Not Even One Free Minute.

Good Morning!

Oh my gosh, yesterday was SO busy for me. I did not have a free minute at work. (so I’m SO sorry, but I am totally slacking on commenting on blogs..I’m doing my best though, so please forgive me if I leave like 5 comments on old posts 🙂 ) I love when I have busy days because time flies…but I also get kind of irritated when my boss thinks I must have a twin or something. He loaded up the work load yesterday- you should of seen my desk..there was a free spot!

I was very thankful to get home from work & just relax on the couch after cooking dinner. I caught up on my DVR-ed shows- including The Real Housewives of Orange County & Khloe & Lamar.

Do you watch either of those shows??
I watch the Housewives of Orange County, NY & New Jersey. I think my favorite is Orange County though. I could NOT get into the Housewives of Miami or Atlanta.

And I think Khloe & Lamar are such a cute couple!!

(^adorable, right?!)

I think Lamar is awesome! Seriously he is the ONLY LA Laker that I will ever like. He seems like such a geniune person & he’s funny. Love that! & I always love Khloe because she’s so open & honest..& I think she’s gorgeous..as are all of the Kardashians.

Do you watch Khloe & Lamar? Do you watch Keeping up with the Kardashians??
Oh, I’m all about the reality shows…if you couldn’t tell 😉 ..& I watch both of those shows 🙂

Anyways, back to blog talk. 🙂

I always think it’s funny when bloggers think the same thing…for instance, when you see these:

..what do you immediately think of?! I know for me it’s either- they are going to be frozen bananas for banana ‘frozen yogurt’ OR they will be going into some kind of baked good.

It’s amazing what you can do with bananas. First, I have a great love of banana frozen yogurt. Since I cannot eat real ice cream or frozen yogurt, (lactose intolerant) I am very limited on what kind of frozen desserts I can enjoy. It REALLY sucks that I cannot eat them because ice cream is my FAVORITE dessert. I SWEAR I have an ice cream gene that I get from my Dad, who got from my Grammie 😉

(^That’s my Grammie holding me, & my Grandpa next to us. I miss them so much!)

The second thing you can do with bananas is to throw them into a baked good. I love that you can use them as a butter substitute (most of the time) & they always help baked goods stay moist. (<– hate that word)

I happened to stumble upon Courtney’s recipe for an Oatmeal Raisin Banana Muffin & I just KNEW it was calling my name. 🙂 Not only do I love anything banana, but oatmeal raisin cookies are my favorite cookie!! Sounded like a win-win to me. I only changed a few things in the recipe, just based on what I had in my kitchen. You will see my changes noted below. 🙂

Oatmeal Raisin Banana Muffins
(from Courtney’s blog)

(Makes 12)

Ingredients:

Strudel Topping:

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (old-fashioned or quick cooking)
  • 1/8 tsp pumpkin pie spice (didn’t have any)
  • 1/4 1/2  tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp packed brown sugar (I used the Splenda version of brown sugar)
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted

Muffins:

  • 2 whole, ripe bananas
  • 1/4 egg substitute (I used one egg white)
  • 3/4 cup milk (*I used vanilla almond milk, <–I also used Almond Milk- Unsweetened)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats (old-fashioned or quick cooking)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar (I used the Splenda version of brown sugar)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (didn’t have any)
  • 1/2 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line muffin tins with paper or foil cups.

For the Topping:
In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup oats, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, brown sugar, and melted butter; set aside.

For the Muffins:
Mash bananas in a medium bowl. Stir in egg substitute and milk. Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, remaining oats, brown sugar, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon. Stir just to combine (batter should be lumpy). Stir in raisins.

Divide batter among the prepared muffin cups and sprinkle each with the reserved topping.

Bake at 400 degrees for 18-19 minutes. Muffins are done when a toothpick inserted in one of the center muffins comes out clean or only with some dry crumbs from the topping. ENJOY!

I wanted to show you a super close up picture because it shows you how delicious that topping is- mmm! It’s so good!! I was picking it off the tops of the muffins when they came out of the oven…haha. 😀

So, I just made these muffins on Sunday night & they are already half gone…oops 😉 Just goes to show HOW good they are. Perfect for an after dinner treat, or with your breakfast, or in Greek yogurt. YUM!!

If you like oatmeal raisin cookies, you should DEFINITELY try these.
Thank you for sharing, Court 😀

Anyways, I’m off- hopefully today isn’t quite so crazy. It’s nice to get a breather every now & then. (& read some blogs 😉 ) I hope you enjoy your day too 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. I’ve been eyeing up those muffins too!! I might make them today 🙂

    Reply
  2. These look soooo delicious. I just bought some bananas so perhaps that means I must make them! I wish I could have one for breakfast right now!

    Reply
  3. Those look delicious! I may need to make them, but I would use real sugar 🙂

    I watch all those shows! The RHNY is my favorite. I also couldn’t get into Miami, (boring and I stopped for good after they had that disgusting pig roast, UGH,) but I watch all the others. And yay for someone else thinking Khloe is pretty, because I totally think she is gorgeous and I love her and Lamar together.

    Reply
  4. I meant NJ is my favorite. NY is actually my least favorite.

    Reply
  5. I think I’m exactly like Khloe! Except for being married to a Laker…

    Reply
  6. Heyyy, you betcha, girly! 😉

    Reply
  7. I have really bad lactose intolerance also. I have had it my entire life and I swear by the Fast Acting Lactaid supplement pills. They literally save my life. That is the only way that I can have dairy. Have you tried those?

    The muffins look delicious!

    Reply
  8. OOH those look nomtastic. I may have to make some. I love love love anything with pumpkin spice in it for real.

    Girl you have every right to be busy. You are getting married so soon and have a lot on your mind!

    Reply
  9. I saw those too and loving the topping…I may just start doing the topping to all my muffins 😉

    And yes, totally get sucked into the Kardashians!

    Reply
  10. those muffins look soooo good! i need to try banana fro yo asap!

    Reply
  11. Those muffins remind me of Mama Pea’s oatmeal cookie ‘cupcakes’!!! Yum 😀

    Reply
  12. i want one of your muffins! when i see brown bananas, i think BREAD!!

    Reply
  13. Those muffins look amazing!! Definitely going to try them out. Also, I hate the word moist as well…ekkkk!

    Reply
  14. Yum! Those look awesome!

    Reply
  15. oooh my gosh. I need to try that recipe! and I could only get into real housewives of OC. I’m anti-the rest of them.

    Reply
  16. Those banana oatmeal muffins look amazing!! They look delicious. And my favorite Housewives are the cast of OC for sure. New York is good too and NJ is too much drama lol Tamra and Gretchen are fun to watch with their cat fights 😀

    Reply
  17. The Real Housewives of Orange County is my favorite. I couldn’t get into Miami or Beverly Hills, but the other ones I watch. I can’t wait for New Jersey to start this Monday! I love reality shows. I watch Khole and Lamar when I’m flipping through and see that it’s on, but I haven’t gotten too into it yet.

    Reply
  18. I love the picture of you and your grandparents…it’s really cute!! I am quite obsessed with the Kardashian family. I love all the Kardashian shows…I’m excited for the new season of Keeping up with the Kardashian’s! : )

    Reply
  19. i love oatmeal raisin so this is a recipe for me! DOn’t worry about commenting, you are kinda in the middle of getting married…WOO!

    Reply
  20. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 11, 2011

    I’ve seen an episode of Khloe and Lamar…it wasn’t my thing.

    I like the Real Housewives of OC, NJ, and Atlanta. My parents were watching an episode of RHOC last night and they were like “These women are weird, I don’t get how people can enjoy watching them!” haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

