfortunately, I’m way more disorganized than you. Sorry I don’t have any helpful options. One day I’ll post a pic of my shoe closet. You’ll feel better then ๐Ÿ™‚

    HAPPY WEDDING MONTH!

    Finally, I too love shoes…Bad news

    Reply
  17. Before I saw your comment, I was like “Omg! She’s only paying 2.33 for gas?!” and YES, it’s super sad that we consider that CHEAP.

    Reply
  1. Chicken Tender Lovin’ « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

