College & My Career

Good Mornin’! Happy (hump) day…ugh- I hate that- haha! 🙂

Today I have a topic to discuss that a reader asked me about, so that’s what I’m going to talk about today! 🙂 Manda recently requested that I do a post on my college education- what my degree was in, why I picked it, if I’m using it now, and about my current job.

Here we go…growning up I ALWAYS wanted to be a teacher.

At first I wanted to teach 3rd grade, but then as I got older it switched to high school. In my opinion, I think that teachers in high school make the biggest impact in a kid’s life – maybe it’s because high school teachers are the last that kids see while in school…or as I think, it’s when their minds are the most open. I think it’s when kids start to develop their own opinions & beliefs, it’s where they start to pull away from their parents & get ideas of their own. Of course, this is also a very trying time in a child’s life- dealing with the drama of highschool, the crazy emotions, and getting ready to go off to college.

When I graduated high school, I was still bound & determined to be a teacher. I decided to attend the University of Central Florida— GO KNIGHTS– and started out with a teaching major.

As time went on, I discovered more HOW MUCH it costs to live ‘in the big world.’ It’s kind of sad that this is the reason I decided to change my major from teaching to marketing..but it’s the truth. I found out how much teachers make in the state of Florida, and it is SAD- I mean VERY SAD 😦 I realized that I didn’t want to have to depend on somenone else to pay my bills for my entire life, & I wanted a career in which I could support myself.

I liked the idea of majoring in marketing/ public relations, since that was what I was currently doing as a job throughout college. I actually had my job in college for almost all 4 years of college. I really have no fear in talking to people, I’m really outgoing..so I thought marketing/ sales would be ideal for me.

Halfway through my marketing major, I decided to change my major AGAIN. (three changes so far….) This time I was going a completely different route- this one was Political Science/ Pre Law.

I always loved learning about politics during high school, and have always LOVED social studies- it was my favorite subject in school. (well, that & English) I get the politic loving from my Dad. He is always 100% up to date on all of the latest policies & political information…so we would always talk about it growing up.

I also had a vision of maybe going to law school. I was thinking that maybe I could one day be a corporate lawyer. I was NOT into the idea of defending guilty people, but I loved all of th intricate things about being a lawyer- reading all of the contracts, pointing out things that might be overlooked- those kind of things.

My major DID end up staying Political Scince/ Pre Law…but the idea of going to law school died out. I kept my degree in Political Science becaue I love it. I graduated from UCF in December of 2009 & was thinking that I would become a high school teacher. I wanted to teach social science, or some kind of political class. I actually was a student teacher during my last semester at a local high school & I LOVED every minute of it. It just re-assured my idea that I definitely would want to teach high school, if I ever did decide to teach.

After a lot of thought, I really wanted to pursue my dream of being a teacher. I talked with Craig & my parents about it- they were supportive of me. Craig was kind of if-fy about it, only because he knows how AWFUL the Orange county school system is. After a few months of job searching I found out that Orange county was NOT hiring any new teachers. Well, they were not hiring anyone without teaching experience. I still have YET to see how I would have experience teaching right out of college…

I was really bummed at first, but I knew I had to keep my head up. Times right now are hard enough to find a job, but even worse if you are always depressed about it. In March of 2010, I got a job doing work in Real Estate. I actually was a Real Estate agent in Florida while I was in college- I worked for Coldwell Banker. 🙂 I enjoy Real Estate too, but as you know it is NOT a time to be working in Real Estate as an agent, at least here in Florida. At the job that I was at we were working with foreclosed homes. (HUGE market right now- so sad 😦 )

I was STILL on the job hunt because the real estate job was not something that I could see myself in forever…it was just a job that would pay the bills. After about 2 months of extensive searching (something like sending out 30+ resumes a day!!!), I finally got a job interview with a FINANCIAL company.

I thought this was HILARIOUS because I never wanted to do anything in finance- I hated it. I thought it was so boring & way too complex.  Well, I got a call back for a 2nd interview & I went. I actually really loved the office (it’s in a beautiful location!), everyone that worked there seemed really friendly & it just seemed right.

Needless to say when I got the call back that I was being offered the job if I wanted to take it, I was STOKED! It really seemed like something that I could call a CAREER, not just a ‘job’ for the time being.

I started out doing secretarial stuff ( we all have to start out somewhere right?!) , but have now moved up and am in charge of all new business accounts. I LOVE my job & I work with some fantastic people!! Of course there are days when I get annoyed, or just want to go home & curl up in bed…but never do I wake up hating what I do. I have also learned a LOT about the industry, now that I am involved in it. I can now tell you that I actually LIKE learning about the stock market, following the stock market, learning about interest rates & all of that kind of stuff. It is pretty interesting 🙂

Honestly, a lot of getting my job seemed to be ‘the right place at the right time.’ Of course there was some effort on my part too- it was HARD work job searching- but I was PERSISTANT! That is key!! Keep pushing- YOU CAN DO IT! It’s so important to keep that in your head, do NOT get discouraged!!

As you can see, I am NOT doing anything in my major, but I am VERY happy that I have my college degree. It is worth it- SERIOUSLY. I know it’s a struggle sometimes, but it’s so worth it in the end. Having a degree definitely helped me get my job that I have now- it was important to my boss that I have it.

Anyways, I hope that you have enjoyed reading about my college education & have a got the career that I have now.

