Craig’s Birthday Weekend

Good Morning!

Happy new week to you πŸ™‚ This weekend was spent celebrating Craig’s birthday was which actually yesterday. His party was on Saturday though, I thought it was a better idea to have a party on Saturday rather than a Sunday.

Initially the party was going to be a surprise, but I ended up tellin Craig because it would of just been hard to get him to the house where I had the party planned. On Saturday morning I set up a tee time for him to go golfing with some of his friends, and while he was out golfing I was baking up a storm! πŸ™‚

I made him cupcakes…Ravens themed, of course!
<–Purple frosting πŸ˜‰

I don’t remember what we were watching last week, but on some show they had a cookie cake. Craig happened to mention how much he loves cookie cakes, so I made him a giant one for his birthday as well.

Topped off with tons of frosting!


(I ended up scraping off the yellow line- it was supposed to read ‘C-Mack’, & I thought the yellow would look good…but it looked weird, so I just used the Oreo frosting to make the line. )

These were all of the pictures that I took. Oops! I was honestly just enjoying the time with everyone, and just would of felt kind of weird whipping out my camera & taking tons of pictures. It was so much more relaxing just talking to everyone, rather than worrying about making sure that I got a bunch of pictures. Just another one of those things to keep blogging fun!

For food I bought a ton of hamburgers & hotdogs, and we grilled them. I also made some pasta salad, (so that I would have something to eat πŸ™‚ ) and bought a bunch of chips & dip. There was SO much food! I always overdue it with food, I swear…but I just would hate to run out of food rather than having too much.

I also brought over some watermelon, which has been my fruit of choice lately. I swear I eat at LEAST a 1/4 of a watermelon daily!

I also made another dish of chopped watermelon that I soaked overnight in this rum:

The soaked watermelon was a HIT!! Everyone kept saying how good it was & by the time we left there was none left. That’s always a good sign πŸ˜‰ That rum is PERFECT mixed with any type of melon- it just pairs so well with it. Remember those watermelon martinis? This was the same rum that I used to make those.

Since Craig’s birthday was actually on Sunday, I wanted to make sure it was special too. We started out the morning with birthday cinnamon rolls:

I’m sure you can guess which one is Craig’s. πŸ˜‰ I also made him an egg skillet full of peppers, onions, sausage & cheese. I had an egg white omelet STUFFED full of mushrooms.

I’m sure if my sister is reading this she is probably gagging a bit. She HATES mushrooms…but I happen to love them, as you can tell. πŸ™‚

Right after breakfast I gave Craig his birthday present, whichΒ were these:

Tickets to the Orioles vs. Rays game- we will obviously NOT be rooting for the home team. πŸ˜‰ I’m taking Craig away for labor day weekend to St. Petersburg (I have hotel reservations for a few nights) and part of it will be going to the O’s vs. Rays game! The last time we went we had a great time, so I thought it would be a fun little get-away.

The rest of the day we just went out to the pool to get some sun, caught up on some DVR-ed shows, and then I made him one of his favorite meals for dinner.

Salisbury Steak!

Here’s the recipe that I used:
(adapted from this recipe)
Ingredients:
1 (10.5 ounce) can condensed French onion soup
1Β pound ground beef
1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/4 cup ketchup
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon mustard powder

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix together 1/3 cup condensed French onion soup with ground beef, bread crumbs, egg, salt and black pepper. Shape intoΒ 4 patties.

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, brown both sides of patties. Pour off excess fat.

In a small bowl, blend flour and remaining soup until smooth. Mix in ketchup, water, Worcestershire sauce and mustard powder. Pour over meat in skillet. Cover, and cook for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.


Whenever Craig has Salisbury steak, he always has to have mashed potatos & peas with it. It’s just something that he has always done, so I just stick with it! πŸ™‚

Diving into his birthday dinner:

He also has a certain way that he must eat the meal as well. The mashed potatos & peas must be together..and then all of it must have extra gravy. Again, I don’t question him, I just let him do his thang πŸ˜‰

<–strategic placement.

As you know, I don’t eat beef, so I made myselfΒ a veggie burger instead of the salisbury steak.

Not quite as exciting, but it was still really good!

I know I’ve said it before, but the key to good mashed potatos is to add about a tablespoon of sugar to them. It makes them SO good. It sweetens them up just a bit, and really brings out the flavors. I also like to throw in a bit of butter, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and chives. YUM!

The rest of the night I caught up on Bachelor Pad (anyone else watching?? Favorites??)- I can’t believe it’s taking me forever to watch it, but then again it IS 3 hours. Eek! 3 hours is a LONG time to watch a show! It’s like Bachelor Pad the Movie. Ha!

