Sandals St. Lucia- Simon Says Tour

Hey There πŸ˜€

Good news: you are half way through the work week! That should start your morning out right. πŸ™‚ Gotta say, sometimes Wednesdays are harder for me rather than Monday…only because I want it to be Friday already. But, today I’m going to try to make the best of this lovely little Wednesday!

Today I figured we would go back to St. Lucia! Well, ok, maybe not literally back there (I wish!!) but I will continue the re-caps! Today I thought I would tell you about what we did OFF of the Sandals resort. I was really hesitant to do anything that was not affiliated with Sandals, only because it IS a different country. Craig & I were not sure what we wanted to do…we were thinking we would just lay on the beach or pool each & every day, but a bunch of people told us to make sure that we explored what the island had to offer.

Once we heard about the ‘Simon Says’ tour, we knew that we wanted to do that. Here are some reviews, so you can read about them yourself. The cool thing about this tour is that you get to see all of the local ‘must sees’ in ONE trip! It starts around 9am & you don’t get back to Sandals until like 3pm. You take a speed boat to the various spots, at one point you will take a bus to the next location, since you can’t get to it by water.
Before you go on the tour, they make you take allΒ of your jewerly off & you want to wear a ‘sturdy’ bathing suit…if ya know what I mean πŸ˜‰

^that’s the boat!

You initial boat ride to your first location is about an hour. While you are on the boat, the guide will explain the sites & just give you a bit of history about each.

^our tour guide on the left & our driver



^that is another resort in St. Lucia- I don’t remember the name of it, but it is VERY expensive…like $2,000 a night!


^Another Sandals resort- that is La TocΒ – that is were we were going to stay, if there were no room at the Grande.

One of the stops on the boat tour was at Marigot Bay. Marigot Bay is one of the prettiest bays in the world! It is one of the prime spots that celebrities visit. Here is what one website said about it: “Marigot Bay is the perfect Caribbean locale, complete with mountain backdrop and cove.Β  This might explain why it attracts visitors from all over the world.Β  The waters are a dazzling bright blue and the palms sway in the cool breezes, while visitors from all over the world enjoy Margot Bay’s unique serenity.”
It is EXACTLY that. Here are some pictures that I took while we were in the bay:



^Mick Jagger’s house!! Oprah also has a house here, I took a picture but it did not turn out very well. There are a few other houses with celebrities on the island. I can see why they would want a house here…it’s beautiful!

The next stop is at The Pitons, which are two mountains on that island that look like twin mountains. They once were volcanos, but they are no longer active.

^the tour guide will get everyone’s picture…& tell you to give a ‘kiss’ pictures πŸ™‚

After everyone is done with the pictures, you head to the next beach for snorkaling. Craig & I both LOVE snorkaling, as we went in the KeysΒ 2 years ago. At first it is weird getting used to the breathing. MAKE SURE YOU BRING CHAPSTICK if you go snorkaling, as you will need it once you are done. Your lips get super chapped. (from the salt water) I didn’t get any pictures of what we saw, but it was beautiful & clear! I DID get a picture of the resort that they used in one of the seasons of the BachelorΒ – the one with Jake & Vienna..I’m SURE you remember that one πŸ˜‰
(it’s the buildings in the back)

Next stop was where we got off the boat & headed to the buses. This is where we rode in the bus where they drive on the opposite side of the road. πŸ™‚

The driver took us to the hot springs, which were absolutely beautiful! It was a little walk to actually get to the springs, on a very narrow path. (& it was pretty steep!)

Once we got to the springs, it was pretty packed- there is not much room- but it was soooo pretty!

And finally, our last stop before lunch was at Sulphur Springs. You will KNOW when you get to the Sulphur springs, because well, it SMELLS & it smells BAD. These springsΒ are known as the world’s ‘Only DRIVE-IN volcano.’

It is really cool to see because you are actually INSIDE OF the VOLCANO. Of course it is still not active!

Next up- MUD BATH. Yep, you read that right πŸ˜‰

“A couple of hundred yards downstream from the springs, the water temperature is still hot (around 45 C), but cool enough for tourists to enter and give themselves a mud bath. Once the mud has dried, tourist can wash the mud off in the sulphur stream if they can bear the heat, or there are freshwater showers available instead.” (source)

The description above is perfect! That’s why I used it. The water that you ‘rinse’ off is is UNBEARABLE. Well, at least for me. I could NOT get in it. It felt like I was going to BOIL myself alive…seriously. Craig braved it, but when I saw his eyes POP out of his head when he entered the water, I thought other wise…as did pretty much all of the girls that were with the tour group. I stuck my big toe in & then jumped as high as I ever have….it was THAT hot.

