Working Out on Vacation

Happy Sunday 😀

& HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to all of the Dad’s out there & especially my Dad 😀


I LOVE you so much Dad! Without you I would of never become the woman that I am today. You are the best Dad in the entire world! 

I hope you are having a good weekend! Yesterday was SLAM packed, that’s why I didn’t have a post. Craig & I had a ton of errands to run. First we hit the gym, and then made our way to a 12:10pm showing of the Hangover Part II.

When Craig & I were waiting for the movie to start, we were discussing how long ago it was since we went to the movies. We honestly do not go to the movies anymore because it is so darn expensive! I could not believe it, it cost us $17 for both of us & again, this was at 12pm! We thought we might get a bit of a price break, since it was considered a matinée. Oh well, so much for that.

The last movie we actually went to see was The Blind Side, only because you all know we are obsessed with the Ravens, and well Michael Oher is one of my favorite players. 🙂  We typically just wait for movies to come out on DVD, not only is it much cheaper, but we can enjoy it in the comfort of our home. (& the snacks are free 😉 )

Can you believe how much movies cost now a days??
What is the last movie you saw in the movie theater?

As for the movie, it really wasn’t that good in my opinion. I have heard that the movie ‘Bridesmaids’ is much funnier. But Craig & I both really liked the first Hangover movie, so we were willing to take our chances. Nothing can beat the original one though. 🙂

Now back to our honeymoon. I have gotten a lot of questions about if I worked out during the honeymoon, and if the resort had a gym, so I figured I would answer those questions today.

First, YES, I did work out everyday that we were there. I just followed my normal routine all through the honeymoon & even the week of the wedding. I worked out for 6 days & then took one rest day. Honestly, this pattern just works for me so I didn’t want to have to ‘re-start’ once we got back home. As I’m sure you know it is hard to get into the habit of working out & I ENJOY it, so I just did what I wanted.

As for the gym, yes, the resort did have a gym. Of course it was nothing like my usual gym at home, but hey, I was just happy they had something. Here are some pictures of the gym/ workout area:

There were 3 treadmills, but only one of them really worked. You see those 2 white treadmills? I swear they are from before I was born. You might as well just run in place…they were awful. The one in the middle wasn’t too bad & I typically got to the gym around 6:30am before other people were there, so I got the good treadmill. 🙂

My favorite part of the resort gym was that they offered free weights & benches! Woohooo!

Again, not the best set of free weights, but I was just happy that they had them!

They also had a selection of weight machines, which was a nice addition.

Hey, not too shabby for a gym. I’ve definitely seen much worse! The other cool part was that there was a yoga room/ aerobics room that had a bunch of stability balls & aerobics steps. I did most of my free weight workouts in that room, just because it was usually empty.

While we were there, I used weight workouts that I found in my Muscle & Fitness Hers magazine. They were the same workouts that I was doing before we left for the honeymoon- I was on week 2 of the plan. I was also able to do a lot of running on the treadmill, and they also had a few elliticals and stationary bikes.

I gotta say though, my favorite cardio equipment that they had at the resort was the stair stepper. HOLY WORKOUT! That stair climber was KILLER! Before weight workouts I would warm up with a workout on the stair stepper & I was dripping with sweat when I was done. That machine ROCKS! Of course I have used one before, but we do not have one at my regular gym. (We do have an ‘Arc trainer’ which is similar, but not quite as good of a workout, in my opinion.)

Now you might ask, why didn’t I just take the honeymoon off from working out? Honestly it is because I ENJOY working out, as I said before, but also it just made me feel better about enjoying the food at the resort. If I did not workout, then I would be monitoring everything I chose to eat. But since I WAS working out, I truly ENJOYED the food & ordered what I wanted to eat, rather than what was the healthiest. I chose to make time for my workouts, because that is what I wanted to do. I ate what I wanted & didn’t think about how many calories it might have, but rather how it TASTED. And, I have to admit, one of the best parts of Sandals resorts is the food. Oh man, it is SO good!! ..and I didn’t want to miss out 🙂

Do you enjoy working out when you go on vacation?

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Sunday…and that it goes by sllllooooowwww, since tomorrow is Monday. 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. New reader and I loved this post! I work out on holidays because i enjoy if, not soley to burn extra calories. If something gives me pleasure, why would I not do it on holiday, right! Did your hubby work out with you?

    Reply
  2. I do enjoy working out on vacation as well. I typically don’t work out as hard, but I am always sure to get at least a short run and some weights in most days I am gone. I agree, it just makes you feel better and more relaxed. After all that is why I run, because it relaxes me and I enjoy it!

