As Unique As Possible

Are you ready for part two of our reception re-cap?! Hope you aren’t getting sick of all of these wedding re-caps. I will have some recipe & workout related posts soon. I will do a little break in between our wedding & then our honeymoon…because I have a HUGE re-cap of our honeymoon in St. Lucia.

So now we continue…

After Craig & I finished our dance, it was time for the father-daughter dance & the mother-son dance. I danced to the song ‘I Loved Her First’ by Heartland with my Dad. Initially we were going to dance to ‘My Little Girl’ by Tim McGraw, but then I heard ‘I Loved Her First’ & started bawling. It was the most beautiful & PERFECT song to dance with my Dad.



Craig danced to the song ‘You Raise Me Up’ by Josh Groban with his Mom.

Then it was time for a lot of people’s favorite part– the Β cake!

The cake flavor was vanilla bean with raspberry filling. The frosting was a buttercream type frosting. I can’t really tell you what it tasted like, since we didn’t have any (just too busy talking & dancing πŸ˜€ ) But I did hear it was really good- right Β Dad?! πŸ™‚

Our Cake Topper:

Our cake topper was custom made, and it the jersey that we are wearing in the topper have significant meaning to us- they were the ones that we got engaged in on Ravens field!

I really wanted a Ravens topper for the cake, but wasn’t sure exactly what. After looking around on a few websites, I finally found someone that would custom make a bride & groom with the jerseys. I LOVED the topper. The only thing is that I had a few issues when it was first shipped to me- like a few of the petals on the sunflowers were broken & then the bill of the hat that is on Craig’s head was broken off. :/ But thankfully super glue works miracles πŸ˜‰

Here is the Groom’s cake that I got for Craig:

Pretty basic, but of course it had to be Ravens. πŸ˜€ The cake flavor was marble because the whole time we were doing cake tastings, Craig kept raving about how much he loved the marble cake. I didn’t really want to have a marble cake for the main wedding cake, only because that seems more like a birthday cake to me….so I gave him his wish in his groom’s cake! πŸ™‚

Time for the cake cutting! You should of seen me, I was like ‘wait, where do I cut it?!’ Haha! I know that sounds REALLY stupid, but I had never cut a wedding cake before, and I wasn’t sure where to start it. Thankfully our photographer was coaching us the whole way through- lol! πŸ˜€



GUESS WHO WON THE CAKE FIGHT?!?!?!?!

OH ya, you guessed it (right??? πŸ˜‰ ) — ME πŸ˜€
He got me pretty good though too..

Good times for sure πŸ˜€ I’m just happy he didn’t get but one chunk on my dress! His suit on the other hand….well….ooops πŸ˜‰



Afte the cake cutting we went and got cleaned up. Everyone was telling me what a good job I did with the cake fight win πŸ˜‰ OH YA! I KNEW Craig was going to smash it in my face so I was PLENTY prepared πŸ˜‰

It was then time for the bouquet & garter toss. I’m bummed because I have NO pictures of it yet…but I WILL & I promise to share them with you πŸ˜€ They were awesome! We kind of had it planned out…we knew who was going to catch the garter & I kind of had a plan as to who would catch the bouquet. Needless to say our plan worked! πŸ˜€ Craig did the ‘Dougie’ over to me to get my garter off. It was HILARIOUS..and that boy has moves I tell ya πŸ˜‰ It was funny, some of my friends were coming up to me telling me what a great dancer Craig was- hahaha πŸ˜€ I told them NOT to tell him because it would go to his head πŸ˜‰

Here are some of our decorations from the reception. I know you have already seen some of them, but I thought I would show you them actually ‘in action.’

^Table centerpieces in the vases that I made.


^The tables all set up, before the food.



^Seating arrangements charts- I made them myself as well.


^Bottmom of my shoes πŸ˜€

Another thing that I did was get special corsages for our Moms. I used whatever their wedding flowers were for their corsages. My Mom had a pink carnation corsage & Craig’s Mom had a yellow rose & white daisy corsage. I liked doing special things for our parents & I think they really appreciated it too. I wanted to make our wedding as unique as possible, but of course with a few traditional things thrown in there too! πŸ™‚

I have to tell you, our wedding & reception were perfect! I could not of asked for a better one. It truly was the BEST day of my life! I think the best part was that we got to celebrate it with our family & close friends. I loved that it was more of a party, rather than a total ‘mushy gushy’ event…if you know what I mean. We tried to make it as FUN as possible, but we also wanted to express our love for one another. All-in-all, I had the TIME OF MY LIFE! I know that I have the best family in the world & that I have also married into a wonderful family! I feel so blessed.

Well, there you have it, our ceremony & wedding re-cap! As you know, these pictures that I shared were the UNprofessional pictures…as soon as I get the professional pictures back I will share some of those with you as well!

I hope you ENJOY your Saturday!! We are about to hit the gym for a hard core workout & then take it easy today. Gotta love the weekend πŸ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. I love a good cake fight πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Hahaha, love the cake toppers–that is such a unique idea.

    Reply
  3. Cake toppers look awesome!! Glad he didnt get any cake on your dress πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. hahaha you REALLY socked it to him in the cake fight!! hehe.

    That cake topper is so perfect!

    Reply
  5. His mom looks so happy – everyone does actually. I love that!

    Reply
  6. Holly you look absolutely gorgeous! I’ve never commented before, but I wanted to say that I just started a blog, and you were part of my inspiration…I love reading your blog. Also, my brother has Crohn’s disease so I can empathize with a lot of your posts!

    Reply
  7. OMG! My brother danced with our mom to “You Lift me Up” and his wife danced with uncle to “I Loved Her First” at their wedding – and their wedding was the day after yours. How crazy is that??? Your reception looks absolutely beautiful!!

    Reply
  8. I Loved Her First ALWAYS makes me cry and think of my Dad. I heard it at a wedding Keith and I went to a few months ago and started crying when the bride and dad danced. It is such a sweet sweet song!

    Your cake toppers are great! Although i don’t love the Ravens (sorry) you know I am a COLTS girl! haha! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. I love all the cake pictures! I totally plan on smashing the cake in the face!

    Reply
  10. love love love this!! the cake is priceless. And sunflowers are my favorite, so is purple! DOugie? Oh this i gotta see!! Looks so fun holly!

    Reply
  11. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  1. CONGRATS Jay & Rob! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. My 7 Links & Puppy Update « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

