Guilt Free Creamy Shrimp Pasta

Happy Friday Friends ๐Ÿ˜€

Doesn’t it feel good to know that the weekend is just staring at you…waiting for this day to end?! I definitely am looking forward to this weekend- working on a new project. I can’t share the details, but once it is finished I will share…just can’t spoil the surprise. ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night was one of those nights when I had planned on making something, but then got home & realized I didn’t have one of the key ingredients. Oops! I had planned on making a ‘healthified’ alfredo sauce to go with pasta & shrimp, but it called for vegetable broth & I didn’t have any vegetable broth. The weird thing is that I ALWAYS keep some kind of broth on hand. At one point is was broth overload in our kitchen.

The staples that I always keep in the kitchen/ fridge are:
-onions
-bell peppers (green & red)
-celery (which I HATE unless it’s cooked)
-broth (well, except for last night)
-milk (both regular for Craig & unsweetened almond milk for me)
-cereal of some kind
-English muffins
-bananasย (even though I cannot eat them right now, the thought of them makes me queasy -SO strange)
-peanut butter (can’t eat this right now either– see above reason. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )

Those are our must- haves. Although Craig would probably like to add fruit snacks to the list. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So I was kind of surprised when I got home to find no broth. It just meant I had to get a little creative for dinner. As I was looking in the fridge, I happened to notice something in the back corner.

My favorite flavor of hummus- roasted garlic! YUM.
Then I got to thinking, and I figured I would incorporate that somehow into dinner.

Since I was planning to make a pasta dish (since I was going to make alfredo sauce), I figured I would stick to that. So I thought the hummus would make a good sauce for the pasta. Then I just started looking for some other things that might be good in the sauce as well.

Everything came together really well, and I was actually surprised at how good it turned out. (not to toot my own horn ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) And it’s a really healthy meal too! Win win.

Now I have the recipe to share with you! ๐Ÿ˜€

Guilt Free Creamy Shrimp Pasta

Ingredients:
-1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
-1/4 cup diced green bell pepper
-1 small onion, chopped
-1/4 cup sun-driedย tomatoes
-1 tbsp. minced garlic
-8 oz. pasta (I would recommend spaghetti, angel hair or fettucine)
-1/2 cup roasted garlic hummus
-1/4 cup dairy free cream cheese
-1 tbsp. nutritional yeast flakes
-1/2 tbsp. basil
-1/2 tbsp. oregano
-1/2 tsp. pepper
-1/4 tsp. salt
-1 lbs. shrimp

Preparation:
1. Boil a large pot of water to get ready to cook the pasta.
2. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Once heated, add the bell peppers, onion, sun driedย tomatoes, & garlic to the skillet. Cook for about 5 minutes.


Turn the skillet to low, and just kind of let the veggies simmer on the low heat.

3. Heat a small pot over medium heat and add the hummus, cream cheese, nutritional yeast & spices to the pot.

All that you need to do is stir everything together to make the sauce. I used a whisk to make it smooth. The cream cheese should melt pretty quickly & easily. It will take about 5 minutes to get it smooth & creamy. Once it is all combined, turn the heat to low and just simmer.

4. The water for the pasta should be ready, so add the pasta & cook according to package directions.

(I used roasted garlic noodles…figured I would go with the roasted garlic theme ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

5. In the skillet with the vegetables turn the heat up to medium low & add the shrimp to the pan.

The shrimp will probably just need to cook for about 5-6 minutes. Just watch them closely so that they don’t get overcooked, because overcooked shrimp are gross.

6. Add the sauce to the skillet.

7. Finally, add your pasta to the skillet & stir everything together.

Serve & enjoy! ๐Ÿ˜€

And you might even enjoy it with a piece of fresh bread too ๐Ÿ˜‰

DELISH!

This meal was definitely filled with garlic- not sure if you noticed, but it was GARLIC roasted hummus, GARLIC roasted noodles, and a tablespoon of GARLIC in the sauce. It’s a good thing that I LOVE garlic…and well, since my husband ate all of this garlic too, he was still willing to give me a kiss goodnight. ๐Ÿ™‚

(Dad, you would love this meal! You should have Mom try the recipe.)

I’m off to get ready for work! The good thing about Fridays is that it’s causal day at my office, so I get to wear jeans. Woohoo!! I also have another chiropractor appointment today as well.

My chiropractor was me to go see her three times a week, but it’s sometimes hard to get there that many times a week…so I try to go at least twice. My upper back (between my shoulder blades) is doing MUCH better. The knots in my lower back are also almost gone too. I really think seeing her is doing a lot of good for my back! I’m all about that ๐Ÿ˜€

Have a great day! Catch up with ya later & enjoy your Friday.

Questions for you:
1. What are your kitchen staples?
2. Do you love garlic? What is your favorite spice?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. haha, this happens to me ALL THE TIME! but then, it kinda makes for an adventure in kitchen. A good one for you! looks great!

    Reply
  2. I’ve always wanted to try hummus when making a sauce. This looks just so delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do like garlic. My favorite spice right now is Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute. I love it! Otherwise, I really like garlic salt.

    Reply
  3. i love love garlic. my sister and i used to eat it raw.
    i think some staples include- hummus, bananas, frozen veggies and fruit, pb, almond milk, chick peas, lettuce of some sort..

    Reply
  4. OMG i’m obsessed with that hummus. it’s definitely my favorite brand and flavor. i love that you made a dish with it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. Holly….yum!!! I want some of this right now and it is only 8:45 in the morning!

    Reply
  6. i freaking love garlic.

    and… creamy and guilt-free in the same sentence? you know the way to my heart, holly.

    Reply
  7. i love everything garlic. garlic makes every food good.
    As does ketchup (okay, okay, maybe not everrrything)
    This may be cheating, but vegetables are “go to” ingredients. They find their way into every meal, and I ain’t complaining ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  8. tracystreats

     /  August 20, 2011

    That recipe looks so good! I think I’m going to have to try it soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

