Vegas or No Vegas?

Good Morning! πŸ˜€

Hope you guys will stick with me, I’ve just been in kind of a ‘blogging funk.’ I think all bloggers go through it. I just sometimes find that I have nothing to say, and I had to just write a post to write a post. I don’t want to be redundant, and I kind of would like my blog to be unique. I know that I fall into the ‘healthy living blog,’ and that’s great, but I also want to make sure that my blog has it’s own kind of flair too. πŸ˜‰ Hopefully that makes sense!

So last night I had a very important meeting after work. Guess what it was for?!

Ahhhh! I’m so excited! I think that I am going to do the Las Vegas marathon for Crohn’sΒ & Colitis. I am hoping to run with Team Challenge, as they are the group that works directly with the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America.

As you know, Crohn’s disease has a HUGE impact in my life. Living with the disease definitely changes your life. It makes everyday tasks seem so daunting sometimes. I try to make a joke out of living with it now, only because that’s all that you can do. Like for example, I could tell you the location of nearly every restroom in Orlando. Seriously! πŸ™‚ That is the very FIRST thing that I scoop out whenever I go to a new restaurant/ shop/ mall, etc. Gotta be prepared, ya know?!

Another thing is that watching tv or a movie with me is a disaster. Thank goodness for the ‘pause’ button- HA! It’s always a guessing game with this stomach of mine. You never know what it’s going to decide to do. πŸ™‚

The other good thing about livin with the disease is that Craig (my husband) is SUPER understanding about everything. I’m SO lucky to have that in my life. Some days are really rough, and I can get really depressed because of the disease, but he is there right by my side to pick me up. He ALWAYS reminds me to think positive, no matter how bad the situation might be. I love him for that. (& so many other things too πŸ™‚ )

So, here’s my debate for the race:

1. I’m definitely in a ‘flair up’ with my Crohn’s disease right now, and I NEVER know what it’s going to do. (see above πŸ™‚ ) I have been feeling a bit better lately *knock on wood*, but the situation could change tomorrow. It’s that quick. My worry is that I will be fine until I get to Vegas, and then the day of the race my Crohn’s will be a mess.

2. I have been running more, because I’ve been feeling better, but for a while my running had to go on the back burner. Not that I don’t love it, I do…but I literally could NOT run. (too much moving of the belly, if ya know what I mean!) So I’m hoping that I can keep up with the training. There is a LOT of training involved for a marathon, as I’m sure you know. The GOOD news is thatΒ I could run the half marathon instead of the full. That’s always an option!

3. I need to raise quite a bit of money for the fundraising part of it. That’s not a huge worry because I really think I can do it. This foundation means SO much to me, and I think that people can see that in me.

There are a few other factors, but I don’t want to bore you too much. As you can see, there is a huge debate in my mind as to what do- either to go aheadΒ & sign up for it….or to wait until I know I’m 100%…which may never be. Told ya, it’s a guessing game with this disease.

Oh, and on a side note- has anyone ever run this race??? I have to tell ya, I would be SUPER stoked to run the Vegas strip at night!!! It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity. They only close the strip down twice a year- for New Years Eve & for this race. So cool!! πŸ˜€

Since I didn’t get out of the meeting until about 7pm, I decided to grab something for dinner on my drive home…only because once I got home it would be at least another hour until dinner. That wouldn’t work too well because I was HUNGRY, and I would of probably snacked my way around the kitchen while cooking rather than waiting until the food was ready.

Instead I grabbed the two of us salads.

I KNOW for a fact that my parents should recognize this salad. I got ‘Big Salads’ from Sonny’s BBQ for dinner. These salads are so good! That part that I really love is the candied pecans…

Might not be the healthiest part, but they sure are tasty. We both enjoyed our salads & Craig even commented on how FULL he was from the salad. He didn’t think it would fill him up, but these salads are HUGE- I couldn’t even finish mine.

There is a requirement when I go to Sonny’s, that I always get this:

CORNBREAD! It’s a MUST πŸ˜€ I have to have cornbread at least once a week…and this cornbread is more like dessert rather than a side. I actually ate it for my dessert last night. Yum!

Guess I’m off for the day. Time to get ready to start this Wednesday– mid week– YAY! πŸ˜€
Hope you have a wonderful day!

Questions for you:
1. Do you have a favorite race?
2. What do you think you would do in my situation- with the whole Vegas race?
3. Do you have a favorite salad place? or a favorite salad?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. I think you should sign up and do the fundraising, since you are so passionate about the cause. Train the best you can, while also being careful and listening to your body. I would even go out there to Vegas regardless … if you feel like you can’t run, you can always cheer everyone else on!! And plus it’s Vegas … it’s not like the race is in some random town with hay bales and nothing to do (oh wait … that’s where I live! πŸ˜‰ ).

