Duck Lips & A Giveaway!

Happy Friday Eve!! (See, I got a little creative πŸ˜‰ …except that I say that every Thursday…haha πŸ˜€ )

Thank you for all of the kind comments on yesterday’s post. I think a lot of you can relate to my love of seafood! I just can’t give it up! It’s too good & it’s readily available…because we live so close to the water.

Yesterday after work I had a date. Oh, but don’t you worry, it was NOT a fun date. It was a date with the dentist’s chair. Good times, right?! πŸ˜‰ I had a dentist appointment a week ago, and come to find out I had a cavity. 😦 Boo!

Do you see it??! It is on my bottom row of teeth & it is nice & filled now. Oh, and please tell me that I am NOT the only one that immediately comes home from work & changes into their husbands/ boyfriends/ significant other’s big, baggy t-shirt!! I run up stairs, grab one of Craig’s t-shirts and then come & chill on the couch & write my blog post! πŸ™‚

(Oh, and don’t make fun of my hair. πŸ™‚ I’m not balding…that line you see in the middle of my head is because I had my hair parted on the all day, so it didn’t want to cooperate when I put it up in a pony tail holder!)

When I left the dentist office, I could swear that I had duck lips!

See the similarity?! πŸ˜‰

But really, that Novocaine really does make my mouth feel all funky! I’m sure if you have had a cavity you know exactly what I’m talking about!!

I have to say, my dentist is awesome & I have never had a more pleasant cavity filling experience…if that is even possible to say. I don’t think pleasant & cavity filling should EVER go together! That’s like an oxymoron! I was really nervous because my dentist is new to me. I just started going to him. He is actually Craig’s dentist, so that is how I found out about him. (If you live in Orlando & you need a good dentist, you should go to Dr. Gary Spence!) And I am SUCH a chicken when it comes to needles, and the hygentistΒ was so sweet, she let me hold her hands when he gave me the Novocaine. (I know, I know, I’m a baby!)

Needless to say I could not enjoy my dinner from Panera that Craig grabbed on his way home from playing golf.

My mouth was too numb on the right hand side & I was scared that I might bite down on my lip or tongue & not know it while I was eating. Instead I had a bowl of ‘mush’:

It was a bowl of Rice ChexΒ & Fiber One honey squares that I let sit in almond milk for about 5 minutes before I ate it..so that I didn’t have to chew anything. I like my cereal mushy anyways…so I didn’t mind. πŸ™‚ But I was looking at my PaneraΒ longingly. Good thing is that I have an awesome lunch today from Panera! πŸ˜‰

I actually have to go back to the dentist in 2 weeks for another cavity. UGH! But let me explain. I swear I’m like OCD about my teeth. I floss every day, ok ok…every other day ;), I brush at LEAST twice a day (typically more) & I always Listerine. BUT, I didn’t go to the dentist for two years. 😦

You see when I graduated college I had to get off of my parents insurance because they didn’t allow you to be on it if you were no longer a full-timeΒ student. Luckily when I got my job I was able to get insurance, but only medical. No dental or vision. Of course I could have gone to the dentist or eye doctor without insurance, but it is SO expensive!!

Thankfully when Craig & I got married, I was able to get on his insurance which has medical, dental & vision. Now that I’m on it, I set up all of the necessary doctor appointments immediately. Here is a run down of my appointments last week:
Monday: Gastro (this is when I got the results of my CAT scan)
Tuesday: Dentist (annual check up…and where they found my cavities 😦 )
Thursday: Eye Doctor (annual check up)
Friday: Dermatologist (I need to get a spot on my skin checked out)

I was making my rounds at ALL of the different types of doctor’s last week!! Now I’m feeling healthy πŸ˜‰ I just have to get this Crohn’s disease under control & I will be good to go!!

Anyways, as promised, today I have a GIVEAWAY for you! πŸ˜€ Remember that Fiber One 80 Calorie Honey Squares Cereal that I told you about the other day??

Well, now here’s YOUR chance to win a box for yourself!! The people at Fiber One are offering one Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices reader a box of their own. You definitely WANT to try this stuff- it’s so good!! All you have to do is leave me a commentΒ telling me how you get fiber in your diet. That’s it!! Contest ends on 5pm tomorrow. (Friday JulyΒ 22nd)Β Β A winner will be selected (via random number picker whose name is Craig πŸ˜‰ )Β Β & I will announce the winner on Saturday morning!

