Fun Weekends Always FLY By

Good Morning! & Happy Monday!

I don’t know about you, but this weekend went by WAY.TOO.FAST. I know it always seems like they do, but really, this one FLEW by. We had an awesome time though! Not only did we get to go to a wedding of one of my friend’s from high school, but we also got to see my parents!

On Friday night we headed up to Jacksonville. Luckily I was able to get out of work at 4pm, and so was Craig, so we were on the road by 5pm. I had told my parents that we wanted to take them out to dinner when we got there on Friday night, so they would have to wait until we got there to eat. πŸ™‚ We got to Jacksonville around 7pm, and the parents, Craig & I decided on Carrabba’s for dinner. Initially we were going to go to Bonefish Grill, but when we asked how long it would be for a party of 4, they told us 65 minutes. I almost fell on the floor…65 minutes?! Are they nuts?! There was no way I was going to wait that long, so we decided to try Carrabba’s & it worked out! They got us seated right away.

I wasn’t planning to drink anything, but then I happened to spot the ‘Skinny Cosmo,’ which was a cosmo that was under 100 calories. Sounded pretty good to me, so I thought I would give it a try.

It ended up being REALLY good. Nice & refreshing, but not very strong. (which was fine by me!)

For dinner I decided to get the Mama Mandola’s Sicilian Chicken Soup & a side salad. The soup was a tomato based broth with shredded chicken & vegetables. I LOVED the soup! It was really peppery, but in a good way.

See that bowl with the yellow/ creamish looking stuff in the left corner? Well that was the house dressing. My Mom & I both agreed it looked like butter, which was a bit odd, but it tasted good. I didn’t use much of it, because it was SO thick. I polished off the soup & salad, and of course at plenty of the bread that they bring out. That bread will be the death of me. It’s so good, and I could sit there & continue eating it for the entire meal. (which is what I normally do πŸ˜‰ )

To finish the meal, I ordered an expresso, which came with 2 cute biscotti’s!

My Mom wanted to be on the blog, so she posed for a picture for me. πŸ™‚ (see that drink that she is holding? She is now in LOVE with bay breezes ever since she had them at our rehearsal dinner. But it’s so funny because she doesn’t know how to order them, so I have to order her drinks for her πŸ™‚ I just always tell them to make sure that it’s EXTRA sweet…because she pretty much loves sugar water with liquor. πŸ˜‰ )

We had a very nice time, and Carrabba’s NEVER disappoints!

Saturday morning my Dad & I went for a run. We both always enjoy our runs together. It reminds us of the old days, when I still lived at home. πŸ™‚ We also get to have some father-daughter time to just talk about life & all sorts of stuff.
I was FINALLY able to find the tanks that Skinny Runner always talks about- they are Champion Brand, and I found them at Target!

Scary picture…sorry! haha! But, I wanted to show you the tank, if you can tell. It is awesome! It’s made with that wick type of material, so the sweat just dries right up! So nice!

After our run together, we got showered & headed out to lunch with my Mom & Craig. We were all pretty hungry because we didn’t have breakfast. We didn’t mean to skip it, but time just got away from us. We decided to go to Sonny’s because my Dad & Mom kept saying how good the ‘Big Salads’ were, so we thought we’d give them a try. πŸ™‚ My parents both know how much I love salad, so they promised that I would love it.
Like always, they never steer me wrong & it was DELICIOUS! πŸ˜€

I got it topped with smoked turkey, and the salad itself was romaine hearts & some other ‘weeds.’ That’s what I always call the crazy looking lettuce leaves. πŸ™‚ In the salad was also some tomatos, cucumbers, chopped walnuts, craisins & croutons. I topped it with a bit of honey mustard & ordered cornbread to share with Craig.

Sonny’s has some of the BEST corn bread that I have EVER had! I know this girl would LOVE it! (She just needs to come to FL for a visit πŸ™‚ ) I could eat corn bread with every meal. I can’t believe I hated it when I was little- Oh man, I was totally missing out! Guess I will just have to eat more now so that I can catch upΒ πŸ˜‰

After lunch, we allΒ ran a few errands & then it was time to get ready for the wedding!

Please do not ask why I am standing pigeon-toed…I have no idea. I thought my Mom was just going to get from our waist up when she took the picture, so I wasn’t paying attention to how I was standing. Oops πŸ™‚

Jayme & Rob’s wedding started at 6pm, and we arrived around 5:45pm. It was perfect timing!

Their Range Rover limo waiting for after the ceremony! I KNEW that this was definitely Jayme’s idea- her FAVORITE vehicle is a Range Rover. She has always wanted one, even when we were much younger.

Once we walked into the church, it was BEAUTIFUL! There were flowers everywhere, and it was STUNNING. I loved the arch at the front of the church.

Their ceremony was really sweet & not too long. (Only about 35 minutes, which was perfect!) The minister was awesome, and you could just feel the love in the room. I love that! No photographs were allowed during the ceremony, but I did capture one when they were making their way back down the aisle as husband & wife!!!

Aren’t they gorgeous?! & they just look SO HAPPY!! πŸ˜€ I could not stop smiling!! πŸ™‚

Once the ceremony was over, we were all invited to a reception at Deerwood Country Club. I’ll save that re-cap for tomorrow because I haveΒ a LOT of pictures to share with you!! πŸ™‚

Anyways, I hope you are off to a good start this fine Monday morning! I have a feeling that this week is going to be a good week!! I also get my results from my CAT scan this afternoon…..I will keep you posted as soon as I find out. (& thank you again for all of the kind words about the situation!)

Have a GREAT day!! πŸ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Looks like a great weekend Holly! Your dress that you wore to the wedding is really cute.

    Hope you get some answers from your CAT scan!

    Reply
  2. Good luck with the CAT scan results!

    That skinny cosmo looked sooo my speed. Loved your dress for the wedding. And I loved your friend’s wedding dress – such a fan of the pink accent! Can’t wait to see the reception pictures πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Seriously…where did this weekend go?

    I feel like I was just arriving home from New York.

    The brides dress is beautiful. Oh my gosh I really want one similar if and when I get married ha.

    Finally, good luck with the cat scan results girl. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  July 11, 2011

    LOVE your dress! So funny, I was like why is she standing so strange?!?!

    Reply
  5. Love those Champion tanks! I have two of them! Your friend looks seriously gorgeous in that wedding dress πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Looks Like a great weekend! I want to take a trip to FL for that salad! Tim! You and the bride look great!:)

    Reply
  7. That looks/sounds like such a fun weekend! I love your dress! Hope you have an awesome monday πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. I need to find some nude shoes like the ones you have on. And I think I need to eat at a place called Big Salads πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  9. Good luck with your CAT scan results!

    I love your dress!! Where did you get it? It’s so cute!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Ahhh weddngs are so much fun — and I love the bride’s flirty dress..very cute!

    My weekend flew by too, but it was a good one so I cant complain =)

    Reply
  11. What a gorgeous wedding!! I love your dress!! πŸ™‚

    And your mom is so cute πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. I wish they made 100 calorie drinks everywhere…I might try more drinks if the did! I love Sonny’s! It’s such a southern thing..lol! I’ve eaten there since I was little and now that I’m a vegetarian I get the salad bar and their amazing cornbread! I just want to say again how amazing you look in your dress pigeon toed or not!

    Reply
  13. Looks like a great weekend! I’ll have to look for those Champion tops because i’ve been in need of some new workout clothes! I hope the Target by me has them!

    Reply
  14. Lovin’ the bride’s dress!

    I also love Carabas…they have great food! And sign me up any time for a cosmo! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  1. CONGRATS Jay & Rob! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

