Fear Foods.

Happy Friday!! 😀

I don’t know about you, but I am beyond ready for the weekend! This whole week I have thought it was one day earlier than it actually was…boy that was a bummer. All day on Wednesday I could of sworn it was Thursday, but boy was I mistaken! …Finally we made it though 😀

So I figured that I would kind of space the honeymoon re-cap posts out. I have a few other things that I would like to talk about, so I thought maybe in between each honeymoon post that I would do a ‘regular’ post, if you want to call it that. Not to worry though, I will be sure to have more honeymoon re-cap posts coming your way!

Today I wanted to talk about ‘Fear Foods’ or past fear foods. I think that we all have them, or have had them. When I was going through issues with an eating disorder, I know that I had a WHOLE list of fear foods. Of course I would have reasons as to ‘why I didn’t LIKE them,’ rather than just saying I think they have too much fat or calories.

Thankfully I have been able to move past these ‘food fears’ & realize that you CAN enjoy things in life that might have a lot of fat or calories. As my parents always told me, ‘everything in moderation.’ SO true!

I thought I would tell you my top list of fear foods & how I overcame the ‘fear’ in eating them.

1. Coffee Creamer

Yes, this might sound silly to a lot of you out there, but I would NEVER take any kind of creamer in my coffee. I always thought it was way too many calories in the small portion size. (I think it’s 35 calories for one tablespoon for most creamers) I would always drink my coffee with just Splenda. Then I was like ‘what the heck!?’, if I want creamer, then I should just USE creamer. I mean, really, is 35 calories going to make me gain wait?! Umm, no! Now I love creamer, especially with all of the flavors that they have out.

2. Peanut Butter & Nutella

How did I live without my peanut Cinnamon Swirl Peanut butter?!? Seriously, I must of been C-R-A-Z-Y…or I just thought there was too much fat in it. Silly girl I once was 😉 I know that a LOT of people still fear peanut butter. I know looking at the statistics of peanut butter can be kind of fearful too- I mean 16 grams of fat & 190 calories- YIKES! But, really, it’s NOT bad. Fat is GOOD for you, especially from a source like peanut butter! & it’s a GREAT source of protein! I honestly can say that I believe most of the fat in my daily diet is from peanut butter & I’m ok with that. Of course some people might disagree & say I need fat from other sources, but hey, it works for me & for my body! 

By adding fat to my diet, I have seen great things in my body. My hair is healthier & it is growing, my skin looks better & healthy, my nails are also strong & no longer break all of the time. Fat can be a miracle worker for the body 😉

3. Salmon

I always said I did not LIKE salmon, that I only like to eat mahi mahi or grouper. Well, this was a lie. I loved salmon, I loved the FULL flavor of it, but I thought there was too much fat in it. Little did I know, salmon is one of the BEST fish that you can eat. It is FULL of Omega- 3, which are essential fatty acids.

“The benefits of omega-3s include reducing the risk of heart disease and stroke while helping to reduce symptoms of hypertension, depression, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), joint pain and other rheumatoid problems, as well as certain skin ailments. Some research has even shown that omega-3s can boost the immune system and help protect us from an array of illnesses including Alzheimer’s disease.”
Copied from WebMD

After reading that, how could you NOT want to eat salmon?! And, after looking over the statistics for salmon:

Serving Size: 4 oz. fillet ; Calories: 233, Total Fat: 14g, Carbs: 0g, Protein: 25g
Source: http://www.livestrong.com/thedailyplate/search/?q=salmon#ixzz1PT66UgCv
DANG! 25 grams of protein in 4oz of fish! & ONLY 233 calories- those are AWESOME stats! I don’t know why for so long I thought it was so bad to eat.
 
4. Pasta.
 
Now, this one, just like peanut butter is probably still a ‘fear food’ for a lot of people. I know it was for me for a LONG time. Now I actually crave pasta & have to have it at LEAST once a week..just a big bowl of pasta for dinner is ideal. 🙂 The reason that I did not eat it was because of the calories- 210 per serving. It sounds like a lot, but once you break it down, pasta is actually a fairly healthy dish!
Here are some tips to making pasta healthier, or if you are still having trouble eating it because it is a fear food, here is how you can help overcome your fears:
-Buy whole wheat pasta
-Only make half of the box when cooking dinner (this is what I do for Craig & I and it works out perfectly without a lot of leftovers or wasted food)
-Eat broccoli, or another vegetable with it. When I make pasta, I make a big pan of roasted broccoli to go with it & I just add it in with the pasta noodles- makes it more filling!
-Try different things for sauce, rather than just a traditional marinara sauce, maybe try it with a hummus sauce. (roasted garlic hummus & pasta is AWESOME!)
 
