Listening to the Wise

Hello There! 🙂

Monday is over….wooo!

I loved hearing all of the comments about me going vegetarian! I appreciate each & every comment. So far, so good…not like it’s been awhile- haha. 😀 But when I first considering going 100% vegetarian, there was one website that I would frequent. I’m sure you all already know of her website, I mean she is a cooking celebrity! 🙂 Mama Pea at Peas & Thank You is one of my very favorite blogs. I have used her recipes before, even before deciding to go completely vegetarian. She is a culinary genius!

Of course I turned to Mama Pea when I needed my first recipe to try out on Craig. Another thing that I love about her is that she makes an effort to respond to every single comment she gets, or any ‘tweet’ that you might send her. I just love that she takes the time out for her readers, and it is  pretty cool to know that she actually reads every single comment that she gets! (& boy does she get a LOT! 🙂 )

I turned to Twitter (<– you should follow me 🙂 ) to help me out. I ‘tweeted’ Mama Pea & asked her what she would suggest for a husband leery of trying a vegetarian diet. She said the ‘Tempeh Tamale Pie.’ It was decided, Tempeh Tamale Pie was the choice for dinner!

Before starting dinner, I was getting everything ready, and putting out all of my ingredients. I unwrapped the tempeh & I thought it looked really funny!

Looks kind of funky, right?!

The recipe below is DIRECTLY from Mama Pea’s website: (I didn’t change a thing! No reason to mess with something that is perfect 🙂 )

Tempeh Tamale Pie

Ingredients:

For the filling:

  • 1 medium onion or 1/2 of a large onion, chopped
  • One 8 oz. package tempeh, crumbled
  • 2 t. minced garlic
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 t. apple cider or red wine vinegar
  • 1 t. maple syrup
  • One 14 oz. can tomato sauce
  • One 15 oz. can pinto beans, drained and rinsed

For the crust:

  • 2/3 c. cornmeal
  • 1/3 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/2 c. non-dairy or organic milk
  • 1 T. maple syrup
  • 2 T. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 c. frozen corn, defrosted and drained
  • 1/3 c. non-dairy (i.e. Daiya) or organic cheddar cheese (optional)

Instructions

  • To make this recipe gluten-free, make sure your tempeh is gluten-free and sub millet, chickpea, oat or brown rice flour for the wheat flour
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Place a large skillet over medium high heat and spritz with cooking spray or oil.  Add onion and sauté until softened and starting to brown, about 4 or 5 minutes.
  • Crumble tempeh into the pan with the sautéed onion.  I like to use a grater so that all the pieces are approximately the same size.
  • Lightly brown tempeh, cooking for an additional 2 to 3 minutes.
  • To the pan, add garlic, chili powder, 1/2 t. salt, vinegar, 1 t. maple syrup, tomato sauce and beans.

  • Allow bean mixture to simmer for a few minutes to meld flavors.  Transfer to a 2-quart baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray or lightly coated with oil and set aside.
  • In a medium bowl, combine cornmeal, flour, baking powder and salt.
  • In your liquid measuring cup, combine milk, maple syrup and applesauce.
  • Add wet ingredients to the cornmeal mixture and stir until just combined.
  • Gently fold in the defrosted corn.
  • Spread corn mixture carefully and evenly over the top of the casserole dish.
  • If using, top the casserole with shredded cheese.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes, until cheese has melted and crust is set and starting to brown.
  • Serve with desired toppings.

As soon as I took my first bite, I knew why Mama Pea said that it was to die for. I ended up going back for seconds & ate every single bite! 😀 This was so good…and I found out that I really like tempeh! I had never tried it before and wasn’t sure if I would, after looking at it, but it ended up being really good! (don’t judge a book by its cover, right?! 😉 ) It crumbles like ground turkey, but it definitely does taste different. It’s kind of crunchy & bean-y. (is that a word??) I enjoyed the flavor though; it was something new & I liked the texture.

This recipe is going in the ‘must make again’ book. 🙂

Another thing that I recently tried, and have been enjoying for breakfast is Fiber One 80 calorie honey squares cereal. I actually just spotted this new cereal when we were out grocery shopping on Saturday.

You HAVE to see the stats on this cereal:

10g of fiber PER serving, with only 80 calories?! YES please. 🙂

Topped with a sliced banana & almond milk is a balanced, filling breakfast!


