To Pop or Not to Pop

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

We finally made it & I’m sure you know that I am beyond excited about that! πŸ˜€ Yesterday was a sllllooooow day too, so it kind of dragged on. No more complaining though, it’s Friday Friday Friday!!

Don’t know if you noticed, but I got a Facebook page for the blog!! (you can click on it from the link on the right hand side of this page!) I’m still setting it up, so please don’t laugh at how little is on the page. πŸ™‚

Yesterday I was on a mission. Ever since Lindsay introduced me to Kombucha, I became hooked. I haven’t noticed a huge difference from it yet, but I think it’s because I just started drinking it…and I’m still dealing with a LOT of inflammation. Hopefully with the combination of my new medicine plus the Kombucha (I also take a probiotic daily & do not eat any dairy made from cow’s milk), I will be back to my old self VERY soon! πŸ™‚

I knew that the only place that I have been able to find Kombucha was at Whole Foods. Sadly for me, the nearest Whole Foods is about a 45 minute drive from my house. I also hate going to the store for just ONE item.

Luckily for me I was able to find a closer store that carried it!! Chamberlin’s in Winter Park.

I was able to run over there on my lunch break. Thankfully I had a few minutes to spare, so I was able to browse the entire store…as well as stock up on Kombucha!

(I’m all nice & stocked up now! πŸ˜€ I only drink a half a bottle a day, so this should last me a little while)

I came across some pretty interesting things…
I think my favorite find of the day had to be this—>

Holly’s Au NaturalΒ Oatmeal! Honestly I have never heard of it before, but I KNOW it’s good. You want to know why I know it’s good?! Because the name is Holly’s πŸ˜‰

I also walked into my favorite part of the store….the ice cream section, of course. πŸ˜€

It was like walking into my dream freezer! I found that Artic Zero ice cream here too…so if I end up liking it I know where I can get more. I have yet to try it, but as soon as I do I will put a review on here.

Do you want to know what else I found here?!?!

Carba Nada noodles!!!! (you see that big hole missing on the shelf?! That would be from me taking nearly all of them! πŸ˜€ ) I was introduced to these by Julie’s blogΒ about a year ago &Β since then I have been HOOKED. The only problem was that you could not buy them in stores, you had to buy them online. (I actually only found them at The Fresh Market & would stock up every time we were in Jacksonville, since they don’t have that store in Orlando)Β Now I am so excited that I can buy them IN store too!!

If you haven’t tried these noodles yet, they are so good! They taste like regular pasta, unlike some low calorie pastas out there. They also have 12g of protein PER serving!

Hard to beat that!!

I’m now stocked up & ready to try to make some new recipes with them.

I also picked up some gluten free snacks.

Oogie’s white cheddar popcorn & Snikiddy Grilled cheese puffs. I have had the cheese puffs before & I really like them, but I have not tried the popcorn yet. I’m a HUGE popcorn lover, so I hope it doesn’t disappoint. The only thing with popcorn is that it tends to bother the Crohn’s. :/ Hopefully this won’t be the case.

Another thing on my list to pick up was Seaweed snacks. I have been seeing these on various blogs & have been dying to try them.

Whenever I go to a sushi restaurant I typically get seaweed salad with my meal, so I thought these might taste similar. When I opened the bag I couldn’t believe how thin they were!! Not that it was a bad thing, but I was just surprised…although I shouldn’t be because seaweed IS thin πŸ˜‰

In fact I DO like these, and they DO have that same flavor as seaweed salad, just a different texture. They are crunchy and the wasabi ones have a little zing to them…I like it!

I also picked up some local honey because I hear that it can help with allergies.

Craig has REALLY bad allergies, so I’m hoping that this might help him.

I was really happy with all of my purchases at Chamberlin’s! The only thing is that it IS a bit more expensive than Whole Foods. I’m sure because it is not a chain store like Whole Foods, I believe there are only 3 or 4 locations. It’s worth it though because it is much closer! It’s only a 10 minute drive from my office, rather than a 45 minute drive to Whole Foods. I’ll pay the extraΒ money because I’ll save on gas. πŸ˜‰

Last night’s dinner came from the need to use up some hot dog buns that we had in the fridge. I didn’t want them to get stale, so I need a way to figure out how to use them. I figured I would make meatball subs with ground turkey. Sometimes whenever I have had a meatball sub (with turkey or chicken) there is always SO much bread that I don’t even taste the meatballs. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE bread…but I would like to taste the meatballs too.