5. Dark Meat (like chicken or turkey)
Thighs & drumsticks are the parts on chicken & turkey that I will avoid. Why is that? Because I know that there is more fat & calories in those cuts of the meat. I remember when I was little, I would ONLY eat dark meat…this was when I didn’t know about fat & calories. But once I learned of the calories & fat in them, I would not eat them. Even in recipes when they call for dark meat, I try to substitute white meat in them.
 
Yes, white meat is healthier & lower in fat and calories, but there is NO reason that I cannot eat dark meat. Sometimes in recipe that call for dark meat, you should USE the dark meat – like chicken thighs. They absorb the flavor better & do not fall apart as easily.
 
Of course, change does not happen over night & it takes time. I can tell you that I still struggle with certain things. Like I will still use Splenda in baking, rather than real sugar…or I try to avoid oil at all costs. But everyday is a new day and I’m trying to overcome all of my ‘fear foods.’
 
My questions to you:
Do you have any fear foods?
Did you HAVE fear foods that you have no overcome & can eat? How did you overcome your fears?
What are you most excited about this weekend??
We are supposed to go & see Hangover 2 on Saturday & then hang out with some mutual friends Saturday evening…& of course we’ll have some pool time in there too 😉 I’m looking forward to a fun weekend! 🙂
 
Have a WONDERFUL day! 😀
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. I don’t really have any fear foods – just a few things I try to avoid or eat in moderation. I could eat my weight in almond butter for example. So it’s not bad for you, unless you eat the jar in a single sitting 😉

    Reply
  2. This is a great post! It is super hard to overcome fear foods, but it is super important! I just recently allowed myself to start eating pasta, and I can’t believe I stayed away from it for so long! I do many of the same things you do, like add veggies, go whole wheat, etc.

    Oh, and peanut butter makes EVERYTHING better!

    Reply
  3. Great post! I like how you talked about how you overcame your ‘fears’. I would agree that peanut butter and pasta are two very common ones. Peanut butter does have fat, but its all healthy fat and like you said the improvements in your hair and skin are awesome when you eat those healthy fats! Pasta is also part of a healthy meal, you need carbohydrates for your brain to think!

    Have a great weekend!!! I am enjoying my last weekend in Rome before heading home!

    Reply
  4. I’ve never feared a food. But if I’m trying to lose a few I’ll stay far far away from sweets bc I know I can’t just have a bite 🙂

    Reply
  5. Oh man. I don’t really fear it, but I try to avoid crackers and cereal. If I don’t, I can eat the entire box (of either) in one sitting. I just cannot put it down.

    Reply
  6. I have just a few fear foods but I don’t know if I should call them that? The are mostly processed foods that are just not great for anyone to eat but for one reason or another cannot control myself around them=/ Pop tarts, chips like doritios or cheetos, and Oreo cookies. I never buy these items but man if they are around I might be in trouble. I’ve been trying to detox recently and the other night ended with me eating half a pop tart and half of a little Debbie, I havent’t eaten either in at least a year! Needless to say I lighten up on my detox a bit because neither of those things even tasted good to me but my body needed something! Last night I had a small serving of froyo and felt much better:)

    Reply
  7. This is a great post! I often have feared pasta or meals that center around carbs…but I love them so much so I’ve just switched to using whole grain and for some reason that tricks me into feeling better about it 🙂 Also, I use smaller portions so that I’m eating it, but just not as much! That cinnamon raisin pb looks awesome…have you tried the dark chocolate dreams? DELISH!

    Reply
  8. so glad you stumbled upon my blog! I think we might be long lost blog twins! My family lives and breathes Raven’s (my dad’s NEVER missed a home game and my dad and brother actually got to go to the super bowl!) and I had my senior prom at Raven’s Stadium =) but on a different note I’ve been through my fair share of ED treatment and slowly got a handle on things. Oh and I love running of course…and Disney World (favorite races ever!) will be sure to keep following!

