Listen to Your Body

Happy Mid Week- you’re HALF way there! You can do it!

Before I write my post, I want to preface it. It is definitely something that I debated writing about, but I think it’s important so I decided to go with it.

*Just a warning to my Dad: I do NOT recommend reading this, it touches on rather ‘girly’ topics, if ya know what I mean πŸ˜‰ …& some other stuff that you would probably not want to hear about. * (& yes, my Dad really does read my blog..& so does my Mom πŸ™‚ )

This will NOT have a lot of pictures in it either, so if you don’t feel like reading my ramblings, do NOT feel obligated to read or to comment- no worries! πŸ™‚

Remember when I told you that I had decided not to workout twice a day anymore? If not, you can read it here. Basically I just realized that it was NOT good for my body & I was WAY over-doing it.

Something else kind of scary happened to me last month too…and it showed me that I was doing bad things to my body with working out so much.

I missed my period. Talk about a minor (*insertΒ sarcasm here*)Β FREAK out on my part.

I am on the NuvaRing, which I have been on for about a year & a half. I am religious about when to put it in & when to take it out. I never miss the day & it’s always in my phone calendar to remind me…just in case it slips the mind.
(side note: I love the NuvaRing! In case you are looking at options for birth control this is my favorite so far. I was on the pill, but it made me turn in a CRAZY woman- serious mood swings, wanting to cry all of the time, constantly in a bad mood, etc. The Ring does not do that to me. I’m just a normal Holly πŸ™‚ & it doesn’t cause me to bloat up or gain weight- plus, plus!)

Here are the thoughts that were running through my head:
1. What the heck?! Where is this thing at?! It’s ALWAYS on time..and always lasts for a certain amount of days.
2. Oh no…please please no, do NOT let me be pregnant before we are married. (Do not get me wrong, I cannot wait to start a family, but I would like to at least be married first.)
3. OMG..am I going to have to take a pregnancy test?! What if it’s positive..how am I going to explain it to my family? (not that they would be mad, but I’m sure that they would much rather here that news AFTER we tie the knot.)

Well, after the week went by & I did not get my period I DID take a pregnancy test. I had only taken one before that, (yes, it was with Craig too) & I’m completely clueless when it comes to picking out the right pregnancy test, so I tend to think that the more expensive ones must be the best choice…so that’s what I went with.

(^ NOT my tests, just a picture I found online)

Next step: Pee on stick…while your nerves run WILD. For a good five minutes your thoughts are ALL over the place. I’m sure if you have taken one then you know exactly what I mean.

…the five minutes passed & I looked at the stick. Negative. Thank goodness. I mean, like I said, I do want a family & I cannot wait to start trying, but I would like to be married first…I think we can make it, I mean it is only less than a month πŸ˜‰

After taking a deep breath & then running downstairs to show Craig, I had some serious thinking to do.

Of course I headed straight to the internet to find out what was going on with my body. Then I started thinking about my past…when I was going through my battle with anorexia while I was in high school. I actually didn’t have my period all throughout high school because of my low body weight. Initially I got my period in 8th grade & then lost it in high school & did not get it backΒ until I was in college. Now I have to admit, it was kind of nice not having to worry about that little friend every month..but I knew it was for the wrong reasons- that I was harming my body.

Then it dawned on me. With all of the over exercising I was doing the past couple of months, I’m sure that was one of my body’s ways to respond. It was kind of like ‘HELLO Crazy girl, you need to slow down!’ Isn’t it funny how your body has so many signals that it gives you??

This was just another reason that I decided not to do two workouts in one day. The last thing that I want to do is to harm my bodyΒ & make it unable to have children one day. I know after all of those years with battling anorexia, that one of the things my doctor brought up was the topic of reproduction & having kids. She told me that it can really do some damage to your reproductive system if you let this disease take control of your body. That really freaked me out too. Not only was I having to battle this disease myself, I did NOT want it to impact my future children.

Like I said, I debated doing a post about this topic, but I honestly think that someone else can relate..and maybe this could help someone else struggling with exercise obsession.

I have just realized lately HOW IMPORTANT it is to LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! Your body will never lie to you, & it always tends to guide you in the right direction. If you feel like something is wrong, than it probably is.

I hope that you have a great day! And if you made it through reading this whole post, give yourself a BIG pat on the back πŸ˜‰

Previous Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  May 4, 2011

    I’m glad you’re not preggers!!! (Well, not yet!) I did LOL because I thought you went out and lined up 5 tests… hahahaha. Great post, lady. Love ya! Take care of that beautiful body so you can MAKE LOTS OF BABIES soon!

    Reply
  2. It took a lot of courage to share that with everyone! By sharing your story I’m sure you are helping at least one person that is going through the same thing. I’m glad you were able to stop and realize that your body was sending you a message.

