Not a Girly Girl

Hey there friends 😀

Hope you are off to a good start…and that you are happily sipping your morning coffee! 🙂 I don’t know about you, but coffee is definitely one of my favorite parts of the morning. I don’t start drinking it until I get to work (around 8:30am) & have been able to just drink ONE cup now! That is a HUGE improvement…I used to be able to down 3 cups, no problem! Not that there is anything wrong with coffee, but my intake of it was getting a bit out of hand! Hot coffee in the morning- up to 3 cups; Iced coffee in the afternoon- typically 16oz. Not only was it getting out of hand, but it was getting EXPENSIVE!

I always brew my own hot coffee, but would typically run to Starbucks for my afternoon fix. Starbucks OWNED my bank account! (ok, not really, but it felt like that sometimes!) The other part of it all, was that I wasn’t getting those ‘fancy’ drinks from Starbucks..I always order black coffee- in the morning & afternoon. I really could just brew my own (like I do now) but always thought nothing of blowing $3 here & there. But it really does start to ADD up quickly!

Speaking of spending money….
Ok, so I have a confession & a bit of a tangent.. so I hope you don’t mind hearing about it! I’m so NOT a girly girl. I do not enjoy getting my hair done. How weird is that?? I know most girls LOVE when they have a hair appointment, but I honestly do not enjoy it. I wait until I REALLY need to go ..and then I’ll schedule an appointment. The only reason that I really go is because I like the girl that does my hair, and I’m friends with her. Otherwise I would probably never go. That’s the truth. I’m so bad!

I just hate spending so much money on my HAIR. I mean it’s hair. I know, I know, it’s a statement & it DOES make me feel better when I have newly done hair. 🙂 I just never really cared about it (or took care of it- BAD Holly!!) until I started to see my hair stylist. She is AWESOME & on point with everything!

Let me explain why I’m not really into ‘getting my hair did.’ 😉 I just really have such FINE, THIN hair..that there is not much that I can do with it.

^see, like no hair!

I like when my hair is done, I just don’t like sitting through the process. But I do like when it’s done! 🙂 I also am not such a fan of the COST of getting your hair done! It’s CRAZY how expensive it can get!! As you can see from the picture above, I have like NO hair..and my total price yesterday was $150!!!!!! Eek! THANK GOODNESS I only spend that every other month. I mean I did get high lights, a TINY trim & a treatment to help with the growth…but I’m just in SHOCK at how much hair upkeep can be! I know it’s that expensive anywhere you go, but it still kills me.

Of course I do like when it’s done…even if it was $150! 🙂

And don’t make fun of my zits! I feel like the are all over my face. Eek! My hormones are going CRAZY right now..and, NO I’m not pregnant. We’ll save the hormone topic for another day 😉 Oh, and doesn’t this photo look like a head shot for a business card or something?? Haha 😀

So the other morning I did the workout from H-E-double hockeysticks! I thought my lungs were going to explode…or that I was going to fall off the treadmill. I got the workout from Naomi @ One Fit Foodie – told ya, she has some of my favorite workouts! 🙂

Check out Naomi’s post about the workout! Ok, seriously, this may LOOK easy, but remember looks can be deceiving…VERY deceiving. I remembered reading on Naomi’s blog that it was KILLER…but we I looked at it, I was like ‘eh, I can do that.’ Boy did I kid myself!!! Yes, I did it. & YES, it KILLED. Craig even walked over to the treadmill that I was on & looked at me, made a face & walked away. He made the face because I was DRIPPING with sweat. Sounds appealing, right?! 😉

And remember that workout that I shared with you on Monday? The leg & glute one..? Well, guess what? I’m STILL SO sore from that workout. I seriously do NOT want to do another leg day until next week..that’s how sore I am! Goodness. I don’t think I’ve ever stayed this sore for so long…but it probably doesn’t help that I’m still doing CRAZY workouts like the one above with the intense inclines. Good thing it’s a GOOD sore, rather than an ‘I’m hurt’ kind of sore.

