Keeping it Fun & Weird Habits

Happy Friday Friday Friday!! πŸ˜€ (you know that goofy song?!)

Sorry there was no post yesterday, I actually took a step back from the good ol’ blog. I was talking to Liz the other day and how sometimes it is really hard for me to get a post together. It’s just that right now I’m really busy at work (the stock markets have been a little crazy lately – and I work in finance…so I’m sure can can imagine- it’s been an interesting week.) & when I come home I just want to sit on the couch and hang out with Craig.

I almost feel obligated to write a post, and I do NOT want it to be that way..I want to enjoy blogging. She made a really good point- (here’s what she said to me) “I mean at the end of the day, you are accountable to NO ONE!Β  In 10 years, will
you care more about the time you spent with Craig, etc. or the blog post youΒ slaved over?Β  You know?Β  I def am not giving up on my blog but I am slowing down because life is too busy, and it’s not like blogging is my career!Β  People understand.Β  πŸ™‚Β ”

Isn’t that awesome advice?? Sometimes I fail to step back & THINK about things from that point of view- looking at the whole situation 10 years from now. Of course the most important thing to me is my family. My husband should come first, not my blog post.

Needless to say, I’m not going to freak out if I don’t get a post done. I want to blog because I WANT to blog…do you know what I mean? I don’t want to blog out of obligation. I want to enjoy it. It’s NOT my career, it’s something that I do for fun & I want to continue to make it fun!

So thank you Liz for putting things in to perspective!! You know I love ya πŸ˜€

I have big news. Well, big news for me at least. πŸ™‚ I have a new friend. (<–please notice I am wearing a Ravens shirt…you know what kicked off last night right?! PRESEASON FOOTBALL BABY πŸ˜€ Woop Woop!)

I did it. I finally got a DSLR!!!!!!!! To say I’m excited would be an understatement for sure.

I have been wanting one of these cameras way before I started blogging. I have always admired them & on every Sunday you could find me looking through the ads to see if there were any good deals on DSLRs. Those days are now over πŸ˜€

I love photography. I had an awesome photography teacher in high school (she was actually my favorite teacher EVER), and she is the one that introduced me to the hobby of photography. Way before the blog I always had my camera with me wherever I went, I just loved being able to capture moments right when they happened. πŸ™‚

I’m looking forward to learning all about this camera & taking LOTS of pictures!!! πŸ˜€

Anyways, I have an interesting topic for you. I was listening to the radio on the way to work the other day & they brought up ‘weird habits or routines that people have.’ It was SUPER easy for me, I knew exactly what my weird habit was- cleaning my ears with q-tips ALL of the time.

I don’t know what it is, but I ALWAYS clean my ears…at least 3- 4 times a day. I carry q-tips in my car, have them in my office, in my car..and of course at my house. I don’t want to be without my q-tips! Eek!

Also ear wax FREAKS.ME.OUT. I don’t know what it is, but seeing it gives me the hee-bee jee-bees. YUCK. My lovely husband thinks that it is hilarious to talk about it because it creeps me out. He also doesn’t clean his ears everyday. EW. I have NO idea how he does it. I can barely go an hour without cleaning my ears (ok, I may be exaggeratingΒ a bit πŸ˜‰ let’s say 2 hours. Ha!), but he doesn’t clean them for a few days. He says that it’s ‘bad to clean them.’ I don’t know where he gets his facts! Crazy boy πŸ˜‰

I know it’s totally NOT normal to be this obsessed with cleaning my ears…but it’s a habit I just can’t break. I’ve been that way pretty much my whole life…well, ever since I learned about q-tips!

Do you any weird habits?? Do you know why you do what you do? (if you do in fact have a weird habit!) If you don’t have one, or can’t think of one, do you know someone with a weird habit?

Guess I need to get my butt in gear- time to get ready for work! I’m looking forward to this weekend!! I think I told you guys, but I’m having a birthday party for Craig on Saturday- I can’t wait! We are all just going to cook out & hang out by the pool all day! Should be a really good time..and I have some goodies to share with you that I plan on making for the party!! πŸ˜€

Have a GREAT day!! Tell me your plans for the weekend!

Oh and ONE year ago today Craig proposed to me on Raven’s field. One of the VERY best days of my life. My wedding day is the only day that tops that day.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Aw, congrats on the DSLR! You will LOVE that thing! It has so much more control than a point and shoot!

    Hahaha that’s hilarious about the q-tips.

    Reply
  2. Liz is so right. Blogging should not feel like an obligations, but more of a privilege and outlet. I totally feel ya! We love ya no matter how many times you post. My blog has been down for almost a week and I don’t think I’ll get it back till next week. You know what I realized during this time?? I need to spend more time with my hubs.
    Happy Friday and congrats on teh DSLR

    Reply
  3. You got some great advice about blogging! I used to feel that I had to post, but once I started grad school last year, I realized that school came first because it’s more important! Even this summer, life has been crazy busy and I don’t think I’ve posted in over a week. But, I’ve had more time to hang out with friends, family, and my boyfriend, and I don’t regret not writing any posts πŸ™‚ Congrats on getting your new camera and I hope you have a wonderful day!!

