Crank That!

HAPPY Friday πŸ˜€ Woooohooooo!

I’m definitely looking forward to a very RELAXING weekend. Plans include hanging out with my HUSBAND (feels so strange to say, but I love it!) & writing lots of thank you notes. I see hanging out by the pool in there too πŸ˜‰ It will be nice to just sit back & relax!

Today I am going to give you a re-cap of our reception! It was a BLAST & there were so many little things that made it so special. I really cannot wait to get our professional pictures back, there are just so many other things that I want to show you. I guess I have to wait, patience IS a virtue, right?! πŸ˜‰ I have only gotten one photo back, it was our ‘sneak peak.’

I LOVE it, and it makes me want to see all of them immediately!! πŸ˜€ She really is the BEST photographer!

Anyways, back to the reception.
Right after the wedding, we designated an hour to take pictures with our wedding party, parents & of course just the two of us. While we were all taking pictures, we had a cocktail hour for our guests– full of lots of little appetizers & a FULL bar. One of the main things that Craig & I wanted for the wedding was a FULL, OPEN bar the ENTIRE reception. We wanted everyone to have a great time & loved the idea of the full bar the whole night.

^some of my best friends from high school πŸ™‚ I was so glad they were able to come!

After we were done with our pictures, we headed back into the resort (we took most of our pictures outside & some on the golf course) and got ready for our entrance dances. I have to be honest, I was a bit nervous because I was afraid I was going to mess up. Craig came up with our dance, and he literally had me practicing for HOURS each weekend before the wedding. I wasn’t allowed to sit down until we went through the dance correctly five times. He’s so funny πŸ™‚

First up though, were our parents. They entered to the theme song from ‘Rocky.’
(<–my parents)
(<–Craig’s parents)

Next was our wedding party– They walked out with whoever they came out of the wedding with. I’m just going to show you the best pictures of this– sorry they are kind of hard to see.


And thennnnnn it was our big entrance…the first time being introduced as Mr. & Mrs…..
We came running in & then broke into our dance! Our entrance song was All of the Lights by Kanye West, featuring Rihanna. Our dance lasted until Kanye started his rap– we just used the beginning part.






Reader CHRISTINE guessed it— we DID in fact include part of Ray Lewis’ dance. It is the dance that he does when he enters the football field. (and just in case you are wondering, here is aΒ video onΒ YouTube of Craig doing theΒ Ray Lewis dance. It was back when he was in college at NC State. He is VERY proud of this πŸ˜‰ )Β You KNOW we had to include Ravens all throughout our wedding πŸ˜‰ We have an obsession… πŸ˜€

After our entrance dance, it was time for our first dance. For our first dance we used the song ‘This Year’s Love’ by David Gray. It is one of the main songs from The Girl Next Door movie. I LOVE that movie & always loved the song & Craig really liked the song too. The lyrics are not really that great for a wedding, but we loved the song itself..and I love David Gray’s voice.


The BEST part was that mid way thru our first dance, the music stopped & we broke into ‘Crank That’ byΒ Soulja Boy!! We just used the chorus & Craig & I started doing the Soulja Boy dance. It was AWESOME!! Everyone thought something was wrong with our song & they were like ‘OH MY GOSH!’ But then Crank That came on & everyone started cracking up! After 2 rounds of the dance, we went back to our first dance song like nothing happened. πŸ˜€Β πŸ˜€
I wish I had a picture of us doing it, but again, I will have to wait until I get the professional pictures back to show you. πŸ™‚ For now, I’ll just show you some more of the first dance.


^LOVE that picture– shows our wedding party & parents in the background.


^that is one of my favorite pictures….so far πŸ˜‰

Once we finished our dance, it was time for the speeches by our Maid of Honor (Steph) & Best Man (Mike). I don’t have any pictures of their speeches….yet. But both of their speeches were perfect! Seriously I cannot ask for a better sister in law & brother in law…more like sister & brother! (no need for the ‘in law’ part…we are closer than that πŸ™‚ )

Stay tuned for Part 2 of the reception re-cap πŸ™‚ I have much more to share with you, but I don’t want to bore you with wedding overload πŸ˜‰

Hope you have a VERY good Friday!! I’ll catch ya later!

