Foodie Finds!

Good Morning!

Happy middle of the week…or as some people would say, Happy Hump Day..but like I’ve said before, I hate that. Just sounds SO weird to say…at least to me. 🙂

When Craig & I were in Jacksonville this past weekend, we made a stop at one of my favorite stores.

Whole Foods!! I always say that I wish we had one closer (the nearest one is about 30 minutes away), but honestly it’s probably a GOOD thing that we don’t have one so close. I LOVE the store, but my wallet doesn’t. :/ Although I have to say that I did get some great things while we were there.

Nutritional yeast flakes, unsweetened coconut milk, extra virgin coconut oil, & garbanzo bean flour.

I have been on the hunt for these things for a while. I hear the nutritional yeast flakes are good on nearly everything! Supposidly it tastes like cheese flakes? I’m hoping that they don’t disappoint because it would be a nice gluten free option!

I got the coconut milk to use in my ice cream maker! Hopefully it makes it more creamier than the almond milk makes it.

Now I’m at a loss as to what I should use the extra virgin coconut oil & garbanzo bean flour in…so I need some help…please 😀 I’m pretty sure that the garbanzo bean flour can be substituted for regular flour in most recipes, but I’m not 100% sure.

Any recipes/ suggestions that I can use the extra virgin coconut oil or garbanzo bean flour in??

There is something else that I got at Whole Foods that I have been dying to try….KOMBUCHA!!
I got the idea for trying this from Lindsay. I know how much she LOVES it, and I asked her a couple of questions about it. I was not sure how it would affect my stomach & if it could potentially help with my Crohn’s disease. She told me that she thought I should try it, she also sent me some links to stories of how Kombucha helped people with Crohn’s. It sounded promsing, and I am trying to get to where I’m only using natural remedies for the the Crohn’s.

I have heard that it is an acquired taste, but honestly I loved it at my first sip! I was really leary because I heard horror stories of it tasting like straight up vinegar, but I didn’t think that at all. I think it actually tastes like it has a hint of ginger. I let Craig try it, I was nervous that he was going to spit it out (I had a cup on hand…just in case) but he liked it too. He actually took another sip after the first one. I think he wanted to have more! I guess I’ll have to stock up the next time that I get it. It’s definitely not cheap (it was 2 bottles for $6), but if it works, then I’m all for it!!

Oh, and it looks like you have to drink them kind of quick…

It expires in about a month, but I think it’s because the strands of cultures, which are living. It looks pretty gross on the bottom, but you just kind of swirl it up & you’ll never know it’s in there!

Looks gross, right?!

I have been drinking a half a bottle a day, and then I will increase it if it seems to help. Everything is worth a try! 😀

Those were all of my goodies at Whole Foods…but look at what else I found at Publix yesterday.

The NEW Luigi’s flavors!!!- Watermelon & Blue Raspberry and Mango!

I think I’ve said it before, but Craig & I are HUGE Luigi Italian Ice fans.

See, told ya 😉

I know it might not be the healthiest treat (there is a lot of sugar in them!) but, I don’t think they are that bad. Only 100 calories per container!! We both really like them after dinner, especially during the summer time.

I also nabbed 2 cartons of Artic Zero.

Chocolate peanut butter & chocolate! I cannot wait to try them!! Look at the stats on these:

I haven’t tried either flavor YET…but I know Alyssa LOVES them! I trust her taste buds, so I’m sure we are in for a treat 🙂 I also love that they are dairy free, gluten free & are loaded with protein!

Ever since I saw them on her blog a while back I have tried to find them. I went into a Publix that I normally do not shop at today, and just happened to walk down the frozen aisles (looking for Luigi’s) to find these!!! I think I should start shopping at this Publix, seems like they have much cooler things to offer 😉

Now, I have the results of my CAT scan…I can’t say that I was surprised…but it’s still was a bummer.
First the GOOD news: I don’t have cancer, or any kind of tears or splits in my colon.
BAD news: The inflammation has gotten worse, a lot worse.

I have to get it under control immediately. The doctor has me on new medication- Entocort EC– which is a corticosteroid. Thankfully it does NOT have the same side effects of a real steroid like Prednisone, which is AWFUL. It also does not cause weight gain or those crazy mood swings. I am taking 3 pills a day (9mg) right now, and hopefully will be able to get off of it soon if the inflammation goes down.

At first I was really upset when he gave me the results, but then I remembered this post & it REALLY put things back into perspective. There are SO many other people going threw much worse things; I should be VERY grateful for what I DO have. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that..but once I do it really makes me realize how lucky I really am!

Anyways, I hope you are off to a great start today!! 😀

Please share any recipes or uses that you may have for extra virgin coconut oil or garbanzo bean flour! 🙂

Questions:
1. Have you ever tried Kombucha?
2. Have you ever had to take steroids?
3. Do you ever go out of your way to get specific things at stores that you don’t normally shop at?