    Reply
  3. I definitely work out on vacation!! When we went to Mexico last month, we hit up the gym at the resort every day. I really enjoy working out too and going a whole week without would not make me happy. Like you said, I was also able to enjoy the food a little more knowing that I was working out hard in the mornings.

    Bummer that Hangover 2 wasn’t that great.

    Reply
  4. Oh man, the stair stepper is killer! I like to workout on vacation unless it is soooo hot outside and there is no gym. Then I prefer to take lazy strolls (does that count?) haha.

    Reply
  5. I workout when I’m on vacation too. I try to take it easy though and just be active =) I

    Reply
  6. I’m with ya on the movie thing! So expensive. But I loved the Blind Side too – not even because I’m a Ravens fan. It was just such a heart warming story 🙂 Haven’t seen the Hangover 2 yet – I’ll probably wait for when it’s on Demand.

    I love working out on vacation. Like you said, it makes me feel a bit better about indulging in all of the great food. And frankly, I love working out in general, so why wouldn’t I do it in vacation? When I was in Texas for my friend’s wedding, the gym was amaaaazing. I was like a kid in a candy store.

    Reply
  7. briana

     /  June 19, 2011

    Hey Holly, I’m so glad there is a gym at sandals. I am definately planning on working out most days unless we do a walking tour or bike tour, but then I can fully enjoy the food and drinks as well! 🙂

    Reply
    • Ya, it’s not too bad! I was just glad they had one, only because you can’t really run on the beach- it’s just not long enough. Well, I mean it is, but I didn’t want to go off of Sandals property, ya know what I mean. 🙂

      Reply
  8. I always work out on vacation too! 🙂 I feel sluggish and lethargic if I don’t & then I can’t enjoy vacation at all!

    Reply
  9. I try and work out on vacations and normally do something along the lines of running because it is the easiest. Although i have gotten lost a few times in foreign towns which is rather scary ha.

    Movies are so expensive nowadays. I don’t even know the last movie I saw in theaters for real.

    Reply
  10. I didn’t think The Hangover 2 was that great either lol Totally like they were trying too hard. And I like to workout even while on vacation 🙂

    Reply
  11. I work out a lot while on vacation. I love going for runs in new places…I always end of going farther because I’m either exploring or lost 🙂 My husband and I were planning to wait on Hangover 2 to rent. I was afraid it’d be too much of the same stuff too. I did see Bridesmaids though and loved it!

    Reply
  12. It is so rare for a hotel gym to have weights. That really looked like a pretty nice set up. I definitely enjoy working out on vacation. Try to maintain some sort of routine.

    Reply
  13. love that stair stepper. WHOA! heart rate gets up! and you and your father are precious! what a great bond.
    Happy sunday Holly!
    LC

    Reply
  14. Hey! I just started reading your blog and have just started one of my own. I agree, the Hangover 2 wasn’t as good as the first. They tried too hard to make everything raunchy.
    I do also run while on vacation, more because I love it than anything else. 🙂
    I love the catchy name of your blog too, its why I began to look at it.

    Ellie

    Reply
  15. awwww, the pictures with your dad are just so adorable. 🙂

    oh, i’m with u and appalled at how much it costs to see a movie these days!! every time i go i feel like my wallet has been violated in the worst possible way. 😛

    haha, ur recounting of that gym is hilarious. ya, usually hotel gyms aren’t all too great, but they should really try to step up their game and at least get equip. from this decade! hope the rest of ur weekend is going great girl! 🙂

    Reply
  16. I actually love working on on vacation…I like to explore new places! 🙂

    Reply
  17. I workout on vacation as long as it doesn’t interfere with other fun vacation-y things. I’m also usually pretty active on vacays, so if I know I’m going on a hike later I probably won’t do a regular workout in the morning and instead give myself a chance to sleep in. I sort of think its weird (hope noone here said it i didnt read the other comments lol) when people say they dont work out on vacations because vacations are about fun…working out IS fun to me, especially the way it makes me feel. Plus it’s just so ingrained in me now that I workout a few times a week that it doesn’t feel like a big deal at all.

    Reply
  18. Laura

     /  June 22, 2011

    Yes I work out on vacations, I love working out and vacations are really the best time to do it IMO. It’s like weekends. no work, so every day is just a long day of doing whatever you want…. perfect for fitting in a good workout, then lounging around eating yummy things. I remember when I went to mexico, I loved working out in the mornings then heading for a late breakfast buffet with hubby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

