3 Things to Make a Girl Feel Better

Nothing quite makes a girl feel better like:

Plus

(trashy tv)

And

(Frozen yogurt- dairy free strawberry kiwi. YUM.)

To make a girl feel better! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m feeling MUCH better today, no more fever and I’m back to work today. I have to admit, I am not one to just lie around the house. Ever. I actually kind of dislike it…alot. I feel like I should be doing something, but Craig made me promise that I would just relax & try to get some more sleep. I actually did what I promised this time.

In the past when I have been sick, I have kind of ignored my body and just continued with my everyday activities. I didn’t take notice that my body was telling me to SLOW down and that it needed a break. A chance to recoup & get better. When I don’t take a break, I end up having the cold or sickness MUCH longer.

I’ve learned it’s better to just take a day or two off rather than pushing your body. Even though I feel really bad about taking days off from work for being sick, I did it this time. Honestly it was because of Craig. He was like ‘Why would you feel guilty when you are legitimately sick?’ Umm, good point. And even though I was feeling a bit better yesterday & I planned to go to work, he told me that I should stay home & make sure that 100% before going back. (& when I woke up my fever was 101.2, so I didn’t want to spread that either :/ )

During these past two days that I have been off of work, I have realized that I could never just stay home. I can only watch tv for so long..and then I’m bored out of my mind. There is also only a certain amount of time that I can read things online.

Good thing I had a good book to read:

I’ve been reading it for a couple of weeks now..and it’s taking me longer than I thought. Not because I don’t love it- I do- it’s an awesome read so far- but it’s because I always read before I go to bed. The thing with that though is that I fall asleep while I’m reading the book & it doesn’t take me long to fall asleep. I swear reading in bed is a guarantee that I will fall asleep in about 5 minutes flat. (if that ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Oh, not sure if you noticed the toppings in my frozen yogurt, it’s something new.

NERDS!!! (they are on the bottom of the picture)

I have never seen nerds offered as a topping at a frozen yogurt place & I was so excited when I saw them!! Nerds used to be one of my favorite candies when I was younger. So good! :).

So I’m kind of happy to be going back to work today, and getting back to my ‘normal’ routine. It also helps that it’s Friday Eve & Jersday ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a wonderful day!

Questions for you:
1. Do youย call out of work when you are sick? Do you feel bad about it?
2. What is yourย favorite candy?
3.ย Where is your favorite place to read?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Glad to hear that you are feeling better Holly!! Being sick is no fun! I have a hard time taking it easy when I’m sick too. Its hard when you are a mom to stop doing everything and focus on getting yourself better : )

    Reply
  2. thebeachseasonchronicles

     /  August 18, 2011

    I wish frozen yogurt was as popular in the UK. Sounds like the perfect ‘get well’ food! I also struggle with taking time off. I get bored so easily sitting around. Glad your feeling better though!

    Reply
  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  August 18, 2011

    Millionaire Matchmaker is SUCH an awesome show ๐Ÿ™‚ Definitely something that makes me feel better when I’m not feeling 100%

    Glad you’re doing better!

    Reply
  4. Not only do we have the same name but I totally agree. I hate just lying around the house. So boring. Trashy tv and fro yo (and NFL!!) make me the happiest girl ever.

    Reply
  5. Never heard of Billionaire Matchmaker… not much time for TV these days! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. I hope you are feeling better! It’s terrible being sick especially in the summer. I just got over a double ear infection and sore throat. It was not fun.

    Reply
  7. I’m glad you are feeling better Holly! I kind of hate having nothing to do all day when I’m sick too…but trash tv is always the way to go ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. Oh I LOVE “The Help!” I read it 3x haha. Such a good book!

    Summer is the WORST time of year to be sick =( It’s too hot to indulge in all those good comfort foods like soup! Especially here in Florida. Holy guacamole.

    And I love saltines too! All my friends think I’m weird because…welll..I guess they are sort of tasteless, but I really really like their texture! It’s JUST right!

    Reply
  9. mmm love saltines and reality tv and grape jelly!

    Jersday – that’s a new one. I LOVE it! Can’t wait for the Snooki/Situation blowout tonight!

    Reply
  10. my favorite candy is anyyything with chocolate. AND my favorite place to read is most definitely the beach. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    glad you’re feeling better, pretty!

    Reply
  11. I still need to read The Help! I love reading books when I’m sick. I read like all of the Twilight books 2 years ago when I got the flu or as the kids at school called it: The Swine 09 LOL

    Reply
  12. JERSDAY, hellll yeah! I can’t wait for 10 PM.

    I just finished the help in about 6 days… I don’t read fast but man that book is AMAZING. I took it everywhere with me…. literally.

    I usually don’t call of work for being sick. Unless I can’t talk because I usually have jobs which require interaction and stuff, so I need my voice… Otherwise, I end up going just to avoid hassle of calling out.

    My favorite candy? Oh gosh. Uhm… does saying anything dark chocolate count? And if we aren’t counting chocolate, then definitely jelly bellys!

    My favorite place to read is at the beach/tanning or wrapped up in a hoodie at Barnes and Noble lol.

    Reply
  13. Glad you are feeling better girly!

    Fave candy = sour gummy candies (like sour patch kids..nom nom)

    I read in bed every night and am inevitably drooling on my Kindle within 5 min ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  14. glad you’re feeling better! I usually only take off work if I am reallly sick. If I just have a cold then probably not but fever and stuff I do. Favorite candy is chocolate! and my favorite place to read is in bed or outside!

    Reply
  15. Oh I Hope you are feeling like yourself soon! Bummer to be sick in the summer too, it’s so uncomfortable.

    I do call off when really sick…I don’t want to get my co-workers sick!

    I’m watching the Millionaire Matchmaker tonight…I recorded it…can not wait!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  16. FROYO makes everything better!!! My favorite candy is peanut m&ms. Or pretzel m&ms. Mmm. I love reading in bed or on the beach. FEEL BETTER!!

    Reply
  17. I’m glad you are feeling better, Holly!! Being sick stinks.

    And I have no problem calling out when I’m sick, unless I have a meeting with a parent scheduled. If that’s the case, I’ll try to go to work if at all possible.

    Favorite candy is mostly chocolate … Reese’s, Snickers, Lindt milk chocolate … etc etc. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  18. When I’m sick, I’m a total baby about it. I lay around and complain, and never make it to the gym. Glad you are feeling better ๐Ÿ™‚ My froyo shop has Nerds, but I’ve never mixed them in. Fruity Pebbles on the other hand? Love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

