Full of Fiber?

HAPPY FRIDAY!! 😀

Are you doing the Friday happy dance too…or am I the only weirdo?! 😉

Before I start my post, I just want to give you a little warning…you might not want to read this while eating. I promise it’s not too gross, but I just wanted to throw it out there 😉

Anyways, I don’t know about you, but when I shop at the grocery store I always try to buy the healthiest items. I don’t really go for ‘fat free’ or ‘sugar free’ items, only because they tend to be full of artificial ingredients. BUT, I do try to pick lower calorie items, or things that aren’t too processed.

Well, I needed to buy tortillas for a recipe (I have it posted below) & I KNOW how most tortillas are SO processed & whole wheat ones are sometimes hard to find. The only tortillas that I could find were these:

For most people these are GREAT!! I know a ton of people that really like them! I agree, I think the flavor is really good & they are low calorie- only 80 calories per tortilla, rather than like 150- 200 calories. They do NOT taste like cardboard (like some can), they really taste like actual tortillas!

Well, the only thing that I FAILED to look at…or rather pay attention to was this:

Yes, 12 grams of fiber. Sounds good, right?! Here’s the problem: For people with Crohn’s disease we avoid fiber like it’s the PLAGUE! We do NOT need any help ‘getting things to flow’ if ya know what I mean! 😉 (sorry for the TMI!)

I used the tortillas anyways, hoping for the best…well, ‘the best’ did not happen. I’m not going to go into details, as I imagine some of you are probably eating breakfast. (again, sorry..but I did warn ya 😉 ) But my stomach was NOT a happy camper. I think it decided to REVOLT.

But now I know that I cannot eat these tortillas, otherwise I will pay!! Haha 😀

Today I have another Mama Pea recipe to share with you! 🙂 I told ya, she has been my saving grace. I haven’t found a recipe that I don’t like! I’m excited to try some new recipes this weekend too…and even some dessert recipes!! I should have the Peas & Thank You cookbook by Saturday (hopefully I will get it today!!! :D)  & I can’t wait to just sit and read it 🙂

Craig & I were both craving Mexican food on Tuesday. We both enjoy ‘taco Tuesday’, but I kind of wanted to put a spin on the typical taco…so inside I made quesadillas!

I have copied the recipe directly from Mama Pea’s website below- any notes that I have written are in purple! 🙂

Summer Succotash Quesadillas with Nacho Mmmm Sauce

Ingredients (Serves 4-6)

  • 8 whole grain tortillas
  • 1 c. non-dairy (i.e. Daiya pepper jack) or organic cheese

For the Succotash Filling:

  • 1 sweet onion, sliced
  • 1 ear of corn (I used a 1/2 can of corn because the grocery store I went to that day didn’t have any corn on the cob…what the heck?!)
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 zucchini, cut into half moons (<–love that description- half moons 🙂 )
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 2 t. lemon or lime juice
  • 1/2 t. maple syrup or agave
  • 1/2 t. cumin
  • salt and pepper, to taste

For the Nacho Mmmm Sauce:

  • 2/3 c. jarred salsa
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/4 c. raw almonds
  • 1/4 c. garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 c. nutritional yeast (I used nutritional yeast flakes..but I think it’s the same thing..? not sure- but they worked well!)
  • 2 T. lemon juice
  • 1 t. minced garlic
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 t. dried cilantro or 1 –2 T. fresh cilantro

Instructions

For the Succotash Filling:
  • Place a large skillet sprayed with cooking spray or lightly coated with oil over medium high heat. Add onion and cook for 7-8 minutes, until softened and starting to brown.
  • Meanwhile, slice your veggies and strip that corn on the cob of all self-respect.
  • Add corn, red pepper and zucchini to the pan with the onion, along with garlic, water, lemon juice, maple syrup or agave and cumin.
  • Cook the succotash down for an additional 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

For the Nacho Mmmm Sauce:

