Chicken Tender Lovin’

Good Morning & HAPPY HAPPY FRIDAY!

Hope you guys don’t mind…but I have to tell ya- it’s only 3 WEEKS until our wedding!! Ahhh 😀

…and since we’re on wedding talk, let’s discuss some fun wedding stuff…shall we?! 😉

Remember those ‘Mr.’ & ‘Mrs.’ signs that I showed you the other day?
They went from this…

to this…

and now the finished product…

As you can see…I love polka dots..and of course the signs are black & purple. Only the best two colors ever 😉

Also, remember how I was discussing my ‘Lack of Organization’ the other day too? Well, I’ve been on a bit of an organization kick now. I’m still trying to find the perfect shoe organizer for my closet…but I DID find a really cool jewerly organizer.

So, my jewerly collection went from this mess–

To a more organized display–

& it hangs nicely in my closet. (yes, in case you are wondering..that is my Orioles jersey sleeve 😉 I know you were curious- haha…just kidding. I just wanted a way to throw in a ‘GO ORIOLES’ into this blog post 🙂 )

I love this organizer. It actually has two sides- so the other side is full of jewerly & accessories too..but it’s stuff that I don’t really wear as much.

While I was going through all of my jewerly I came across this cute pair of earrings:

Wishbone earrings! I got them from my Grammie. She left me pretty much all of her jewerly when she passed away, and I love going through it all now. I didn’t want to wear it when I was younger, in fear that I might lose stuff. But now I have found some really cute jewerly- she was definitely a fashionista 😉

Now…onto some FOOD..my favorite part of the day 😉

Craig had been out of town earlier this week and got back last night. I wanted to surprise him with a new meal, since I know he loves coming home to a good meal. We both share a HUGE love for chicken fingers. I love trying any type of chicken fingers or tenders…they are always my ideal meal.

When I was reading my favorite blogs the other day, I came across this recipe for Coconut Chicken Fingers on my ‘twin’s’ blog! They sounded so good- I love the sweet flavor in addition to the chicken. YUM! The funny part is that I never really liked coconut when I was younger, but now I think it’s delicious…and I was really missing out for many years!

I followed Liz’s recipe exactly, the only thing I did was add in some onion powder to the coconut mixture.

Coconut Chicken Tenders

Serves 4

 

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. chicken tenderloins
  • 6 tbsp shredded, sweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup panko crumbs
  • 2 tbsp crushed cornflake crumbs
  • 1/3 cup egg substitute or egg whites
  • pinch salt
  • olive oil spray

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Combine coconut flakes, panko, cornflake crumbs and salt in a bowl. Put egg whites or egg beaters in another bowl.

3. Lightly season chicken with salt. Dip the chicken in the egg, then in the coconut crumb mixture. Place chicken on a cooling rack on top of a baking sheet. Lightly spray with olive oil spray and bake for 30 minutes turning halfway, or until chicken is cooked through.

Served with four dipping sauces- honey dijon, BBQ sauce, Ranch & ketchup.

I made Kraft blue box 😉  & some steamed veggies to go with the meal. I was CRAVING mac & cheese…so it was a MUST last night. Sometimes you just have to give into those cravings!

Well, sorry, my font just changed to the font on Liz’s blog…&  I don’t know how to change it back. I tried using Windows Live Writer, but it didn’t work for me. So sorry that it is in this font now.. I would fix it, but like I said..I just don’t know how. 😦

Oooo I have some more things to share with you too. After talking to Janetha about what Marshall (her hubby) takes for his Crohn’s disease, she suggested taking a pro-biotic everyday- that he swears by them. I used to take one on the regular, but didn’t feel like it helped…but that was when my Crohn’s was not as bad. So, I decided to start taking this one–>

That is Culturelle probiotic.

Does anyone else take this brand? Do you take a pro-biotic? If so, have you noticed a difference in your digestive system? What brand do you take?

Anyways, I’m off to get some work done. My boss keeps laughing at me because everyday he goes ‘Holly, will you be doing wedding research on the internet, or will you be working?!’ I usually just reply, ‘wedding, of course.’ Good thing he’s pretty easy going! 😉 Actually, he is a really cool boss…but I DO get my work done too 🙂

Enjoy your day! & again, HAPPY FRIDAY 😀

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I love the Mr. & Mrs. signs…those are so cute!! Will you use them in your house somewhere after the wedding?

    Really cute jewelry organizer…the pattern and colors are totally cute!

    Reply
  2. wow, thats some serious cute stuff! love it. I’ve heard of that brand. I think its pretty good too!

    Reply
  3. I have that jewelry organizer as well and I absolutely love it. It is seriously perfect for hanging everything and anything. I actually wear a lot of my jewelry now that I can see it. ha.

    Reply
  4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  May 6, 2011

    You are so creative! 🙂 The signs are adorable!! I can’t wait for all the wedding pics/recaps!

    Glad you loved the tenders. I wish LW would work for you because it makes life so much easier!!! Groan!

    xo

    Reply
  5. 3 weeks! OMG!

    I have one of those jewelry organizers and LOVE it.

    I’ve considered trying probiotics so I’m curious to see how they work for you.

    Reply
  6. The signs turned out super cute! You’re so close to the wedding…gah!

    Reply
  7. I love love LOVE the Mr. & Mrs. signs!! Your wedding is getting SO close…wow!! (This means I really have to finish up that guest post huh? 😉 lol)

    Reply
  8. Love those Mr. and Mrs. signs. they are so adorable!! And also love ow big of an orioles and ravens fan you are… Sammme here 🙂

    Reply
  9. Katie

     /  May 6, 2011

    Super cute signs! So creative and artistic! =)

    I have IBS (TMI, I know!!) and I take a probiotic daily too. I feel like it helps me – but then again I think I just like to feel like I have some sort of control over the whole thing. Can’t wait to hear if you feel like it makes a difference.

    Reply
  10. Aw those signs are cuuuute! And I love the meal you made. Gotta have the Kraft every now and then. It’s just plain good 😉

    Reply
  11. THREE WEEKS?! crazy! exciting!

    Reply
  12. Michelle

     /  May 6, 2011

    I too have IBS and I take Align! I definitely see a difference!! I stood clear of Cultrelle just bc one of the ingredients was chicory root which really upsets my stomach (TMI!! Sorry)

    Reply
  13. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 6, 2011

    Those Mr and Mrs signs are SUPER CUTE! 3 weeks only, wow time flies.

    Reply
  14. Love the signs!! Especially the polka dots. 3 more weeeeks!

    Reply
  15. Hahaha… I love all your dipping sauces. Your exactly like me… I don’t want just one sauce. I want a variety of sauces.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