    Reply
  9. I’d die w/o my creamer. I know some people shun it because it has fake sugars in it too, but dangit, it’s good and it’s not going to kill me.

    Hmm, my fear foods (if any) would be white rice, pasta, and maybe muffins, bagels. But none of them are taboo in my life..I just have to refrain from going to town on them.

    Reply
  10. The only foods I pretty much fears were carbs. Pasta, bread, etc. Now I eat them weekly and they’re usually whole wheat!

    Glad you no longer live in fear of those foods! 🙂

    Reply
  11. I definitely relate to having fear foods. I still have a lot of them, especially because I gained a little bit of weight recently. Now, as I’m trying to take it off, I’m trying to figure out a way to incorporate some of those fear foods into my diet. Before, when trying to lose a few pounds, I’d eliminate them completely. That, to me really wasn’t sustainable. Eventually, one of these days I’d eat them and I wouldn’t be able to stop! Fear foods include bagels, bread and pasta (I’m a carbs girl!) and also peanut butter because I could literally eat a whole jar.

    Reply
  12. Ya’ll are gonna die when I say this, but … VEGETABLES. I am a veggie-phobe! Anything green makes me feel like I am eating flowers, grass, dirt, etc. I know this is horrible, but I just can’t do it. I do like the vegetables that your standard 6 year old would like – corn, potatoes and green beans (I know, 2 out of 3 of those do not counts as veggies). And I can do an occasional zucchini too. But yeah…not good, I know I know.

    Reply
  13. When I was anorexic I had fear foods! ANYTHING that was not ‘fat free’ (yeah that had some nasty side effects after a year — lol) and any food that I didn’t know the macro breakdown and calorie count of. If I couldn’t count it, I literally could not eat it. CRAZY.

    Reply
  14. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  June 17, 2011

    I don’t think I have any fear foods. I know there are somethings, like Mountain Dew that I should consume less of because of the calories and sodium but I don’t. Still working on cutting that back to 2/week!

    I’m looking forward to celebrating my birthday tomorrow! And something else but that’s secret for now 😉

    Reply
  15. Omg we are so alike! I use to drink my coffee black with splenda and my friends thought i was the weirdest person ever. Now I drink it with my french vanilla creamer and it’s so much better! Definitely worth the calories 😉 Cinnamon raisin pb is the best! My fav 😀

    Reply
  16. I was actually the same way with coffee creamer. I wouldn’t do it. Now i have learned to really embrace it though and I love almost every kind of creamer imaginable.

    Reply
  17. I used to have so many fear foods, peanut butter, anything with carbs (I bought a ton of low carb products), fruit because it was so high in sugar. I would also have issues with combining certain foods. For example, yogurt and oats would have to many carbs if I put them together. I was really stuck in a rut on a 100% clean diet. Everything had to be all natural. I thought eating a protein bar would make me fat because it was not natural. I have learned that what matters most is calories in vs. calories out.

    Reply
  18. So proud of you girl! From reading your blog for a while now, I can tell that you are in such a great spot!

    When I prepped for a figure comp, I definitely developed fear foods…creamer was one for me too! Strange becasue really, it’s not many calories at all compared to other things. Now I use it daily! 🙂

    I don’t have ANY fear foods now and fully enjoy whatever I want! It’s a great feeling.

    Reply
  19. Hmm…deja vu 😉
    You know my thoughts on fear foods…
    Your seriously missing out on all the yumminess by cutting these things out. And I dont have some blessed metabolism but I eat oil and gasp, real sugar sometimes and I’m fairly fit…I think. I used to think I only need a very low amount of calories to function, but after treatment for my eating disorder, I realized that I can eat way more and still be rather slim and way happier. Admitting the fear is a great step so I’m glad you feel comfortable doing that. Baby steps. I eat a cup of measured out pasta on salads so I stretch it out more. I use tasty oils (like walnut and avocado), and I buy pure cane sugar or better yet, organic maple flakes. Only 15 calories per tsp and a lot more flavor then splenda 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