It came together really quick & we were eating in no time.
Here’s how I made the meatballs:
-1lb. lean ground turkey
-1 tbsp. ‘Italian seasoning’
-1 tsp. salt
-1 egg
-1/4 cup breadcrumbs

I mixed all of the ingredients up & then formed them into meatballs. I baked them on a greased baking sheet at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. (they were kind of sticky when I was forming them into meatballs, if you would rather not have that then you would just need to add more breadcrumbs.)

Once the meatballs were ready I put them in a baking dish then topped them with 1/2 jar of marinara sauce & put the meatballs back in the oven for about 5 minutes, just to warm the sauce.

Then it was time to make the subs! I tooked each hot dog bun with 3 meatballs & then sprinkled a little cheese (veggie cheese for me) on each of them.

I served them along side some baked french fries & veggies.

Delicious & filling! Perfect Thursday night meal.

Now, I have one more thing to show you..but this is a WARNING before you look at the picture below. If bug bites, or pimples, or things of that nature gross you out, then SKIP this picture.
I just wanted to show you a bug bite that Craig has, well he has two…but I took a picture of the one that worse. I believe it is a fire ant bite from when he was golfing on Monday.

It’s hard to see, but there is a white spot in the middle. It almost looks like a white head, but it’s just a bug bite.

My question to you is do you pop fire ant bites, or do you leave it alone? He whole ankle is swollen- I’ve been telling him that he has a ‘cankle’, rather than an ankle. I’m such a sweet wife, right?! πŸ˜‰ He tells me that he doesn’t want to pop it because he thinks it will just spread, but I think he should..I ALWAYS pop them. What do you think he should do???

I hope you have a WONDERFUL day! We have some fun plans for tonight, I can’t wait πŸ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. Amy

     /  July 15, 2011

    They”ve been talking about testing me for Chrohns but I’ve been putting off the colonoscopy because I’ve heard Chrohns sends u running to the bathroom and I have the opposite. always constipated and bloated. I’ve found since going gluten free I’m a little less bloated and do better but any thoughts on the Chrohns thing?

    Reply
    • Hi Amy!!
      So glad you left a comment πŸ™‚
      Ok, so this is REALLY weird, but sometimes I get the same as you. (the constipated feeling) but come to find out, it can be Crohn’s disease because when your intensines are swollen it can block you from going to the bathroom. Does that make sense?
      I have had both instances- the constipated and the constant urge to go. They are BOTH awful 😦 It sucks!
      I have noticed that reducing my gluten has been helping. I’m definitely not going to be able to go all gluten free, but I try to do it as much as possible. If you want to talk more, please email me at greekyogurtandappleslices@gmail.com
      Have a wonderful day! & I hope the Crohn’s starts to get better.
      PS: Have you tried Kombucha??? That might just be your miracle worker πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. Chamberlains looks like such a cute store with lots of specialty items! At home, my grocery store doesn’t have a ton of specialty items, but when I’m at school, I have a Wegman’s! They seriously have every item – so many gluten-free options too! Hope you feel better and Happy Friday yippee! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. nice stock of kombucha. You know it makes me smile! and I am obsessed with that wasabi seaweed. the hubs and i eat it RELIGOUSLY! i need to make my own, save some $$.

    Hope the bugs don’t bite tonight…..teehee.

    Reply
  4. Tiffany

     /  July 15, 2011

    Hey Holly,
    I think we live in the same part of Orlando. There is a Whole Foods in Winter Park that might have that drink. Just wanted to help. PS. I really want them to build a Fresh Market or Whole Foods on the east side. We are the only ones that do not have a more upscale grocery store. I think it would do very well over here. I even e-mailed Trader Joe’s to suggest Orlando for a store. =)

    Reply
    • Thanks Tiffany!!! πŸ˜€
      I have been to the WF in WP, but honestly WP can be such a pain to get to sometimes, don’t ya think? I mean there is just no direct away to the main part of WP- like Park Ave. I ❀ park ave!! πŸ™‚
      I'm SO glad you emailed TJ's- I did too!! How funny πŸ˜€ I REALLY REALLY want one here!!!

