Fighting a Fever

Good Morning!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Liz!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Hope you guys are feeling better than I am. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know what the heck is going on with me, but I have had a fever for the past 2 days, and I have had to call into work. I honestly HATE calling into work for being sick. I don’t know why, but I feel so guilty. I know I shouldn’t, but I do..I just feel like I should be there.

When I checked my temperature this morning it was 101.2. Ugh. Other than this fever, I pretty much feel ok…just a little dizziness and stomach issues. But the stomach issues are nothing new. Ifย my fever doesn’t go down by this afternoon then I’m going to go to the doctor. I’m hoping it’s just some kind of funk that will go away pretty quickly.

I always feel like I’m telling you all about how I’m not feeling good, or how my Crohn’sย is acting up. I’m sorry about that- my body is just kind of being weird lately. It needs to shape up! ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, enough about my body issues…today I have a new recipe to share with you! I got the idea from reading Courtney’s blog the other day. I saw that she whipped up this delicious looking meal made from quinoa, and as soon as I saw it I knew that I wanted to have quinoa for dinner. I thought I had spinach at home, but as soon as I got home I realized that it was actually okra NOT spinach. Ew.

I just kind of started putting stuff in the dish and was hoping for the best. Sometimes I like just coming up with meals, well if they turn out well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m not even sure what to call this dish…? Hmm, maybe Mexican Skillet Quinoa..? That works! ๐Ÿ™‚

Mexican Skillet Quinoa

Ingredients:
-1 cup quinoa
-2 cups vegetable broth
-1 small onion, chopped
-1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
-1/2 cup choppedย red bell pepper
-1/2 cup chopped celery
-1/2 cup corn (frozen or from a can)
-1 heaping tbsp. minced garlic (or less depending on your preference)
-1 tsp. hot sauce
-4 vegetarian Italian sausages (I used Morningstar Farms)
-1 can (16.5 oz) Fire Roasted Tomatos
-salt & pepper, to taste

Preparation:
1. Bring the two cups of vegetable broth to a boil. Add the quinoa once it is boiling, then cover & simmer for about 20 minutes.

2. While the quinoa is cooking, heat a greasedย skillet over medium high heat. Once heated, add the onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, and celery to the skillet. Let cook for about 4-5 minutes, then add in the corn, garlic, and hot sauce. Let cook for another 5 minutes.

3. Add the sausage & the roasted tomatos to the skillet. Mix all together, and cook for about 2 minutes.

4. The quinoa should be finished cooking at this point. Add the quinoa to the skillet and stir everything together.

5. Serve & enjoy! I made corn bread to go with the meal…because you all know that I have to eat it at least once a week. ๐Ÿ™‚<–a little bit of honey drizzled on top


I always think quinoa looks so cool when you cook it!

Craig told me that he loves these kind of meals-ย I think he just loves any kind of Mexican themed meals. ๐Ÿ™‚ This was super easy to make, and only took abot 30 minutes total. It’s a perfect, quick week night meal.

Anyways, I’m off to try to get some more rest & hope this fever goes down! The only thing I’ve been able to stomach is soup & saltines, everything else just does not sound good to me….even peanut butter. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Hope you all have a great day!!!! We’re halfway to the weekend- that should help you keep your head up ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions:
1. Anything that you know of that helps lower a fever?
2. What do you eat when nothing sounds good?

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. amy

     /  August 17, 2011

    Feel better, Holly!! Being sick is the worst…I suggest sipping tea and watching some trashy tv. Always seems to do the trick for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Oh no, fevers suck. I always feel so achy and just worn down. Not fun. Hope you feel better quickly!

    Reply
  3. That looks delicious!
    And lady, if you don’t think PB tastes good something you are definitely not feeling good! Haha, that’s how I gauge my illnesses ๐Ÿ˜›

    Lowering a fever… Hmm, not really. Just time and meds, I guess. I don’t really know any secret remedies. I’m a college student, after all haha.

    When nothing sounds good I usually end up eating exactly what you are eating… Saltines (or some kind of cracker) and some soup. I always think tomato soup SOUNDS gross but it ends up tasting pretty good.

    I hope you feel better!

    Reply
  4. mexican+cornbread? ooooh it’s love.
    for some reason, I can always eat apples when i’m sick. people think i’m crazy, but its all that sounds good! and maybe oatmeal too ;D

    Reply
  5. Love mexi quinoa — I make different versions about 2x per month.

    I’m sorry you’re not feeling well..eat some toast and saltines maybe

    Reply
  6. Hope you start feeling better soon!!

    I am loving quinoa lately – have you made the zucchini quinoa lasagna by mama pea yet?? do ittttt.

    Reply
  7. I’ve always thought quinoa looks so cool when you cook it! aaand i love its smell. ๐Ÿ™‚

    that sausage looks awesome.

    and I’m so into comfort food when I’m sick. usually something carb-loaded. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    AAAND I totally didn’t realize who it was I was making that glass for! I hope she loves it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  8. Hope you feel better!

    When nothing sounds good.. I eat chocolate. haha. Or plain noodles..

    Reply
  9. YUM! Whe nothing sounds good I always eat applesauce…haha…yes I may act 5!

    Reply
  10. Oh no…I hope you feel better asap! Love you! When nothing sounds good I usually eat toast, soup, or cereal!

    Reply
  11. mmm that recipe looks good – love that you make cornbread once a week, because it always makes my mouth water ๐Ÿ™‚

    So sorry to hear that you are sick.Whenever nothing sounds good, and I’m sick, I turn to old faithful: chicken noodle soup :-). Hang in there and feel better.

    Reply
  12. I’m so sorry that you aren’t feeling well. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have no advice, other than rest and hydration. Take care of yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