    Reply
  4. congrats on the 1 year.
    i always feel obligated too but sometimes i just cannot.
    i have the q-tip thing too!! i am the same way about ear wax lol!

    Reply
  5. Take all the time you’ll need, I’ll read whenever you post! πŸ™‚

    I bought a DSLR camera over the winter, and I love it. Pictures are so much more crisp, and bright!

    Reply
  6. Seeeee?!! I told you peeps would understand! Plus, we love reading about your life but we want YOU to love writing about your life!! We’re all in the same boat.

    And cleaning your ears that much cannot be good for you, my friend… πŸ˜‰

    You didn’t tell me about the camera!!! We’re in a fight!!!! JK, that’s awesome!!!! YAY!

    Reply
  7. I agree 100%. Real life comes first and that means family, friends, etc. I’m a firm believer in clean ears too πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  8. I love your engagement pic everytime I see it! πŸ™‚

    I have too many weird habits to name, but I guess a similar one to yours is my obsessive teeth brushing – people at work make fun!

    Reply
  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  August 12, 2011

    I know what you mean about the ear wax! I’m not a huge fan of having waxy ears either, but I’ve actually heard that its not very good to clean them often. Something about the wax being pushed back inside your ears and clogging your ear tunnel?

    I still do it, so who knows.. haha
    Also, congrats on the DSLR! Yeyyyy!

    Reply
  10. That is so exciting that you got a new camera! I would love to buy a dslr…but currently I don’t have near enough money to spend on that haha. Good for you for taking a day off from blogging! I will be tomorrow and Sunday because Chris and I will be driving down to Florida.

    Reply
  11. I am the exact opposite in that I think the day Keith proposed is better than my wedding day. I loved my wedding but to me the wedding is just the result of a decision. And that decision (when Keith asked me to be his wife) was more special than the wedding.

    Reply
  12. I’m so happy for you and your husband πŸ™‚ Happy one year proposal anniversary!

    I am the. same. way. as you with Q-Tips except mine is brushing my teeth. I carry around those wisps with me and always brush my teeth like 3-4 times a day. I even have a toothbrush/tooth paste in my car lol.

    Oh, and I beliiiiiieve the Eagles kicked butt last night. Just sayin’ πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  13. You crack me up! I’m an every day ear cleaner, but the hubby is like once per week! Ick! I don’t get it either, but you better believe I’m raising my baby boy to clean his ears every single day!

    Reply
  14. BB

     /  August 12, 2011

    i agree with Liz, we love your blog, but we can miss you for a couple of days! πŸ˜‰ congrats on the new camera – im jealous! as for the ear thing i’m with you – i love a q-tip! not sure what is wrong with men, but we love them anyway πŸ˜‰ love ya!

    Reply
  15. Jen

     /  August 12, 2011

    Holly! Cleaning your ears IS bad for you – I know how you feel though, I have to clean mine every time I take a shower. But Craig is right… just take a look at this short transcript from an NPR interview: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=94855186

    Reply
    • kathryn

       /  August 12, 2011

      I agree. The wax is actually pushed into the ear canal, which causes more harm.

      Reply
  16. AH! I just went back and read your engagement story (it was definitely not my first time reading it LOLLLL) and now I’m all teary! I love how you have so many pictures of it! You are so funny about the ear wax! Everything under the sun grosses me out but for some reason that doesn’t! -Jamie

    Reply
  17. Awed I remember when he first proposed so freaking cute. I do agree Holly-you don’t owe anyone a post so hopefully you can relax!

    Reply
  18. You will hate this…but I rarely clean my ears…I just kind of wipe them out with a towel. I hate q-tips, they scare me!!

    Awesome new camera!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  19. I used to do that tooooooooooooo!!!! Until I got a nasty ear infection (NOT from q-tipping…from a sinus infection! haha) and my ears hurt so bad I didn’t want to q-tip them for, like, WEEKS after the infection resolved. So now I only do it once every few days lol!

    Reply
  20. Hey pretty lady! Great post! I’m totally jealous of your camera. Mine broke weeks ago, and I’ve been using my MIL’s right now, which does NOT take good close-ups of my baked goods! πŸ˜› I’m searching for a new camera right now, but I don’t know how much I want to spend. :/

    And I love what you said about blogging. This summer when I wasn’t working, I was posting at least twice a day. Now that I’m back to work, doing even just one a day can be tricky. I try to work on a post when my husband is at the gym or golfing or something … because I do want to cherish our time together, rather than constantly hiding behind my computer screen! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  21. You know what I always say, Holls: “It’s my blog don’t tell me what to do. When life hands me lemons, I make beef stew.”

    I like your new cammy and am accepting bribes in the form of raven’s jerseys.

    Reply
  22. When I was younger and a regular ear cleaner I used to have problems with my ears. Now I clean them so rarely I can’t remember the last time I did and I don’t suffer from bad hearing or any ear problems any more! πŸ™‚ But after reading about your q-tip obsession I’ve got such an urge to clean them!

    Reply
  1. Craig’s Birthday Weekend « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