  • Combine salsa, water, almonds, garbanzo beans, nutritional yeast, lemon juice, garlic, salt, chili powder, cumin and cilantro in a food processor or high speed blender.
  • Blend until smooth.
  • Refrigerate until serving,
  • Place another large skillet sprayed with cooking spray or lightly coated with oil over medium high heat and add one tortilla to the pan. Top with 2 tablespoons of grated cheese.
  • Add about 1/3 c. of succotash filling,
  • Top with another 2 tablespoons of cheese and another tortilla.
  • Cook for several minutes on each side, until tortilla is crisp and cheese is melty.
  • Repeat with remaining tortillas, cheese and filling.
  • Serve with Nacho Mmmm Sauce.

The last picture above is to emphasize how MUCH mmmm sauce was used on each quesadilla. It was a LOT. We were dunking each bite into the sauce as well. Just couldn’t get enough.

I think Mama Pea needs to create an ‘Mmmm Sauce Eaters Annomous’ asap! I can’t get enough of the stuff! As you know I just made her ‘Peanut Mmmm sauce’ the other day too..and I plan to make another recipe with Mmmm sauce this weekend. Oh boy! I’ll be the first to sign up for Mmmm Sauce Eaters Annomous..just hand me the pen! 😉

I loved hearing everyone’s comments about HIIT yesterday!! Honestly I have grown to LOVE HIIT. It takes time to build up, but once you do you won’t want to switch back to slow, steady cardio.

Well, I hope you have a FANTASTIC Friday!!! 😀 WOOHOO!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. ittybitsofbalance

     /  July 29, 2011

    I have got to get around to making this mmm sauce!

    Happy Friday 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  2. Gah sorry to hear about your umm stomach issues 😦 Never fun! But at least you know never ever to eat something like that again! I obviously don’t have chrons but anything with that much fiber kills me too! Fiber one Bars? Yeah, will never eat one again! Unless I don’t want to be around people for several hours following the meal…
    Anyway haha, thank you for this recipe! I haven’t tried that sauce but it does look rather tasty and I have seen it a few times across the ole blog world
    Have a lovely weekend Holly!

    Reply
  3. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  July 29, 2011

    Great recipe! Can’t wait to get her book! Maybe I’ll do that on my break. I need to know… what does nutritional yeast TASTE like?! ACtually, I’ll just email you back today and ask! Ha!

    Reply
  4. I love those tortillas….so good!!! Feel better sweet Holly!

    Reply
  5. Now that’s my kind of quesadilla. I love that brand of tortillas too.

    Reply
  6. This looks delicious! I’ve always heard everyone talking about mmm sauce. I definitely need to check it out 🙂

    Reply
  7. I need to get the Mama Pea cookbook! Her recipes sound amazing!! I’m so sorry to hear about your high fiber experience…I’ve seen that happen to my bro- not fun!

    Reply
  8. Hey girl! I have Crohn’s too…it’s NOT fun and things like Fiber One bar, etc. are the enemy!!

    Reply
  9. I’m in love with those tortillas — so much so that they even sent me some…the little ones are only 50cals and taste oh so good.

    Mexi meals are the best — wanna have me over for dinner next time you make them?

    Did you find the Unisa shoes?

    Reply
  10. I loveeee those tortillas! I miss them so much since going GF. 😦

    Reply
  11. Holy yummy!!

    Reply
  12. Ahh, I totally just ate one of those tortillas in the form of a wrap for lunch a few minutes ago!

    Reply
  13. Sorry for your tummy troubles. 😦 I don’t have as many problems as some people do in the digestive area, but it sure is miserable when problems do hit!

    Reply
  14. I thought of you as we drove through your part of FL last night =)

    And yeah those high fiber wraps kill me too :X They are kind of ummmm…extreme LOL

    Reply
  15. Oh nooooo. Well-I must say I am a fan of them. Blerg. Your recipe with them looks like the bomb.com. Half the reason I lvoe your blog Holly is that you are not afraid to post things like this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

