Quirks & Habits

Happy Friday Eve ๐Ÿ˜€

You know I love Thursdays….besides that whole shot thing that I have to do- blah! I just have to get past that & it’s all easy, peasy from there ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oh, I totally forgot to put it on here yesterday, but THANK YOU for all of the book suggestions. I am planning to go to Barnes & Noble today or tomorrow. Sounds like I have quite a few good ones to choose from!

Now, I was thinking of something to write about today- and it actually hit me yesterday morning. As I was going to pack my lunch, I went to grab a banana & was suddenly very disappointed. NONE of them were to my liking. You see, I am one of the most particular people about bananas- I HATE when they even have one brown spot on them.
ย (source)
^Those bananas= BAD! Immediately to the freezer they go for banana soft serve. I don’t know why, but I think they taste too banana- y. I know, I’m weird (told ya that before ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) bananas that taste too much like bananas?! Yep, you got that right. ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually buy my bananas green. Not totally green, but mainly green- like this:

I like when the peel is really hard to get off, unlike those bananas with brown spots- ew! I was SO thankful when I came across this post by Janetha that said the way to make bananas NOT ripen as fast is to pull them apart. (there are also some other really cool tips- you should check it out!)

Along with my random ‘Holly fact’ about bananas, I figured that I would share a few more…just so that you can see how strange I really am..Poor Craig! Just kidding ๐Ÿ˜‰ I actually think it’s really funny how we all have our own little quirks. One thing about Craig that I noticed from the very beginning of our relationship is that he notices when ANYTHING is moved in the house. I could move a piece of paper an inch (literally) & he would come home & notice it. Also, he always like to have socks on….if he doesn’t have socks, he tells me how cold his feet are.ย Funny boy ๐Ÿ™‚

Ok, so another thing about me- I LOVE placemats. This even started BEFORE the blog, it wasn’t so that I could get prettier pictures. (You don’t even see my placemats most of the time- haha!)

^See that placemat above? I just picked it up the other day- I thought it was very summery looking. (oh, that was a meal we had the other night- I have to share the recipe- super QUICK & easy to make! Kind of like this recipe..but even easier!) I have placemats for every holiday…and for the different seasons. I like them because it’s an easy way to add decoration to the house, without a lot of effort. And if you are looking for really cute, fairly cheap placemats- try Kohl’s. That is where I get most of mine.

Here’s another thing…I LOVE strong coffee.

The stronger the better. I feel really bad because I make coffee for a co-worker & myself every morning. (I bought in my own coffee maker because the coffee that they sell in the cafe downstairs is disgusting!ย My co-worker & Iย are very protective of our coffee too- betterย not try to sneakย some outta the coffee pot- weย WILL catch you ๐Ÿ˜‰ )ย Well, I definitely do NOT lack on the amount of coffee beans that I add to the maker! ๐Ÿ™‚ And on Mondays- whoa- talk about coffee that will grow hair on your chest- yep, that’s what I make ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s also funny when I go to Starbucks on the weekend to get our weekly ‘coffee treat’ for Craig & I. I always get an iced coffee- black- no cream, no sugar. For Craig, I always get him some kind of ‘girly drink’ (as most people would call it) , like a frappuccino, or caramel macciato.

I might of said this one before, but I always have to have my nails painted. I cannot deal if they start to chip.

^That would make me BONKERS!
If there is a chip in my nail polish, I will immediately start picking at it until I pull it all off. Then once I do that, I start picking my other nail polish off my other nails. It’s a REALLY bad habit. Not only is it a bad habit, but it makes a big mess…oops!

Last but not least (hopefully I am not boring you with my random facts… ๐Ÿ™‚ ), I will NOT share my glass of milk.

I don’t mind sharing any other drink, but I will NOT let anyone touch my milk- it just skeeves me out! Yuck! I don’t know why…maybe it’s because milk is thicker than any other drink.

Now YOU have to tell me some weird habit that you have, or a little quirk! I love hearing these things…and it’s kind of funny because I love when someone else has one of my quirks or habits….at least they understand why I do the things I do ๐Ÿ˜€

Enjoy your day! It’s almost the weekend!

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. I love reading random facts about people. I think some of them are so funny.

    Reply
  2. I am the exact opposite way with bananas! I would not touch a banana if it had any green on it! I also much prefer girly caramel macchiatos or vanilla lattes over black coffee but I’m going easy on my coffee intake recently-it’s killing me! Because I swear I love coffee for the taste it has zero to do with the caffeine!

    Reply
  3. What kind of nail polish do you use? I use OPI and Nichole by OPI and it never ever ever chips. I love it.

