Must Have Coffee

Good Morning! Happy Sunday FUNday ๐Ÿ˜€

Yesterday was actually a really good day! Craig & I got a lot done, and were able to spend our day together. We had a few errands to run, including going to the grocery store. Normally I go alone, but I was in shock when he said he would go with me! I don’t mind going by myself, it actually gives me more time to browse (sometimes that can be a BAD thing though because I end up buying a lot more), but it’s even nicer having company! ๐Ÿ™‚ He even volunteered to push the cart, what a guy, huh?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

On our list of errands to run was to stop into Bed, Bath & Beyond. We had to say goodbye to our Keurig.

Not to worry (not that you were worried anyways ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) but we had to get a new one!

You see our first Keurigย started acting all weird. It wouldn’t brew a full cup of coffee, it would take FOREVER to make a cup…if it even made one. I tried to do all of the ‘trouble shooting’ things that they recommended in the instruction manual, but NOTHING was working. I was really bummed because we had just gotten it as a wedding gift. Craig told me to just bring it back to Bed Bath & Beyond & see what they would do. I decided to call them yesterday morning & explain the situation. We didn’t have a box or receipt for it…just the Keurig itself. They were AWESOME about it. No questions asked, no box or receipt needed (since it was on our registry)- they just exchanged it for us. Just another reason why I LOVE that store so much.

See that box of coffee on the top of the new Keurig box?? We got it for $5! I had ‘Kohl’s cash’ from a few weekends ago to use up, and figured why not stock our supply of K-cups. ๐Ÿ˜€

As soon as we got home I had to test the new Keurig out. I mean I can’t wait to tryย anything…as soon as we walked in the door I busted open the box. ๐Ÿ™‚ And good news- we have SUCCESS!

(don’t mind the greasy headย & hair look. I swear it’s all the rage ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Iced coffee for the husband & myself. ๐Ÿ˜€ Hopefully this new Keurig holds up. We are going to hold onto the box for a little while just to make sure.

One of the best parts of getting the new oneย is that I completely forgot that it comes with a ‘sampler’ pack included in the box!

The sampler pack has some of my favorite flavors-ย Emeril’s ‘Big Easy Bold’, Tully’s ‘Extra Bold French Roast’, & Newman’s Own ‘Extra Bold.’ Notice a pattern here??? I like my coffee STRONG. I get it from my Dad. The two of us can drink super strong coffee like there’s no tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s why we both have a HUGE love for Starbucks. My Mom swears it tastes & smells like a cigar, but we both love it. (& we like it black, no sugar, no cream….we are hard core ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Another thing that I know I’ve told you about, but Craig & I love for our K-cups is the carousel. We got it at Bed, Bath & Beyond too, and it’s really convenient.

It’s nice to be able to see all of the flavors, rather than having to dig through a drawer…or look through a cabinet.

Another thing we did while we were at the grocery store was to pick up these goodies–>

I have been promising Craig to make him REAL ice cream (you know the kind with real cream & cow’s milk…the kind the I so longingly want to have, but my stomach would KILL me) since I got my ice cream maker & while we were at the store I told him to pick out what he wanted in his ice cream. First choice: cookie dough. Easy enough ๐Ÿ˜‰ Then I found some pretzel M & M’s that I need for another recipe…so he asked that I put them in the ice cream too.

Sounds like a good combination to me! I really wish that I could have some too, but I will stick to my Arctic Zero while he has his ice cream. Cutting up the cookie dough to put in the ice cream maker was hard to resist!

I had to sneak a bite…or two. ๐Ÿ˜€ DELISH!!!

The ice cream recipe that I followed was VERY easy.
Ingredients:
*1 and 1/2 cups skim milk
*1 and 1/4 cups sugar
*3 cups half & half
*2 tbsp. vanilla extract
*about 1 cup chopped cookie dough

First I mixed the milk & sugar today with a whisk, once the sugar was dissolved I added the half & half and vanilla.
Once that was all combined I added it to the ice cream makerย & let it do it’s thangggg for about 30 minutes. Then I added the cookie dough & kept it on for another 10 minutes.
That’s it! ๐Ÿ™‚

I couldn’t add the pretzel M & M’s to the ice cream maker because they are too big…so instead I just added them to the top of the ice cream before I gave it to Craig.