^proof πŸ˜‰

After the mud bath we all rinsed up & then headed to a local restaurant. It was supposed to be ‘local’ food that they were giving us for lunch (it is included), but my friend that lives in St. Lucia saw my picture & laughed.

He said ‘that is was not authentic St. Lucian food.’ I was kind of bummed because I really wanted to try the REAL local food. I always think thats part of the fun of visiting places! ‘…when in Rome…’

After lunch it was time to head back to the boat, but not after one more little spot to see this beautiful site–>

Once we got back to the boat I was FEELING a sunburn, so I decided to cover up with our towels. Craig looked over at me & laughed. He kept calling me ‘towel lady’ for the rest of the time. But hey, at least I protected my shoulders πŸ˜‰

^cute, huh?!

One more cool thing that we saw on our way back to Sandals was a bat cave. It’s really cool because it’s really SKINNY, but full of bats.

OH, & how could I forget this..?! Instead of a flag on the back of our boat, we had this:
A MOP!! I thought it was too funny not to capture πŸ˜‰

Needless to say, just from these few pictures (I have a TON more), the Simon Says tour was ABSOLUTELY worth the price! It was only $110 per person, & also included lunch & a few drinks on the boats (although I stuck to water). It was SO MUCH FUN & it was cool getting to see the ‘real St. Lucia,’ rather than JUST what was on the resort!

Anyways, now that I am wishing I was back on that boat in St. Lucia, I guess I should go & get ready for work. But it’s a nice thought πŸ˜‰ Have a wonderful day!

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. I bet you’re glad you went off the resort! Looks like fun!

    Reply
  2. Haha love the dried mud pic of you and craig! All of that stuff looks like so much fun! You look amazing Holly πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. That tour looks like a fun way to get off of Sandal’s property and explore. The pictures of you and Craig are so cute! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. The tour looks like so much fun! I would be nervous venturing off the resort in a different country too! I like how the tour went off the resort, but you had a guide to navigate you to all the sights. Enjoy your Wednesday!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. I love the mud pics! I’ve done something like that in Italy once and love the pics I have from it! πŸ™‚

    St. Lucia looks beautiful from all your pictures! I can’t wait for my vacation in 9 weeks!

    Reply
  6. briana

     /  June 22, 2011

    Hey Holly,

    Iv’e been looking at the tours to do while we are at Sandals and I think I really want to do the bike ride to the volacano and the rum tour. Did you hear if those were good? By the way it looks beautiful and I cannot wait to go!

    Reply
  7. I want a mud bath. so, so bad.

    just so you know, I just typed bud math. i’m going cross-eyed from latenight wine glass painting. πŸ˜‰

    p.s. your new creations are on today’s post!

    Reply
  8. This tour looks SO cool!!! And that WATER…it’s so BLUE!! Gah. It makes me miss the ocean! I keep reading your posts and texting Max that he should send me to somewhere I can see the OCEAN if I get an acceptance letter in the next couple of weeks πŸ™‚ haha

    Reply
  9. I am totally enjoying these posts about St. Lucia. I desperately want to go on vacation now!! Keep ’em coming – it’s a great reprieve from the ordinary workday!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. These pictures are stunning! You two look so happy πŸ™‚ My fave is the waterfall kissing. So precious!

    Reply
  11. Great pictures, how beautiful! You look great and it looked like so much fun! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. What a fun excursion! I’ve never heard anything like it, but I particularly love the mud baths and all the cute photos. Your happiness is shining through in every pic!

    Reply
  13. Awesome recap and pics! So funny they had you do a kiss pic! Crazy the mud bath was so hot – bummer. I’ve heard great things about the sandals you stayed at, and Jade Mountain! Smart to be able to see so many places in one trip – good excursion!

    Reply
  14. Ahh! It’s all so gorgeous! And so are you! And rockin’ that bikini too, I might add πŸ™‚

    Reply
  15. aww I love the waterfall picture!

    Reply
  16. The more I read your blog, the more I love πŸ™‚ My husband and I went to St. Lucia on our honeymoon and stayed at the Sandals Grand. We also went on Simon’s tour. The meal his wife cooked was by far the best part!

    Reply
  17. Tina Carter

     /  September 21, 2011

    Hi. We are heading to St. Lucia Sandals Grande for our 20 year anniversary in a few months. Did you book Simon Says tour thru Sandals or on the beach? I have read that there is a different tour if you book on the beach versus booking with Sandals.

    Thanks!
    Tina

    Reply
    • Hi Tina!
      Oh my goodness, I am so jealous! I wish I could go back πŸ™‚
      I did the tour through Sandals- we were too nervous to go through someone that was not apart of Sandals. We heard the one you book on the beach is nice too, but we were just concerned..and wanted to stay on the safe side πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