Questions for you:
1. If you have graduated from college, what is your degree in? Are you doing something that you majored in?
2. If you are in college, what is your major? What do you want to do with your major?
3. If you have graduated, If you could go back & change your major, would you? If you are in college, is the major that you picked definitely something you are interested in?

Have a GREAT DAY! You’re half way to Friday 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing! I totally wanted to be a teacher as well at one point in my life. I graduated from college with a journalism degree and had the pleasure of interning at an NYC magazine while I was still in college. I absolutely fell in LOVE with the magazine world. But then that crazy digital thing took off, really throwing my beloved magazines for a loop. So I did what a lot of journalists do: I switched to public relations:-). Ironically, while I work at a PR agency, my only client is a financial company, like you. I still think its pretty boring stuff… But I do love where I work so I consider myself lucky in that way…but I still check out magazine jobs every now and then. Ya never know 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ha that makes me feel so much better Holly. I just changed my major a few weeks ago from math and education to community health. Big ole difference and am still looking at different things you can do with it.

    Reply
  3. This is a great post!! Thank you so much. It sucks so much that right now, due to the economy, employers can require that everyone has experience in their field…because with so many teachers (and every other occupation) out of work, they can cherry-pick their applicants! It sucks.

    I am currently in an ADN (associate’s degree in Nursing, leading to an RN) program. I’m really, really nervous about graduating though — in some parts of the country it’s taking nurses upwards of a year to find a job.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for sharing! I went to school and got both BA and MA in Prof & Tech Writing. My job previously was indeed a tech writer and now I work in adv/comm as a web content writer and I am leading up the social networking initiatives as well. Honestly, if I could change anything, it might be to have gone into teaching. I am SO envious of summers off. LOL

    Reply
  5. After being out of high school for 10 years I decided to go back to college. I’m not really sure what I want to major in and am just doing general studies right now. I enjoy what I’m doing, but am not sure it’s what I want to do for the rest of my life.

    Reply
  6. I was Marketing major, and I do work in a marketing area now. I actually did an internship with a financial company in college, it was really neat!

    Reply
  7. I loved reading this! I could totally see you as a teacher…just save these skills for when you are a mom! I am no longer using my major but am soooooooooo much happier. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Laura

     /  May 18, 2011

    I loved Art and English in school but I was aware of how I would financially struggle if I pursued either of those in college. I didn’t want to financially struggle (my parents never had much money, and 7 kids to boot so it wasn’t like I could count on them to support me nor would I expect to!)
    I knew IT was where it was “at” allegedly in terms of jobs & money, so I got a bachelor of science in Business Information Systems. I actually quite enjoyed it so it was a good choice! Now I work for a bank in application support & development so I guess it’s in the same field as my degree, though I don’t really use much of what I learned in school. It’s a lot differnet in the real world.
    I like my job & company a lot and I make decent money for my age, so I think it all worked out quite well!

    Reply
  9. Very inspiring post Holly! I think you would be a fabulous teacher.

    My degrees are in Mechanical Engineering and Aerospace Engineering though I do have a minor in Poetry (but that wouldn’t pay the bills..boo). I wouldn’t change my degrees. I secretly love being an engineer.

    Reply
  10. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 18, 2011

    I am still in college. I am majoring in business administration with a concentration in management. I honestly have no idea what I want to do with this degree other than get a job 😉

    Reply
  11. I kept going back and forth on what I wanted and I think I know what I want lol Hopefully it is! 🙂
    I majored in Biology at UM and am applying for some physician assistant schools in Miami. It’s hard! 😦

    Reply
  12. My boyfriend’s dad owns a few Coldwell Banker offices:) I’m an ad/pr major at UCF and literally have no idea what I want to do when I graduate? Internships seem to be helping a bit but basically I just want a job that I don’t hate! So I’m pretty open when it comes time to find a job-in less than a year now eeek!

    Reply
  13. Heather

     /  May 18, 2011

    I totally feel you on this! I did end up keeping my teaching major and graduated last year with Elementary Ed degree. Soon after graduation, I got married and my husband is in the Air Force which sent us from our home in TN, with some awesome school systems, to here in FL where apparently they don’t hire any teachers unless you’ve taught for 20 years. Yeah, makes alot of sense to me too. So since we will be here for at least a couple of more years, I’ve been stuck doing a number of other odd jobs! It’s sad that based on pay/ availability of teaching jobs some potentially great educators have to do other things!

    Reply
  14. Tori

     /  May 18, 2011

    I just graduated from college with a degree in Elementary Education. Like you, I almost changed my degree because I was worried about being financially stable in the future. Although, I just could not think of anything I would want to do as much as teach, so I stuck with it!
    Unfortunately, there are few jobs where I live. I have had one interview and am hopeful, but not trying to get my hopes up!
    I’m so glad you found a job that makes you happy 🙂

    Reply
  15. I majored in Community Health and Psychology. I now work in IT. So.. no, I don’t use my degree 🙂

    Reply
  16. Manda

     /  May 21, 2011

    Thanks Holly! Great post!!

    Reply
  17. I started college as a biology major but quickly changed to Business after my first semester. I was a marketing major for the remaining 3.5 years of college with a minor in accounting. Right now I work in public accounting so I am definitely using my degree. It’s funny when I tell people that my major in college was marketing…they always ask me what I’m doing in accounting. I tell them that the job market for CPAs is a lot more stable than marketing : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