    Reply
  3. Wow that is intense. I agree with Karen that it clearly took a lot of courage to share. But I’m glad you did. I missed my period when I started running and swimming and they said that it was because I had caught the pregs and it was a long discussion and finally I took a test and I wasn’t.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for sharing something so personal, I really think that reading this will help a lot of people. I’m glad you listened to your body and slowed it down. I have to say that I also had a change in my period last month, but I think it was a good one. I always have it SO BAD, with cramps that feel like I’m splitting in half, bloating, misery, etc. For this reason, I only have mine every 2 months. I just put a new ring in right after taking it out. (also a NuvaRing user and lover!!.) Anyway, I started working out regularily a couple of months ago and when it was period time, I was all anxious that it would be awful.. and it wasn’t! I didn’t even know that I had it the entire time! It was lighter, and I did not have one single cramp or mood swing. It was honestly the best period I’ve ever had πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. You’re so strong. I love you! *HUGS*

    Reply
  6. Oh girl….that is scary on a few levels of course. It definitely shows that you weren’t being kind to yourself. I’m so glad that you started listening to your body though. And it’ll be better for you when you are actually ready for those kiddos πŸ˜‰ Hugs sweetie!

    Reply
  7. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 4, 2011

    You’re an amazing woman to share something so personal on your blog simply because you thought that there would be someone out there who could relate, or find some understanding of what’s going on with their own body. I’m glad you are listening to your body now. Maybe in a couple months you’ll be able to tell us you took a pregnancy test and it’s POSITIVE πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  8. Thank you so much for sharing this, Holly! It’s so important to listen to the signals our body gives us — whether it’s crushing fatigue or no period or getting sick over and over. You are so brave for sharing this on your blog — and I really truly mean that from the bottom of my heart.

    The best thing about all of this, though, is that you realized you were overexercising and hurting your body *before* your body went to extreme measures (amenorrhea) to warn you. THAT is truly awesome. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. good for you πŸ™‚ this actually came at the perfect time for me to read because i have been over-training lately. thanks for opening up about this!!

    Reply
  10. Oh Holly, I have been there. This was my wake up call so many years ago that I had to make some serious changes for the sake of the future children I so desired.

    And I’ve been there with the pregnancy tests too. When we first got married, we were not in a good place to start a family so the first time I realized that I was late (and I am NEVER late!) I nearly had a heart attack. Thankfully it was just a scare and now we’re in a good place so if an “oops” were to happen it wouldn’t be as much of a difficult thing. πŸ™‚ Glad you’re not pregnant, girl! And I am SO glad that you are listening to your body and slowing down. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Oh goodness the whole period thing is certainly a subject of concern in my life too. I am going to write a long post on this as well, and tell my story of it.
    How long did it take you to get your period back after you recovered from anorexia? And is it normalizing again now?
    P.s. I’m glad you are not preggers yet! πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • Hey Tessa πŸ™‚
      Well, I was in treatment for 4 years..and right at the 4 year mark I started getting it again.
      It is totally normal now..except for last month. It is light, but I think that’s mainly because of the BC that I’m on.

      Reply
  12. So scary.

    I’ve never lost my period, and I am pretty thankful for that.

    Glad you are being smart about it! Love you!

    Reply
  13. Thanks for sharing! Couldn’t have been easy. I am glad you are not pregnant AND listening to your body πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. What an important post to share Holly — this happens to a lot of women for a number of reasons, but the emotions behind it seem to be the same: fear, anxiety, frustration…Glad the result is what you want right now πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  15. I’ve had that problem before. And what better way for your body to tell you you’re overdoing it?

    I’m prouda you for posting about this… cause we all go through it!

    Reply
  16. This was great information to share with anyone who might be having the same problem. Definitely a learning experience for anyone who’s been through it!

    Reply
  17. I used to be on the Nuva ring. It was great! but now, I am off BC completely, trying to get my body back to normal hormonely. Some doctors say it takes at least a year! Saw that comment on Janae’s post. I think we are all in the same boat here, well close to it!

    Reply
  18. I’m glad you listened to your body to figure out what was up! I’m on Nuva Ring too and it is so much better than other ones I’ve been on. They all made me nauseous:( I hope that things return back to normal for you soon!

    Reply
  19. Omg that a scare, I would have totally freaked out. I think it’s times like these where you realize that sometimes too much is harmful and you need to take a step back and listen to your body. I’m glad you’re not preggers lol

    Reply
  20. PHEWWWWWW girl i am so glad that you got it figured out!!!! listening to your body.. always the best thing to do!

    Reply
  21. Candy

     /  May 5, 2011

    Great post! I’m glad you realise this and are attempting to sort it out! I too am trying to get mine sorted and am not sure if it’s the exercise or lack of food but I can’t seem to think it’s either because I never exercise more than 45 mins and I eat a lot, with lots of fats recently in the hope that that might work. Anyway it’d be great if you could do a post in the future when your period has returned on how you went about with getting it to come bck. Was exercising less or eating more more important etc. xoxox

    Reply
  22. hilarious because i think the same thing about pregnancy tests.. expensive=more accurate. can i just say thank god you aren’t pregnant before the big day and also thank god you stopped working out s’damn much. love you.

    Reply
  1. Fancy IS Easy « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. My 7 Links & Puppy Update « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