Anyways, I’m off for now! I hope you have a great dayΒ & good luck on the giveaway! πŸ˜€

Questions:
1. Would you rather go to the dentist or the doctor?
2. Have you ever gotten a cavity?
3. **Most important: How do you get fiber in your diet?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

75 Comments

  1. ittybitsofbalance

     /  July 21, 2011

    No Panera!? Oh the horror! I used to work there and would gobble up their black bean soup like it was going out of style πŸ˜‰

    I get fiber in my diet mostly through oats and flax seeds. Especially since I found out that I was wheat intolerant, I’ve had to struggle more to find fiber sources. However, its do-able!

    Reply
  2. Ah I haven’t been to the dentist either. Not good!!!

    I really want to try that cereal!! I eat lots if veggies and apples!

    Reply
  3. Jen

     /  July 21, 2011

    My favorite way to get fiber is oats and veggies!

    Cavities suck! I’m so scared of the needle for the novocaine and I always overreact. My dentist calls me a sissy.

    Reply
    • During my appointment to get my cavity filled my dentist had to step out of the room for a minute, and I think it’s because he was laughing at what a cheese ball I am, because I was SO scared. He thought I was going to hyperventalate!! LOL!! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  4. I’m with ya on the whole insurance thing…I pay out of pocket for eyes and mouth…ugh. Luckily it is only twice a year!

    1. Would you rather go to the dentist or the doctor? Depends on what it is for, but probably doctor.

    2. Have you ever gotten a cavity? Two!

    3. **Most important: How do you get fiber in your diet? I get fiber in my diet through fruit and veggies, popcorn, and whole grains

    Reply
  5. I love getting fiber from natural sources like fruits and veggies, whole grains.

    I got a cavity filled Tuesday morning, and had to eat soft food all day! Enjoy your Panera today, Holly.

    Reply
  6. Melissa

     /  July 21, 2011

    I get fiber in my diet through fruits and vegetables!

    Reply
  7. Karina

     /  July 21, 2011

    Oatmeal is my favorite way to get fiber! With lots of fruit on top πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Lynn

     /  July 21, 2011

    I get fiber in my diet via ground flax seeds in my smoothies and green monsters and in my apple a day – pink ladies are my favorite variety of apples.

    Reply
  9. I get fiber in my diet mostly through fruits, but also cereals like this!
    I have had countless cavities, I have very weak enamel apparently..ugh! 😦

    Reply
  10. I have to go to the dentist next week and I’m crossing my fingers for no cavities!! I get most of my fiber through fortified cereals such as this one, oatmeal, and fruits and veggies. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. I usually try to eat oatmeal, fruits, and veggies to get my fiber! Recently I have started buying some Fiber One bars which are good- though not always filling enough! I also started trying their cereals and really enjoy using it as a topping on my yogurt or smoothie!

    Reply
  12. Anne

     /  July 21, 2011

    haha, i love planning all my appts in the same week. it’s a good feeling just to get them all done at once, ya know?
    I’d choose the doctor over the dentist ANY day. i hate it when he uses that drill thing on my teeth..ughh.
    i get my fiber from veggies and oatbran =)

    Reply
  13. Christine

     /  July 21, 2011

    Getting cavitites filled stinks!

    I get fiber in my diet through fruits and oats!

    Reply
  14. I get my fiber mostly through veggies and fruit :). I actually don’t mind the dentist or doctor! I totally know what you mean about novocaine though…before I got braces I had 4 teeth pulled and they had to numb my entire mouth. Let’s just say that when I tried to drink some water, it ended up on my shirt :).

    Reply
  15. I get my fiber in from fruits and veggies! πŸ™‚

    I’d much rather go to the doctor than the dentist. I hate the dentist with a passion. I had to get a cavity filled last month.

    Reply
  16. Spinach in my smoothies is definitely my favorite way to get fiber on a regular basis – I also indulge in the 90 cal Fiber One bars when I have a chocolate emergency! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  17. I just went to the dentist on Tuesday too. I usually do not have problems with any drs or dentists. Right now I just picked whatever is convenient but I really want to find someone I like. I got my mouth shot up to put a temporary bridge in after by tooth got fractured. I had a crown on it from knocking my teeth out. I ate yogurt on tuesday with my mouth shot up because I went to the dentist right after my morning work out and was STARVING! Luckily never had a cavity.
    I generally get fiber through fruits and veggies but not just that.

    Reply
  18. I feel you on the cavities. I’m OCD, too, and yet the past few years, I’ve had a bunch. My dentist said that he rarely tells people that they have “soft” teeth, but he said that I do. Swell. :/

    I get my fiber from fruit, veggies, whole grain breads and pasta, cereal (like the Fiber One products!), and granola! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  19. runningdaze@gmail.com

     /  July 21, 2011

    I eat chia seeds, spinach and fruits in my smoothies, along with lots of veggies, and oatmeal. I want to try that cereal!

