Emergency Post

Hey Guys!

Normally I do not post twice in a day, but this is an emergeny post:

My friend at work found 3 puppies last night in her neighborhood just roaming around.

She told me that it is pretty common for people to just drop off animals that they no longer want in her neighborhood because of the open land & the wooded areas. She said that she could tell they were once someone’s pets because they came right up to her & started licking her face. She told me that they are all very friendly, and were literally starving! They were also covered in stickers & burs, and one of the girl puppies has a wound on her head. You can tell that it has been there for a few days because the blood is now dry, but she needs to see a vet.
ย 
My friend has called all of the local no-kill shelters (Pet Rescue by Judy, New Beginnings, RAIN) & they are not accepting any new pets right now; they are full. ๐Ÿ˜ฆย She does not want to have to call the Orange County animal shelter, only because they will probably be put to sleep, especially the little one with the wound.
ย 
I didn’t know if anyone knew of any more no-kill shelters around the Central Florida area, or if anyone might possibly looking to adopt a puppy. (That lives locally)ย I would guess that they are around 6 months old, and are a little bigger than a beagle. It appears that they have fleas (from being outside for a while), but other than that they seem fine (except for the one with the wound). My friend said that even though the one has a wound she doesn’t act differently, she still jumps around & wants to play, but it just appears that it really should get checked out by a vet.
ย 
Any suggestions or advice that you have would be much appreciated!! ๐Ÿ™‚
ย 
Here are some pictures of the puppies– they were taken with a Blackberry, so they aren’t super clear, but you can see what they look like.


^you can see the burs & stickers on her little legs


Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. OH my gosh. Let me talk to Max. We were thinking about adopting a dog BUT #1 we’re not sure when we’ll be moved into an apartment (his grandparents, who we’re staying with, are allergic to..pretty much everything lol including dogs), #2 we don’t know when we’ll be settled in enough! BUT we do also know a lot of people in the southern FL area who might be looking.

    Have you guys posted these pups on Craigslist? You have to be reeeeally careful about sccreening people who want to adopt/buy dogs from craigslist but still…there are some really good people out there!

    Reply
    • Yes, please let me know ๐Ÿ™‚ I will let her know what you said.
      She really wants someone to adopt the first puppy in the picture. That is the one that just jumped right up & started licking her! ๐Ÿ™‚ She said she is so sweet.
      I don’t know if she wants to do Craigslist, only because, like you said there are some REALLY shady people out there. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But it could always be an option if need be. The one really needs to go to the vet though :/
      Thanks for your help Sable!!!

      Reply
  2. Oh my goodness, this breaks my heart!

    Call vets and re-call the animal shelters and rescue places to see if they have any foster programs where there are openings.

    And please have her take the dogs to the vet — maybe even start a fundraiser to cover the expenses. Those dogs don’t deserve that!

    Reply
  3. Abbey

     /  July 22, 2011

    Please take them to the vet ASAP for their safety as well as the dogs. Most vets will understand that they were just found and will do pro bono work. Please, please get them help as soon as possible-I can’t stress enough that you need to get them in. I work for a vet clinic (in WI unfortunately) and we will help if it is an emergency. Continue to call the various shelters; a better bet might be to call breed specific rescues.

    Reply
  4. this breaks my heart! I’d come rescue them if I could! I agree, try calling vets. Good luck! Keep us posted!

    Reply
  5. I wish I lived near you! I would totally take one home…but MD is a little far to travel from to pick one up! Good luck and keep us posted on their status!

    Reply
  6. OH MY! I have such a soft spot for animals with no home as I adopted my little puppy back in Chicago. I really hope those doggies find a home!

    Reply
  7. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  July 22, 2011

    This breaks my heart! I don’t know how anyone could just leave innocent animals on the streets to fend for themselves!

    Starting a fundraiser would be a great way to help cover the costs of the vet bills for the pups. And as someone else said, call and re-call vets and shelters to see if they have a foster program that can take the pups.

    I hope they can find good homes!

    Reply
  8. Oh gosh, so sad – hope they can find a home, Holly!

    Reply
  9. Kelli

     /  July 23, 2011

    awwww any update on those babies??:(

    Reply
    • Hi Kelli!
      Yes, actually some GOOD news!! My Dad was able to find another foster type home for all of them- my friend is going to contact her this morning & find out what she says. It is a farm – so there is a TON of room to run & have fun for the pups ๐Ÿ˜€ She also provides the care they may need, so we are just waiting to hear.
      She is also going to try to set up a donation for them- I will keep everyone posted if she does ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for asking!!

      Reply
  10. Kelli

     /  July 23, 2011

    Awesome ! Definitely keep us posted made my day We just moved to Florida (gulf coast) seems like there are alot of abandoned dogs down here:(

    Reply
  11. Try Florida Little Dog Rescue, Save a Life Pet Rescue, VIP Rescue, Mike’s Dog House, Compassionate Canines, Ruff World Animal Rescue, Lotsa Love Pet Rescue, Faith, Hope and Love Rescue, Buddies for Life and Pekingnese Rescue and Others.
    Try to take them to the vet as soon as you can. Some vets will give you discounts and waive fees for rescues.
    Wait as long as possible before taking them to the Orange County Animal Services or the Humane Society in Orlando because they are both high kill shelters. I wish I could help! I hope they find homes soon.

    Reply
  12. oh my goodness! this is so sad! I hope everything works out for these pups!

    Reply
  1. My 7 Links & Puppy Update « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