Worked for him, so it worked for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

I HAD to try at least a bite of the homemade ice cream…hey, a bite can’t hurt, right?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh it was SO good. I wish I didn’t have these stupid stomach issues…otherwise I might have a bowl or TWO of this ice cream! Making it with real cream gives it a much better consistency than making it with the Almond milk. I don’t mind it with almond milk (actually I really like it) but making it with REAL cream is hard to beat!

Anyways, I’m off to cook some breakfast for the two of us…and hopefully later today we will be able to lay out & get some sun! It has been raining every single day here in the afternoon, so maybe it will hold up today! *fingers crossed!

Have a great day…and tomorrow I have some BIG news to share with you!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Next Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. i wonder if you can make a dairy free version in the ice cream maker? Think that would work?

    And big news?? are you pregnant? just kidding.

    Reply
  2. ittybitsofbalance

     /  July 17, 2011

    I’ve seen those single serving coffee makers around town, but haven’t had the chance to really try it. Does the coffee taste the same that it would brewed in a larger quantity?

    Reply
  3. I LOVE my coffee super strong, too! None of this weak business.

    Reply
  4. Chandale

     /  July 17, 2011

    The kids and I made homemade ice cream the other day (no ice cream maker)…with soy milk as well. They didn’t like it, as they don’t like soy milk, but I thought it was pretty good. And I can’t have ice cream d/t the lactose intolerance. Of course, I don’t miss ice cream at this point. I’m really enjoying your blog…I didn’t know you had one!

    Reply
    • I made some with almond milk & some with coconut milk– SO good!! Craig liked it too, but of course he likes the real stuff better ๐Ÿ˜€ But it’s a good alternative, and it’s healthier!
      I didn’t know you were lactose intolerant- I am now only because of the Crohn’s.
      I’m so glad you like it!! I finally decided to make it ‘known’ this week. I thought I would make it visable on Facebook now…before my parents just really knew..and Craig, but he doesn’t read it. I love writing it though- just fun to share & to get advice from other people.
      Hope you are having a great weekend!!

      Reply
  5. I have the same problem with my Keurig! I wish I would have gotten the Cuisinart! I need to go eat lunch because I almost licked the computer screen when I saw the cookie dough…

    Reply
  6. Mmm, I love those pretzel m&ms, and I bet I’d love them even more over ice cream!

    Reply
  7. Yum!!!! I seriously need to get myself an ice cream maker. That looks delicious! And I’m curious what you’re making with the pretzel M&Ms?? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. Hi Holly! I came across your blog when you recently guest posted at PB Fingers and have been reading ever since. Sorry to hear about your Keurig but yay for a replacement! Emeril’s is one of my favorite K-Cups too.

    Reply
  9. Glad you were able to easily replace your Keurig. Bed Bath and Beyond has a good return policy. I had some corn ice cream made with a friend’s ice cream maker the other day. Did sound like it would be so good, but actually surprised me. The strawberry basil, well, not so good. lol

    http://www.k-cupsstore.com

    Reply
  10. That ice cream looks super yummy :). Yay for a new coffee maker! I can’t go without coffee…I feel like a zombie- and probably look like one too haha

    Reply
  11. Wow that ice cream looks incredible and I could not go one day without coffee!

    Reply
  12. Eliza

     /  July 17, 2011

    I have ulcerative colitis so I feel your pain with your Crohn’s. Have you thought about using Lactaid so you can enjoy some real dairy treats? I’ve found that works for me. Also, for what it’s worth, I had a baby last year and since being pregnant and delivering our son, I’ve had zero problems dairy. So there’s hope!

    Reply
  1. 100% « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