We also watched our usual Dexter (catching up on the latest season on ShowtimeΒ before the new season starts) and Big Brother. Jeff and Jordan are still my favorites…they always have been. πŸ™‚

Anyways, time to tackle the new week! Hope you have a great day! πŸ™‚

Questions for you:
1. Have you been watching Bachelor Pad?
2. What is your FAVORITE meal?
3. Do you have any special requests for your birthday?

Leave a comment

29 Comments

  1. Sounds like Craig had a great birthday!! When I was a kid I sometimes picked salisbury steak for my birthday dinner too : )

    Reply
  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  August 15, 2011

    Aw looks like you had a great time, Holly. What is it about boys & cookie cakes? Will goes utterly nuts whenever I through the idea of making a cookie cake in front of him, let alone ANY other type of chocolate chip cookie.

    On my birthday I always love getting the ice cream cakes from Dairy Queen or Carvel… mmmmmmm πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. i think you just won wife of the year!! so fun. Glad he liked his weekend!

    Reply
  4. Oreo icing?? Did you eat it straight from the package? I would πŸ™‚ I’m sure you will have a great time at the tampa/balt game! I usually go to baltimore’s stadium (only about an hour away) to see the Yankees each year, but didn’t get to this year 😦

    Reply
  5. That looks like a great birthday for your lucky man! πŸ™‚

    I’ve NEVER seen Oreo frosting in a package. It is probably a good thing I haven’t, because I would probably eat the whole thing before I even got it to the check out line in the grocery store. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  6. What a great birthday Craig had! You are one nice lady Holly πŸ™‚
    I actually just saw that frosting for the first time the other day! Catch me at a weak moment and that stuff is going directly into my mouth haha
    Yes I have been watching Bachelor Pad, and yes, it’s awesomely bad πŸ˜€

    Reply
  7. Amy

     /  August 15, 2011

    My hubby and I are hooked on bachelor Pad we love it and dying for Dexter to get back on thats one of our favs too. Happy birthday to Craig!!!

    Reply
  8. Wahh. I wish I lived near you when it was my birthday. That seriously sounds fantastic. I have never heard of oreo icing but I’m thinking I would squeeze it right into my mouth. All.The.Time.

    Reply
  9. Wow…you are only like the best wife ever.

    Reply
  10. Sounds like an incredible bday weekend! Craig’s one lucky man πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  11. oh. my. gosh.. that omelet looks SO GOOD. I loooove mushrooms. and now you have me craving a mushroom calzone. real bad. πŸ˜‰ there’s nothing better than ricotta cheese and mushrooms!

    and you are so cute with all your ravens themed stuff. I hope I can find a husband who loves the phillies as much as I do. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  12. I need to investigate this Bachelor Pad show… even though I’m still 3 weeks behind on both True Blood and Entourage. Craig’s a lucky man! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  13. I have been watching BP — what a train wreck already. 3 hours was waaaaay too long though. Oye!

    My Bday request is always a pumpkin pie =)

    Reply
  14. Aww those cupcakes and cookie cake are so cute! Sounds like Craig had an awesome b-day weekend! You deserve a fabulous wife award :). My one request on my b-day is that I get my favorite cake from this place in my hometown!

    Reply
  15. James

     /  August 15, 2011

    Great Job Holly……I am a little nervous about being the lone wolf on this blog…Sounds like Craig had a great b-day weekend, and he confirmed (in a text msg)…..

    Reply
  16. Wow, amazing food overload!!! I think the cinnamon rolls were my favorite part of that awesome post. πŸ˜›

    I am watching Bachelor Pad, but I don’t know if hubby will agree to watch it tonight haha … I may have to watch it on abc.com another night, when he isn’t around. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  17. Love the cupcakes Holly! You’re such a great wife, Craig’s lucky to have you (I’m sure he knows πŸ™‚ )

    Reply
  18. Wow you should get the best wife ever award! Look at all that baking you did!

    As for the show you saw a cookie cake on, could it have been Unwrapped? I’m watching it right now, and there was a cookie cake! πŸ™‚

    Everything in this post looks delicious but for some reason, I find myself gravitating towards those cinnamon rolls! Love the sprinkles – too cute!

    Watching Bachelor Pad and multitasking as we speak!

    Reply
  19. You are such a wonderful! Tell Craig Happy Belated Birthday! I always want ice cream cake on my birthday!

    Reply
  20. Erin

     /  August 16, 2011

    So glad Craig enjoyed his birthday πŸ™‚ It was great seeing you guys this weekend.

    Salisbury Steak… not what I would have chosen but I’m ALL about peas and mashed taters smoothered in gravy – YUM!!! Your breakfast on the other hand… that’s just NASTY!

    Love you πŸ™‚

    Reply
  21. Happy birthday to Craig!!

    Reply
  22. Athena's_Daughter

     /  August 17, 2011

    yum! that cookie cake looks amazing!! i have such a sweet tooth! haha

    Reply
  1. Healthified Cupcakes for my Intern | The Sometimes Healthy Living Blog

Leave a Reply

