Mama Pea’s Blueberry Scones

Good Sunday Morning to you!!

I cannot wait until Sunday morning means that shortly FOOTBALL will be on. πŸ™‚ For now we wait until September…but it’s not very long!

This morning happened to be one of those perfect Sunday mornings. The kind of Sunday where you just wake up, have a cup of coffee & then enjoy a MOST delicious breakfast.

As soon as I got Mama Pea’s cookbook on Friday, I knew that I had to try ALL of the recipes. But, then I have to remind myself that I need to take it recipe by recipe- there is no way that I can cook everything in the cookbook in one day. Even though I’d like to! πŸ™‚

I decided to start with ‘Life’s Not Fair Blueberry Scones.’ I had just picked up some fresh blueberries from the grocery store, and already had some dairy free cream cheese in the refrigerator. All of the other ingredients needed are staples in my kitchen. Blueberry scones just scream Sunday morning breakfast to me! They sound so fancy and something that I would only typically get in a restaurant. But luckily for me (& all other owners of the ‘Peas & Thank You cookbook) Mama Pea makes it easy to create these scones!

One of my absolute favorite things about her cookbook is all of the stories that go along with the recipes. They have me cracking up!! If you love her blog, then you will LOVE her cookbook even more!!

The only more challenging step (if you can even call it that) was that you had to knead the dough before putting it on the pan to bake. But, trust me, I put the parentheseses in there for a reason….it’s NOT challenging at all! Just make sure that you add enough flour to the surface before kneading..otherwise it will stick to whatever you are using. Also be sure to flour you hands.

Once they come out of the oven you will probably ‘ooooo’ & ‘ahhhhh’ just like I did. They look like something that you WOULD get at a restaurant!

The pops of blueberries everywhere, and the golden brown color seem to just say ‘you are about to bite into something incredible!’ But before you bite into one….make sure you add the glaze!

Yes, the glaze is key!

I suggest enjoying them while reading the Sunday paper & sipping your coffee. Mmmmm!

You could also eat them while talking to your husband about how much you cannot wait to eat a second one….that may or may not of been meΒ πŸ˜‰

I mean it IS Sunday morning…(& tomorrow is Monday- ew!) so why not savor every last bite! πŸ™‚

Enjoy your Sunday! I’m off to eat another scone go layout by the pool!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I can’t wait to get my book in the mail tomorrow!!!

    Reply
  2. Those look great! Definitely the perfect Sunday morning breakfast. I really need to pick up a copy of Mama Pea’s book!

    Reply
  3. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  July 31, 2011

    Got her book yesterday and totally agree- the stories MAKE the recipes! Looks great!

    Reply
  4. looks like a fun book!

    Reply
  5. Well done, my friend. Can’t thank you enough for the love!

    Reply
  6. Those look amazing!

    Reply
  7. Mmm, blueberry scones are my favorite – and I’m sure her recipe is on point! I’m very tempted to go buy the cookbook.

    Reply
  8. This looks awesome! I buying her book today:)

    Reply
  9. Looks so good. I’ve only had scones once – I think it was cranberry.

    Reply
  10. Oh my gosh I can’t wait to make those! I just got her cookbook a few days ago :). We made her apple cinnamon pancakes this morning- they were amazing!

    Reply
  11. Those look awesome! Feel free to ship some over to Wapakoneta, Ohio . K, thanks. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  12. I am loving all of the Mama Pea recipes I am seeing floating around the blogosphere! I guess its time for me to invest in a new cookbook πŸ™‚

    Reply
  13. Congrats on winning the autographed book! I just saw it on my google reader. Why am I up at 12:37 am when I need to wake up at 7am telling you this???? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  1. Blog is the New Black » Blog Archive » Mediterranean Zucchini Boats

Leave a Reply