    Reply
  4. Holly, I do the SAME thing with my fingers. It got so bad ant I didn’t paint my nails for 2 weeks to try to break the habit. I think I am just too much of a perfectionist that I can’t deal with the chips!

    Reply
  5. Totally with you on bananas. Jason thinks I am eating them raw LOL. I have soooo many insane quirks. But, that’s what makes us all unique right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  6. every single fact of those, i feel the exact same way! no joke! green, firm bananas taste way better to me too. and did you know they have less sugar before they ripen? makes sense since a lot of times you use ripe bananas to make things “sweeter.”
    thats what i get at starbucks too! haha im a coffee snob too, ill admit. (i’ve worked at a coffeeshop for the past 5 years.)
    luckily nobody ever wants a drink of my milk. nobody except my mom likes almond or soy milk..they’re crazy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  7. Love this list!I’m the opposite of you with bananas – I love em brown :-). Agree with you on the coffee! It is hard for me to think of a quirk because I am overall quite a quirky person. I think one of my weirdest quirks is that my idea of a perfect Sunday (if raining outside) would be to lay on my couch allll day, watch cheesy romantic comedies and eat a bag of pretzels dipped in cream cheese and honey mustard. That, to me is weird. hehe

    Reply
  8. Finally, someone else who buys green bananas. I don’t like them when they turn brown. They get mushy and weird and… ugh. They’re perfect when they still have a little green on them!

    Weird quirk: I do not like drinking hot beverages. If I make tea, I put an ice cube in to it so that I can drink it.

    Reply
  9. I like my bananas the opposite of how you like yours!! They have to be spotty and mushy or I won’t eat ’em ๐Ÿ˜€

    Annnd I totally missed you asking for book recommendations! OOPS. If no one else said it, I have got to recommend “Skinny” by Diana Spechler. I’ve had it a week and read it 3x — it’s an awesome book (fiction) about body image and eating disorders. Totally sucks you in & is SO well-written!

    Reply
  10. I prefer my banana’s green too! I am not a huge banana fan, but the sweeter/mushier it is the more I dislike it!

    I have too many quirks to list. I can’t stand it when my eyebrows start go grow back in… I check every morning to see if any new hair is visible and pluck it right away. I feel naked if I don’t have my Burt’s Bees lip balm with me, I just love the way it feels on my lips ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  11. My hubby likes green bananas too…I’m not a fan so much.

    My quirks: I have to set my alarm ending in a non 0 or 5 number.

    I have to take a photo of my outfit every day so that I don’t repeat the same outfit in a month.

    I wait until precisely 9a to eat my oatmeal every day.

    Reply
  12. Haha, the milk thing is funny. I pick my nail polish all the time, you’d hate me.

    Reply
  13. I’m a nail polish picker. And I hate unripe bananas. I like them with brown spots but not mushy – it’s hard to get them at the right time!

    Reply
  14. giiirl, I’m the exact opposite. I only like bananas that have NO green on them! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hate the taste of the green babies.

    aand I’m the same way with my nails AND toenails. especially my toenails. you will NEVER see my toesies naked!

    Reply
  15. Haha! Ah, I loved reading this. I love your place mat! Super cute! I can’t handle chipped nail polish which is why my nails are rarely painted even though I like nail polish. However today I am painting my nails ’cause I have a wedding to look pretty at this Saturday! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  16. Hearing other peoples’ quirks is always the best! Sadly I have way too many to share but one of the dorkier ones is that I sleep with this little stuffed dog that my sis gave me. Every morning after I make my bed I have to have this little dog sitting in just the ‘right’ way on top of the covers. I’m not OCD or anything. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  17. LOL!!! we are so alike. I hate bananas with just one bruise. I only buy 2 to 3 at a time for that very reason. haha! And light green is the way to go.

    Reply
  18. Oh man we have so many things in common. My bf loves brown bananas, yuck I like em yellow!! And yes I cannot stand when my nail polish starts to chip I can’t help but start picking at them lol
    Love how you get a black coffee at Starbucks, I’m addicted to my cup of joe. That’s prob why I wrote all about coffee on my post today lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  19. I am in love with learning more about you! And HOLY WEDDING HOLLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    Reply
  20. dana

     /  May 20, 2011

    So crazy!! I hate the same exact things that you do…that’s so funny!

    Are you originally from Baltimore?

    Reply
  21. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 21, 2011

    I just did the same thing as you…the polish on my nails started to chip so I started picking until it was all gone. Now I need to re-paint badly but haven’t taken the time yet.

    Reply
  22. My husband is the exact same way with his bananas – green = good, yellow = bad. He claims he is allergic to yellow bananas…not sure if I buy it or not??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