Both Craig & I tried the cereal, and we both said the same thing- that it reminded us of Cinnamon Toast Crunch! That used to be one of my favorite cereals as a kid, so it’s nice having an ‘adult’ version of one of my favorite childhood cereals.

The cereal has a hint of sweetness, and it is not grainy at all. I know a lot of Fiber One cereals taste kind of grainy, I actually like the taste, but a know a lot of people aren’t a fan of it. This will surprise you, it is unlike any of their other cereals!

*I received the box of Fiber One Honey Squares to try from General Mills, but I was NOT compensated for my thoughts on it and this post.*
The thoughts above are what I really feel about the cereal..and it IS delicious 😀

Anyways, I’ve gotta run! Time to get ready for work & take this day head on. 🙂 Hope you have a great day!

Questions for you:
1. What was your favorite cereal as a child?? (I had a few- cinnamon toast crunch, trix, lucky charms, fruit loops & berry berry kix!)
2. Have you ever tried tempeh? What did you think if you did try it?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. tempeh is such a good ingredient. Try tempeh tacos or enchilidas. I also like to use it in stir frys. Mama pea of course knows her stuff!

    Reply
  2. ittybitsofbalance

     /  July 19, 2011

    Shredded tempeh is a great idea!

    Mama Pea is a great vegetarian consultant 😉 Best of luck!

    Reply
  3. Rice krispie treats cereal used to be my favorite!

    Reply
  4. Tempeh definitely creeped me out the first time I bought it! This is one recipe that everyone seems to love – I’ll have to try it soon!

    Reply
  5. My favorite cereal as a kid was Cinnamon Toast Crunch. I could have eaten two or three bowls of that for breakfast. It’s funny now because I don’t think my kids have ever had Cinnamon Toast Crunch – their favorite cereal is Rice Krispies. : )

    Reply
  6. I have never tried cooking with tempeh because I had no idea what to do with it… now I do 🙂
    I had so many favorite cereals as a kid- Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Reeses Puffs, Crunch Berries, Cocoa Crispies, Frosted Flakes, Honey Bunches of Oats, Cookie Crisp, Alpha Bits, Capn Crunch… actually there really was not a kind I didn’t enjoy, love them all!

    Reply
  7. My favorite cereal was by far lucky charms. In fact, I wouldn’t eat anything else. True life. I didn’t know the Fiber 1 honey squares were as good for you as they are. I always thought they were super sugary and such, I may have to give those a shot.

    Reply
  8. I’ve never tried tempeh. I’d love to!

    Favorite childhood cereal? Cheerios. Plain with 2% milk. I’m boring, I know.

    Reply
  9. I tried tempeh at a vegan restaurant a couple of months ago. I wasn’t fan. I think it was because they put a sauce on it that was absolutely gross. It ruined the entire dish. I’d be willing to try it again though. 🙂

    I used to love Lucky Charms growing up. My favorite part was obviously the marshmallow charms 😉

    Reply
  10. Oh don’t make me choose a favorite! Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Lucky Charms, Pops, and Rice Krispie Treats Cereal were pretty high on the list but surprisingly my all time favorite was Honey Nut Cheerios!

    Reply
  11. Oh yum…that recipe looks good! So does the cereal :). I LOVED peanut butter cap’n crunch as a kid…best stuff ever!

    Reply
  12. Tempeh does look weird, but it tastes pretty good and that dish looks to die for. I think I may make it!

    And I wanted to pick up that cereal the other day but it was $5! No way..must go on sale first.

    I had to eat healthy cereals growing up..a treat cereal was Honeycombs 😉

    Reply
  13. Mama Pea is a frickin’ genius.

    I actually prefer seitan to tempeh (and you can make it yourself!) but tempeh is reaaaally good as fakin’ bacon 🙂

    Reply
  14. Another blogger posted about that cereal and said that they liked it… I might have to try it out!! 🙂

    As a kid, I liked Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Golden Grahams, and Kix. But I actually ate Pop Tarts most mornings! S’more Pop Tarts and a big glass of milk haha!

    Reply
  15. I love Fiber One. I love cereal. I can’t stop myself from eating an entire box in 2 days. Help.

    Reply
  16. I’m in love with that cereal. I killed a box in a weekend when I got it to try!

    Reply
  17. Oreo-o’s were my FAVORITE. Too bad they don’t make them anymore 😦

    Reply
  18. Buying that cereal tomorrow!!

    Reply
  1. Duck Lips & A Giveaway! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