    Reply
  20. Pamela

     /  July 21, 2011

    Fiber One granola bars, especially Oats & Peanut Butter, are my favorite and a good way to get some fiber. I almost always eat one on my drive home from work. I’d like to try the cereal!

    Reply
  21. Nicole Soffian

     /  July 21, 2011

    1. Would you rather go to the dentist or the doctor?
    DENTIST! I went for the first time in over a year and everything looked great so I was happy, but the doctor can always find something wrong in so many different parts of your body, while as annoying as that scraping sound on your teeth is at least it’s only 1 area of focus.

    2. Have you ever gotten a cavity?
    No (my pride & joy that I have never had one), but I thought I did so that was another reason with going to the dentist, same problem with the insurance though.

    3. **Most important: How do you get fiber in your diet?
    FIBER ONE! In all seriousness…I love their bars and muffins! I really am not to sure how to get it in any other form… But I do try and check the fiber on my nutrition facts when purchasing food.

    Reply
  22. I love the dentist.. but I am getting my first cavity filled in a couple weeks… so that might change! haha.

    I get my fiber through lots of fruits and veggies.This is my first gluten free week.. so I’m getting less fiber than I have been. I need to find fiber rich replacements for some of my every day things.

    Reply
  23. FIBER SUPPLEMENTS! what up, IBS? aha.. TMI? maybe… but it’s true. I also eat lots of fruit and veggies. πŸ™‚ yay for cereal!

    Reply
  24. The way I get fiber is to eat lots of fruit…whether its in the form of a banana, apple, or raisin, craisin or dried cherry. I also try to make sure I’ve got some sort of veggie with dinner. And eating whole grains makes a huge difference too! Cereal is one of my fave ways actually…looking forward to trying this…I’ve been on a Honey Nut Cheerios kick for a while now and need something different! Love Fiber One! Thanks!

    Reply
  25. sarah s

     /  July 21, 2011

    i’d rather go to the doctor over the dentist, but i don’t mind the dentist that much because while i was growing up my aunt was my dentist, so i’ve always had pretty good experiences!

    Reply
  26. Ugh, neither dentist or doctor, but lately doctor cuz it’s all about baby =)

    Reply
  27. Yes unfortunately I have had a few cavities in my lifetime and I diligently go to the dentist every 6 mo without fail

    Reply
  28. I get my fiber through oatmeal and tons of cabbage slaw!

    Reply
  29. wow, it’s been a doctor kind of week for you. I really can’t stand going to the dentist.

    Reply
  30. Oh NO. You are scaring me hahaha. I floss almost every day, brush 2-3x a day, use listerine twice a day…but haven’t been to the dentist in ohhhh..3 years maybe? AHH I don’t want a cavity =(

    I just got that fiber one cereal too! It is SOO good!

    Reply
  31. TOTALLY meant to say don’t enter me in the giveaway!! I already have a box and a million coupons (for reals)

    Reply
  32. Elyssa

     /  July 21, 2011

    To get fiber I eat an apple with lunch and lots of veggies like brussle sprouts and broccoli for dinner

    Reply
  33. Sara

     /  July 21, 2011

    I get my fiber from my morning bowl of oatmeal, but I am more than willing to switch up my breakfast routine to try this cereal!

    Reply
  34. Leslie

     /  July 21, 2011

    for fibre i eat lots of apples with the peel =D

    Reply
  35. lukesmom09

     /  July 21, 2011

    I have had a similar situation like you with the dentist. except i didn’t have dental insurance for AT LEAST 5yrs! i went to the dentist back in March and can you believe that i had nothing wrong!?!?!?!?! He said my teeth and gums were great! You have no idea how nervous i was! (well actually you might lol)

    I get my fiber through apples, broccoli, and if i eat oatmeal. I am actually new to this whole blog thing but wanted to tell you i stumbled across yours and have been reading yours for about a week or so now. You are great!! and i am also from MD (saw that Craig is as well…where at in MD?)

    Reply
  36. Hmm this is tough but I think I’d rather go to the dentist. Cleanings aren’t as bad as shots lol Plus I have to wait longer at the doctors!

    Reply
  37. I have 2 cavities 😦

    Reply
  38. I get fiber by eating oatmeal, Kashi, and sometimes I’ll add benefiber here and there πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  39. Danica

     /  July 21, 2011

    I get my fiber from eating oatmeal, fruits, veggies, and whole grains–I’m a carb-LOVER : )

    Reply
  40. I’m so jealous of your lunch! Panera is a weakness of mine! πŸ˜‰

    I usually get my fiber from my daily veggies and oats! Yum, yum, yum!