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. oh you know I am smiling from ear to ear!! and dont worry about the expiration dates, acutally the older the better. More fermentation, which is good! the stores just have to sell them by them now due to FDA regulations. Such a waste.

    Love the other finds. I get excited for new finds! haha.

    Reply
  2. p.s.
    Steroid are strong stuff. I hope they help though. Have you read the Makers diet? The guy who wrote it is a doctor who cured himself from Chron’s with certain food approaches. My pastor did it when he had cancer, he is now cancer free.

    Reply
  3. I had to take steroids when I had shoulder surgery back in high school. It wasn’t a bad process and didn’t hurt me or anything. More annoying than anything else. I’m glad to hear you don’t have cancer or splits. I would terribly worried for you and I hope the inflammation gets better soon. 🙂

    Reply
  4. I’m glad your test results came back ok! It sucks that the inflammation got worse, but hopefully you will be feeling better in no time 🙂 Looks like you got some great food items – I want to try the Arctic Zero, it looks delicious!

    Reply
  5. I love your positive attitude and how you always remind us what day it is and how many days until the weekend! Hahaha, you are so cute!

    I’ve never tried that stuff… is it like tea?!?!

    Reply
  6. I hope you like the arctic zero!! I think its a great alternative…especially for 37 calories 🙂

    Reply
  7. Stephanie

     /  July 13, 2011

    Hi! I have Crohns too and I am on Entocort (3 a day) and 8 Pentasas a day! I am slowly getting off of the entocort- I was off of it 2 years ago but had some ugly flare ups and I wanted to get everythinig under control when I got married this past October. I would love to email you to discuss what else you are trying to do naturally. 🙂 sfetterer02@gmail.com

    Reply
  8. I HAVE had to take the ‘roids before, and they made me so, so, so hungry. and GAH, I’ve been wanting to try Arcitic Zero forever!

    Reply
  9. Let me know how that Artic Zero affects you…it bloats my stomach so badly that i would rather just eat real ice cream! I think it is the sweetener they use in it.

    Reply
  10. I’m sorry the diagnosis wasn’t as good as you hope, but at least now, you have some answers. I hope the medicine helps!

    I want that Arctic Zero SOOOOO bad. I don’t know where to find it here in NYC. Hopefully, when I go home, they’ll have it because grocery stores in Nebraska surprisingly have a much better selection!

    Reply
  11. Aw Holly I hope that your inflammation gets better soon!! I need to try kombucha…I keep hearing about it and I’m intrigued :).

    Reply
  12. I can’t get on the Kombucha bandwagon..looks to weird to me! But I’d love to try that ice cream..nom.

    Sorry about your results, but you are a tough cookie and this is just a blip on the radar.

    Reply
  13. Great finds!! I’m so jealous. There isn’t a whole foods in my state!! I’m 2 hours from Pittsburgh, And I shop there often.. don’t know where the closest one to here This..

    Reply
  14. I’ve just gotten into my new expensive habit of Kombucha!! I loveeee the ginger flavor! I tried that Synergy one first (because the bottle was pretty) but I think it has a pretty strong flavor and I wasn’t into it. Later I tried a berry one (different brand) and it was awesome!! Good call on only drinking 1/2 at once. I think drinking a whole bottle makes my stomach get a little crazy sometimes…

    I’ve never seen that Arctic Zero, but I must find it!!

    Reply
  15. I’ll be excited to see how you work in the nutritional yeast. I’ve been thinking about picking some up too!

    Reply
  16. Missy

     /  July 13, 2011

    I hate that you had more inflammation, but as you said, at least it’s not something worse.
    I’ve tried homemade kombucha that my grandmother made and it made me almost pass out! Something about me and fermented foods don’t get along!

    As far as the garbanzo flour, you should check out the Pure2raw twins site on all their socca recipes! They even use the coconut oil to make it 🙂

    http://www.pure2raw.com/socca-tribute/

    Reply
  17. Luigis Italian Ice is my favorite thing to have in the summer, it is so so good. To be honest, I’m too scared to try Kombucha…I’m not a picky eater usually but the picture of the stuff on the bottom is too much for me.

    Reply
  18. I’ve got coconut oil and garbanzo bean flour (I’ve been decreasing my gluten intake), and have done nothing with either – we’ve gotta brainstorm Holly!

    Reply
  19. I’m sorry that the inflammation is so much worse, but I really am glad that you are okay, girl! I love that you have such a positive view on things too, Holly. 🙂

    Reply
  20. i love that ice cream in shakes- it makes great consistency! altho i didnt like those 2 flavors.. i LOVE the coffee flavor!

    Reply
  1. To Pop or Not to Pop « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. Must Have Coffee « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  3. Duck Lips & A Giveaway! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