      Reply
  5. Wow I think if we had one of those stores around me-I would never leave. You are right though-everything named Holly/Hollie has got to be the bomb.com.

    Reply
  6. That store carries so many great products! I wish there was a store like that near me! πŸ˜‰ Those meatball sandwiches look amazing! Lately, I’ve been loving meatball subs. I should try making this at home πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Oh no that sucks that he got a bite! I have no idea what you would do with it haha. I’ve been wanting to try those carba nada noodles! But I can’t find them anywhere either…maybe I will have to buy them online. Thanks again for the guest post :)!

    Reply
  8. I still haven’t tried kombucha – it just scares me LOL. I wouldn’t pop it…ouch,

    Reply
  9. I’ve been thinking that I should cut back a little on dairy. Not for the same reasons, but just because I feel like I eat WAY too much of it sometimes. I could never do it completely, I tried once and I hated it. What do you eat for your daily yogurt messes now??

    Reply
    • I don’t have them any more 😦 If I do eat yogurt it’s JUST Chobani Greek- 0%. Nothing else. For some reason the greek yogurt doesn’t bother me like regular yogurt. I’m sure because of the way it is strained.

      Reply
  10. I cant find the carba nada noodles in store 😦 Lucky!
    I used to get fire ant bites all the time…just leave it!

    Reply
  11. Jealous of your food finds!! I can’t find the carba nada noodles anywhere! Starting to really love Kombucha and I’m lucky to have 2 stores near me with them! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. I’ve never had a fire ant bite! But now that we’re moving to Florida I guess that might change :-X

    I am so jealous of the carba nada noodles in a store near you!! When we want them we have to buy them online — never seen em in a store anywhere!

    Reply
  13. Pop it!
    ha!

    And I gotta tell ya Holly, I tried the Arctic Zero and I’m not a fan..I literally went out on Wed and bought some after I saw it on your blog and bougth the vanilla maple (because I love vanilla ice cream and maple too) and all I could taste was the gumminess. No bueno..and it was $5! I may try one more flavor, but I don’t think it’s for me. I did LOVE that I could eat a whole pint for 150 cals though!

    Reply
    • I was thisclose to purchasing the vanilla maple one, but I guess now I’m glad I didn’t. I actually really like the chocolate peanut one. It’s really good to me, but it is really expensive.
      Bummer that the vanilla one wasn’t good 😦 Thanks for the heads up though.

      Reply
  14. Rebecca

     /  July 15, 2011

    Bug bites suck. Oh and I am a huge fan of Holly’s Oatmeal and the Arctic Zero. My favorite flavors are the mint chocolate cookie, coffee, and pumpkin when it’s in season.

    Reply
  15. YES, local honey does work well with allergies! has craig tried a netipot? that works wonders, too. I have horrible, terrible allergies, and I swear upon it.

    …that’s on top of my tri-weekly shots and 2 pills and nose squirts every night. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  16. Amy

     /  July 15, 2011

    I love kombucha

    Reply
  17. Jen

     /  July 15, 2011

    I would totally pop it! Just sterilize a needle and stick it right in the center. Ibuprofen might help for the swelling.

    Reply
  18. ittybitsofbalance

     /  July 15, 2011

    Leave it alone for sure! He might get a scar 😦

    And I feel you on the Whole Foods situation in Orlando! No bueno having ONE Whole Foods for all of us 😦

    Reply
  19. I have heard good things about the Holly’s Oatmeal. I haven’t seen it in any stores up here though. I have never tried the Carba Nada noodles but I’m definitely going to look for them!

    Reply
  20. They usually say not to pop things and let them heal naturally but I am no professional!

    Reply
  21. Chandale

     /  July 16, 2011

    Hi Holly! I read something recently that said coconut could help with Chron’s and a daily serving on yogurt would help with allergies. I haven’t had a chance to research it yet, but thought I would pass that along in case you have.

    Much love!
    Chandale

    Reply

Leave a Reply

