Improvising.

Good Morning!!

TODAY is the LIVE AUCTION for SUSAN– The Great Fundraising Act- CLICK HERE to get to the auction!!!

Looks like we are back at it- a brand new week! πŸ˜€ The FANTASTIC news of the day is that the NFL lock out is OVER. (or at least almost…I think it’s supposed to be all resolved this morning.) As I’m sure you know by reading the blog, Craig & I are HUGE football fans. By HUGE, I mean as HUGE as HUGE can be πŸ˜‰ I mean he did propose to me on Ravens’ field before a game. πŸ˜€

Seriously the past couple of months have been a little bit of a bummer knowing that there might not be football. I KNEW they had to work it out though. (I mean there is SO much money involved in it too..so I knew they wouldn’t pass that up! Ha.)

Yesterday I decided not to do a post, instead I spent the day DISCONNECTED from everything! It was so nice taking a technology break. Sometimes it gets really overwhelming. I’m sure you know what I mean. I also needed some time with my husband. πŸ˜€

Saturday was spent knocking out a TON of stuff in the morning- I went grocery shopping, cleaned the house, did a load of laundry, worked out, and actually managed to take a shower. (I’m sure the people around me appreciated that πŸ˜‰ ) I was up at 5am, (my silly body doesn’t like me to sleep in) so I was able to do a lot even before 11am! Love that.

The rest of the afternoon was spending time with my MOST adorable nephew. I cannot get enough of him! Seriously.

Ethan LOVES the camera. He’s such a ham. I love it. He must take after his aunt πŸ˜‰ Every time I would pull out the camera to take his picture he would just sit perfectly still & put this HUGE grin on his face. Just seeing the flash was good times for him. We spent about an hour just taking pictures because he was having such a good time. πŸ™‚

He is ALREADY showing his manly instinct.

I was putting a show on for him (he loves Mickey Mouse Club House) & as soon as he spotted the remote he started reaching for it. I tried to hide it from him, but it was not working. He was on a mission to find it. As soon as he spotted it, he was as happy as could be. I was like, ‘Ethan you are ALREADY a remote hog…’ haha!

One of my favorite pictures was this one:

How CUTE is that?!? Kind of looks like it should be titledΒ ‘a boy and his best friend.’ πŸ™‚ Jake (the dog) is SO good with Ethan. He lets him crawl all over him, and Ethan cannot get enough of Jake. He looks at Jake & just starts giggling and he immediately crawls to him. I know as soon as Ethan starts to get bigger & can actually play with Jake that they are going to be inseparable!! πŸ˜€

After I was done baby sitting Ethan I went to meet up with my friend Cori to catch up. We hadn’t seen each other in a few weeks, so it was nice to spend some time with her. πŸ™‚

It was a really fun day! Yesterday was a really good day too. We woke up pretty early and I was trying to find something new for breakfast. I spotted these Blueberry Cornbread Muffins on Kristen’s blog earlier last week and I KNEW that I had to make them asap! I’m sure you have heard about my cornbread addiction. I love the stuff. I’m positive that Court knews EXACTLY what I mean about this cornbread addiction. πŸ˜‰

I decided to make these muffins for breakfast for the two of us. As I was prepping them, I realized that I only had a HALF of a cup of corn meal left. AHHH! I thought I had another container of it, but apparently I was wrong. Since I had already started the recipe, I figured I would just have to make a few changes! I had to use more flour than Kristen’s recipe called for to replace some of the corn meal, but they turned out really good. (I also made a few other changes. To see her original recipe, click here! )

Blueberry Cornbread Muffins
(adapted from Kristen’s Blueberry Cornbread Muffins)

Makes 12- 16Β muffins.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter, melted

1/4 cup natural applesauce

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup egg substitute

1 cup unsweetened coconut milk (or you could use almond milk)

1/2 cup cornmeal

1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/2 cupsΒ fresh blueberries, rinsed & patted dry

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Whisk together melted butter, applesauce, sugar and egg substituteΒ until smooth. Whisk in coconut milk.

2. In a separate bowl, combine cornmeal, flour, baking soda and salt. Add dry ingredients into wet ingredients in two batches, stirring until just incorporated after each batch. Gently fold in blueberries.

3. Fill paper-lined muffin tins 3/4 full. Top each of the muffins with a ‘squeeze’ of honey. (I just think that corn bread & honey go together perfectly πŸ™‚ ), then bake for 15 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

I love when the blueberries kind of explode when they are baking, makes for a cool picture πŸ˜‰

I suggest serving them warmΒ with a dollop of butter. Mmmmmmmmm.

You can wipe the drool off of your computer screen now. πŸ˜‰

Craig even told me that they really didn’t need any butter, or ANYTHING added to them. And coming from him, that means they must be REALLY good. He typically likes a little butter on any bread/ muffins/ toast that he eats. Two thumbs up from both of us!! πŸ˜€

Another good thing about these muffins is that there were leftovers!! So guess what I get to have for breakfast today?! Woohooo! Makes my Monday morning even more brighter!

Hope you all have a lovely day! Can you believe that it’s already the LAST week of July?!?!? Time has been FLYING lately. Next month is going to be a REALLY good month though- there are some special birthdays that I know of…including my hubby’s, my blog bestie‘sΒ and my sister’s! I CANNOT wait πŸ˜€

PS: 5 months until Christmas. Better start your shopping. I’m TOTALLY kidding!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. drool worthy, why yes!!! and i can’t believe its already almost august. My birthday is this week, scary. closer to 30!

    Reply
  2. Oh girl, I TOTALLY know what you mean with that addiction! Those muffins look amazing! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. Coconut milk makes EVERYTHING better =D hehe. Those look soooo moist and fluffy though!

    Reply
  4. Yummers! Glad you enjoyed the muffins – and your nephew is ADORABLE! Little boys are soooooo cute! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  5. I haven’t had blueberry muffins in ages. They look delish. And good for you for disconnecting. I really really need to give that a try!

    Reply
  6. Your nephew is adorable:)

    Reply
  7. Blueberry cornbread? What a yum combo!

    Can you give us an update on the dogs?

    Reply
    • The one with the wound saw a vet, she is doing VERY well- the wound was MUCH better than they thought- heeling nicely πŸ™‚
      But, they all still need homes 😦
      All of the local fosters/ shelters are full because of the bad economy- they cannot take on anymore. So we are trying to get them homes ASAP. I have been posting it on my Facebook all of the time, and so has my friend. I’m hoping for the best.

      Reply
  8. Those muffins look soo good! And so moist!

    And the pics of your nephew are too cute! I got to spend time with my little nieces yesterday, and we had a great time. I think the 5 year old is going to come to our house later this week for a pizza and movie night. I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. aaaah. I’m ready for my life to slow down! My BFF’s wedding is July 29th, so I’ll be relieved when August comes. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Oh yum those muffins look and sound awesome! Corn bread is soooo yummy :). OMG I can’t believe there are 5 months til christmas! haha…where has this year gone already?

    Reply
  11. those look so good!! they remind me of my mom’s πŸ™‚ minus the coconut milk, she’s not that hip πŸ˜‰

    -courtney

    Reply
  12. THOSE LOOK SOOOO YUMMY πŸ™‚

    Reply
  13. To echo comments above, those sure do look mouth-watering. It is midnight and I am drooling πŸ˜‰ PS – Ethan is adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