Well, today I thought I would show you my favorite pictures from our wedding ceremony that we just got back from our photographer! 🙂

<–CUTEST ring bearer & flower girl EVER








…and we’re married!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

After writing this post, I’ve realized that it is TOTALLY random. Hope you don’t mind…guess my mind was just all over the place! 🙂 I hope you have a great day though! We are half way through the week guys! I can’t believe it- feels like this week has gone fast…at least to me 🙂

Questions for you:
1. Do you enjoy ‘girly’ things like getitng your hair & nails done? I actually am not that big of a fan of getting my nails done either- I know…what in the world is wrong with me?! 😉 I am just SO ticklish, so pedicures do NOT feel good..more like the opposite. I just prefer to do my nails myself.
2. Any secret remedies for getting pimples to go away? I have heard toothpaste- like just to sleep with a drop of it on the pimple & it helps it dry it out. Doesn’t work that well, in my opinion..but maybe I’m using the wrong toothpaste..?
3. Do you like the ‘good sore’ feeling from your workouts? When do you get the most sore? (like what muscle)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. ittybitsofbalance

     /  August 3, 2011

    I feel you on the thin hair! I grab all of my hair and I feel as if I’m still making a fist haha 😦 I tell all of my friends to savor my hair now because I’m going to be bald soon.

    ..Maybe I should stop saying that– I might just be jinxing myself :X

    Yey for the thin hair club!

    Reply
  2. I LOVE getting my hair done!!!!!!! And nails!! I love pampering, all that good stuff!!

    I can’t see a single zit, you crazy woman!!!! Maybe you need to switch your face cleanser?!

    Reply
  3. Blah, I’m not a girly girl either. I hate shopping, curling hair, dressing up, etc. lol

    Reply
  4. I am not much a girly girl either. Woah 150 for hair! I have too thick of hair and I’m always shedding on someone or something. It’s terrible.

    Reply
  5. I have lots of hair but it is so fine that is looks like I have none and it always falls flat.

    I am not at all a girly girl. I was a huge tomboy up until high school. Even then I sore sweats all the time.

    I love being sore. Especially my glutes, hamstrings and quads. Obviously we are talking the good sore here.

    Reply
  6. I do not see a single zit on your face! You are beautiful : ) The thing that always works for me, though is from the Body Shop–there is this stick that you can use to put on zits, and they seriously disappear overnight! Here is the link: http://www.thebodyshop-usa.com/skin-care/face-eye-treatments/tea-tree-blemish-gel.aspx

    Getting my nails done is always a joke with my family–I wait until they are all chipped and there are little tiny dots of polish on my hands until I go and get them fixed (per my mom’s and boyfriend’s request)! I also run a lot, so my feet are horrible with callouses and blisters…let’s just say they know me at the nail studio…..

    Reply
    • LOL! I ALWAYS feel bad for the lady that gets stuck doing my feet. Even though they swear they aren’t bad, I feel like they are just being nice- haha 😀
      & THANK you for the link- I’m checking it out now!!! 🙂

      Reply
  7. My hair is usually 90$ plus tip because my friend does it and doesn’t always charge me for everything! 🙂 and I have a lot of hair so I guess that is a pretty good price!

    Reply
  8. I love your hair! I wish I could get mine cut like that. Unfortunately, my hair is way too thick, curly and frizzy. It would never work. 😉

    I like getting my hair done sometimes. I like getting my nails and toes done. I just hate waiting for the polish to dry.

    Reply
  9. I’m a girly girl. I love makeup, having my hair done, painting my nails, shoes, and clothes…and purses, accessories, etc 😉

    Reply
  10. I really like girly things but I don’t like the price for them though! That is why I stopped getting my hair highlighted it is just too expensive for my college budget! I am feeling very sore today actually and all I did yesterday was a dvd workout! I think the soreness is because I started running hills this week, too! I’m doing yoga today and I hope it stretches my muscles out:)

    Reply
  11. Amy

     /  August 3, 2011

    I love to be sore after a workout I feel like a had a good workout if i’m sore. i’m a hairstylist and i hear ya on the prices, it is expensive although I’m bad and go outside the salon I work at to get my hair done so its more a relaxing experience plus my hairs baby fine too(frog fuzz), and I’m super picky about my hilites being fine or it looks ridiculous on my thin hair

    Reply
  12. your highlights look really really good. the colors remind me of my hair. still loving all the pics – you guys look incredibly happy! 🙂

    Reply
  13. I’m a pretty girly girl, but I don’t like getting my hair done because my hair is thin, splits, and is blah..and I too spend upwards of $150..oye.