    Reply
  41. Devon

     /  July 21, 2011

    Yum! that looks so good! I get my morning fiber from quick oats with Splenda and cinnamon πŸ™‚

    Reply
  42. kathryn

     /  July 21, 2011

    I eat a lot of fruit, vegetables, and grains which is how I get my daily fiber intake.
    I too did not go to the dentist for a couple years and discovered cavities
    😦

    Reply
  43. Doctor-hands down, any day of the week. I am absolutely terrified of the dentist and have even bitten my hygenist a few times..

    luckily though I don’t have any cavities!!

    I get my fiber through lots of fresh vegetalbes and Kashi Go Lean cereal. I’ve always been skeptical about trying Fiber One so this would be a great chance!

    Reply
  44. Oats, veggies and fruit are my favorite ways to get enough fiber!

    Reply
  45. 1. Would you rather go to the dentist or the doctor? DOCTOR 100%
    2. Have you ever gotten a cavity? Not my WHOLE life! Until last year, I had SEVEN! Out of no where too 😦
    3. **Most important: How do you get fiber in your diet? Fiber for me comes in the form of Benefiber tablets πŸ™‚

    Reply
  46. I get fiber through lots of fruit as well as flax seed!!

    PS LOVE your blog, just stumbled upon it a couple weeks ago.

    Reply
  47. The optometrist! (Ok, I’m a little biased) No me gusta the dentist, and it seems harder to find an md with a nice bedside manner

    Reply
  48. Kara

     /  July 21, 2011

    Well I just sent my application to dental school today, so i would say dentist! πŸ™‚

    i don’t think i get enough fiber in my diet so i need to change that asap! that cereal looks awesome!

    Reply
  49. I want to add a comment about the dentist too. I never had a cavity in my life, but when I switched from my family dentist in California to a dentist in Virginia, suddenly he found 4. I didn’t know any better, so I just got them filled. When I moved back to CA, my family dentist looked at my old xrays and in my mouth, and said that he believed the cavity fillings were unnecessary.

    This boils down to lots of $ paid, plus the replacing of each cavity every 10 years=more $. Nothing is as good as the original tooth. 😦

    My teeth felt violated, and it makes me sad that we have to be skeptical, even of people who have “doctor” in their name.

    Reply
  50. I’m so excited about this giveaway! πŸ™‚ I egt fiber in my diet by eating lots of fruits, veggies, and whole grains!

    Reply
  51. meAgan

     /  July 22, 2011

    I get fiber in my diet through veggies and fruits which I consume with nearly every meal or for most of my snacks πŸ™‚ I also have a serious love for fiber one granola bars and cerals as well as kashi granola bars and cereal! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  52. Makenna

     /  July 22, 2011

    I’ve been wanting to try that cereal!! I normally try to take a fiber supplement, as well as eating plenty of fruits and veggies for the natural fiber!

    Reply
  53. Samantha

     /  July 22, 2011

    I get fiber in my diet from oats & cereal, whole wheat bread, fruits and veggies, and beans!

    I don’t mind the dentist or the doctor and haven’t had a cavity in my 24 years of life. : ) weird i know!

    Reply
  54. Brianne

     /  July 22, 2011

    I would rather go to the doctor…the dentist is just so unnerving for some reason!!

    I have had a cavity years ago… it was b/c of my braces in the back… and i eat a ton of fiber via Fiber one bars and high fiber bread etc! I have heard of the cereal but I have yet to find it in my grocery store!

    Reply
  55. Kelly

     /  July 22, 2011

    Try to get it from fruits and veggies first! If I run into a day that seriously lacks in veggie intake, I’ll eat a Fiber One yogurt before bed to add a little more! Tried the cereal already and LOVE it!

    Reply
  56. Aubreylaine

     /  July 22, 2011

    Oats and flax.
    littlegray88 at yahoo dot com

    Reply
  57. Sherry

     /  July 22, 2011

    I hate the dentist, I would rather go to the doctor. I’ve gotten cavities in the past but nothing lately.

    I get fiber in my diet by eating lots of veggies, eating fruit for my snacks, and I eat whole grains such as oatmeal, quinoa, whole wheat bread or Ezekial bread depending on the week. I also eat cereal every now and then.

    Reply
  58. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  July 22, 2011

    I get my fiber in my diet by eating a Fiber One bar πŸ™‚ Well and whatever other sources I eat that have fiber in them haha.

    Reply
  59. Katie

     /  July 22, 2011

    I get my fiber by mixing cereals and fruits in my yogurt for breakfast!

    Reply
  60. Jennifer

     /  July 22, 2011

    I get fiber in my diet by eating lots of 100% whole wheat, oats, fruits, and veggies!!

    Reply
  1. Weight Lifting 101 « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