Do you have any fun plans for this weekend? Please share!! πŸ™‚
If you are married, what was your first dance song?
If you are not married, do you have a song in mind that you would like for your first dance?

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Love the pictures! I love that you had fun with your dances. I think that would be my favorite part of the wedding… the surprise dances.

    Reply
  2. Danielle

     /  June 10, 2011

    Your wedding looks like so much fun!!! You looked beautiful! I am getting married in December and our wedding song is Lucky by Jason Mraz…ahhh I can’t wait!

    Reply
  3. great pictures and i love that you added in the sudden cut to soulja boy!! haha…that must have thrown everyone there! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I love the pictures! It looks like everyone had a great time. I love the ideas of our enterance dance and your first dance! That is creative and different! My fiance and I aren’t sure of our first dance yet. We definitely want it choreographed because my fiance has no rhythm whatsoever! Haha πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Christine

     /  June 10, 2011

    Love the entrance pictures, they are getting me pumped for my big day tomorrow!

    It looks like you guys had a blast and I love how you made it your own with the dances! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I’m not a country music fan at all but we’re using Keith Urban’s “Making Memories of Us”… my fiance’ sang it to me the weekend we fell in love and now I cry when I think about the lyrics!

    Reply
  7. My wedding was in the morning and then our reception was brunch so we didn’t have dancing. Which was fine with me although sometimes I wish we had a song.

    Reply
  8. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  June 10, 2011

    Oh wow your reception sounds like it was so much fun and you’ve only shared part 1!

    Did someone record your first dance?? It would be awesome if they did!

    Reply
  9. Ohhhh I love all these recaps! I was thinking the same thing as Amy — it would be so awesome if someone recorded your first dance!!!

    We’re married BUT we never had a real wedding. We danced at the year-and-a-half-later reception Max’s family threw for us and that was amaaaaazing but I don’t know what we’d do if we did decide to have a ceremony or maybe a 5-year-renewal of the vows type of thing! I really DON’T like being in the spotlight haha.

    Reply
  10. Awww, I just love it. And that first pic is so romantic!

    We did a choreographed dance to Norah Jones “Come Away with Me” — the song reminded us of the Summer we meet in 2002 and is classic πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  11. I looove Corey Smith’s song “First Dance” and “Something to Lose” πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. Oh my gosh I love your dress! Your wedding looks like it was such a blast – congrats!! πŸ™‚ I’m not married yet and my boyfriend is NOT a dancer so the topic of our first dance is not often discussed – haha.

    Reply
  13. I am in love with that first photo of you guys. I cannot wait to see more and when I get married, I’m about to go up to Baltimore and get them to do my photography.

    Reply
  14. Hi Holly! I haven’t been commenting (for some dumb reason) but have been reading all your posts on your wedding and loveee them! You look so gorgeous in all of the pictures and you both look incredibly happy. I am so glad for you as you certainly deserve all of the happiness in the world πŸ™‚
    That first picture is truly great, I will be wonderful to see more of them!
    This weekend I am going to RI to visit someone special πŸ˜€

    Reply
  15. oh my goodness i love reading all about your wedding! πŸ™‚ congrats!! you looked beautiful!

    Reply
  16. I love that last picture of you and Craig!! It’s so cute!! When Kyle and I got married our first dance was to Shania Twain’s “You’ve Got A Way”. We both knew it would be our first dance song the moment we heard it (several years prior). Everytime I hear it on the radio now (which isn’t very often) I always stop what I’m doing and reflect on that day when I married my best friend!

    Reply
  17. Full bar…right up my ally! haha! πŸ™‚ Looks like so much fun! Enjoy your weekend. I don’t have big plans either…relaxing is on the list though!

    Reply
  18. I love This Year’s Love! I always wanted to have it as the background music for walking down the aisle, just the piano part. It’s soooo beautiful! I’ve always wanted to do the first dance to Gavin Degraw’s “More than Anyone.” Now I just need the groom πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