    Keep the awesome wedding photos coming lovely!

    Reply
  14. The pics are so beautiful! I think I’m pretty much a girly girl, I love getting my nails and hair done 🙂

    Reply
  15. Well, I love your “randomness” because that is exactly how my brain works. For the girly girl part, its only been now that I’ve even wanted to be remotely girlie! I like painting my nails, but dislike painting my toes, and as for my hair….I’m not sure. Mine is super fine like yours…and short…so there isn’t much to do with mine. I just like accessorizing with jewelry and fingernail colors!

    LOVE the post muscle soreness! I have been slacking so much recently and am looking forward to a bodypump class tonight to be able to feel that soreness again! Makes me feel like I did something!

    Loved your wedding pics! So beautiful!

    Reply
  16. I have the same issue! I hate spending so much money on my hair because it is so fine and thin, that no matter what I do, it never looks GREAT. I do like getting my nails done, but generally can’t justify the price.

    Reply
  17. I must confess that I do like girly things because it’s easier than doing them myself – i like for my nails to look pretty but don’t like to do them myself. So the quickest thing is to get them done. LOVE getting my hair done – I always plan an evening out after because I know my hair will never look so good for a long time!

    Reply
  18. Getting my hair done isn’t my favorite thing either. I have a lot of hair so it takes too darn long! I can’t sit still. But I don’t mind a quick pedicure – I change my nailpolish way too much to pay to get them painted!

    If you try the toothepaste thing, make sure to NOT use whitening toothepaste. And I love when my abs are sore. haha

    Reply
  19. You look gorgeous in your wedding photos! I am a sometimes girly girl haha. I do like to get my hair done and my nails done, but I don’t always look or dress like a girly girl. I would rather be cute and comfortable! As for the zits, using a benzoyl (sp?) peroxide spot treatment has always worked best for me…but be careful because it can bleach and stain things!

    Reply
  20. Bonnie

     /  August 3, 2011

    Your hair looks great! Those wedding photos are beautiful as well– you guys look so happy!

    I don’t see any zits either! I use Azelex cream, which is from my dermatologist, and it’s worked for me since high school, haha 🙂

    LOVE the muscle soreness. I usually get the most sore at that place where your arm and chest kinda meet.

    Reply
  21. I love getting my hair done, but I am with you…it is soooo expensive sometimes. I usto get my nails and toes done, but I can’t really afford it anymore, I wish I could. I love a good sore feeling after a hard workout, the only thing I hate about being to sore though is that it might effect my next workout.

    Reply
  22. You’re gorgeous, and I see no zits … for real. And even though I consider myself a total girly-girl, I don’t like sitting still to get my hair and nails done. And I hate spending the money on it. But I do it anyways, because I always feel better after haha.

    Reply
  23. Love the random post 🙂 That’s basically how my brain operates – 15 thoughts at once.

    Not a girly girl at all! Although I do like getting dressed up every once in awhile – but the whole nails/hair thing, not me – maybe it’s all those years of being a swimmer!

    I always use toothpaste – the basic stuff, not the fancy gels or anything.

    Reply
  24. Chandale

     /  August 3, 2011

    I’m not a girly girl…but I find it relaxing to have my hair done….and love the finished product after having my nails done but not the process. I can’t remember when I had my hair or nails done last and that’s okay. Your hair looks great btw.

    I think I read somewhere that lemon may help zits?

    I don’t like sore muscles…but know that the last time I couldn’t move very well was after a P90x workout. That was over a year ago;)

    Reply
  25. Chandale

     /  August 3, 2011

    Oh, and I also love the pictures, especially the ring bearer and flower girl! I need to order some for their scrapbooks and maybe the one of Shawn dancing too;)

    Reply
  26. Heather Brooks

     /  August 9, 2011

    I do LUV me a pedicure…I’d go every month if I could. I wait on getting my hair cut, too, though….like months! I always say, “Oh, I’ll just grow it out this time,” but I never do. I like getting it done in the moment but I don’t think about it and get all excited about it. lol And YES, P90X whips my a–! That’s what makes me the “sorest.” LOL

    Reply
  1. Just the Two of Us « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