    Regardless of what you decide to do, I know you have a lot of support from your blog readers! Best wishes to you, Holly!

    Reply
  2. I’d say sign up and see where you’re at when the race comes (don’t book your travel yet?). No matter what, the money goes to a good cause.

    That corn bread looks amazing!! The weather is getting a bit cooler up here in NY, and now I could really go for chili and corn bread!

    Reply
  3. Amy

     /  August 24, 2011

    Awe Holly, i feel so bad for you. I know whats its like to have tummy issues. mine are no fun either. I just wish they’d find out whats going on with me.
    My fav salad is the Lua salad at Cheesecake factory

    Reply
  4. I would go to the race! Like you said, it’s an amazing opportunity and for a cause that is close to your heart. See how you feel the morning of the race, but you can always walk and/or cheer for the other runners like notsodomesticated suggested πŸ™‚ Love the cornbread!! I really should make some more xoxo

    Reply
  5. I miss you… I’ve been out of work will catch you up on the weekend soon!

    Anyway, DO THE RACE! It’s a foundation that is very important to you. If you end up needing to WALK it… just do it. There will be bathroom stops along the way. Vegas is unbelieveable and you need to get there once in your life- what better excuse to visit? And if you end up really not feeling well?! Well you cheer on a bunch of great people who are running for a cause that is very close to your heart! I bet you’ll even find a lot of the runners are in the same exact predicament!!!!

    DO IT! xo

    Reply
  6. I would say that you should just sign up for it and if you can’t do it then at least you know the money went to a cause you are passionate about. You know??

    Reply
  7. Congrats on considering your first marathon!!! I am actually going to do one myself in March : )

    I definitely think you should do it–without question! This isn’t just any marathon, this is one supporting a foundation that is very close to your heart! You also will probably get support from people going through the same thing you are!

    Even if you can’t finish the marathon, definitely consider doing the half (much more doable than you think–I did my first one a few months ago).

    Reply
  8. Hope you feel better! My Crohn’s has been acting up too, so I feel ya! Go ahead and sign up…the money still goes to a great cause and you can always switch to the half! I’ve been thinking about doing this race too if my half next weekend goes well!

    Reply
  9. Holly, you are awesome! I think you should sign up for the race, you’ll probably regret it if you don’t. And if you get there and don’t feel well- you could always walk a lot of it! I’m thinking of signing up for my first 10k…I’ve never run a race before and my stomach doesn’t always agree with running either so I’m kind of nervous…but I want to challenge myself in a new way!

    Reply
  10. Ahh I’m going to a meeting in my area tonight for Team Challenge for the Vegas race!!! I definitely think you should sign up! Like In Sweetness and In Health said, you can always walk and take it slowly if you do in fact not feel well come that day. You’ll still be there, raising money for a good cause and getting to have fun in Vegas…and we could meet too! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. I love Sonny’s cornbread, it is so good! My favorite place for salads is actually Panera, I always gets the bbq chopped chicken sans chicken, it’s like a southwest salad! If I were you and feeling nervous I would just do the half marathon, and not worry too much it is a race supporting the disease you have so there are many others in your shoes. I know you can do it:)

    Reply
  12. I love Sonnys!! I know a guy that owns about 4 so i always ask for cornbread when I see him since we dont have any in NY or MD for that matter… A good way to raise money is have people donate things they dont want for a yard sale and all money goes to your fundraising! I say do it. If you cant do it when the time comes, its OK.

    Reply
  13. mmmm candied nuts are so good! little bit of protein, little bit of sugar! haha. you knowww my favorite place to get salad is chickfila. haha just kidding, i have had better salads. there is a restaurant by me that has a salad i am obsessssssssed with. it’s a blackened salmon salad and i always add beets! mmm.

    Reply
  14. Stephanie

     /  August 24, 2011

    So proud of you!! Let me know when you start fundraising and I can spread the word!!

    Your email buddy πŸ™‚

    Reply
  15. YAY, HOLLY! I’m so excited for you!!! You’re going to love it.

    Marathon training is ROUGH… but I say start training for the full, run outside (away from the potty) so your body is used to not having the bathroom so close all the time, and if you’re fine, go for the full. if that’s too hard, I’d go for the half. πŸ™‚

    yayayayy!

    Reply
  16. The NEW Lindsay

     /  August 24, 2011

    I really think you should do the race. Like you said it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity. And since this is benefiting Crohns…which you have…if something unfortunate was to happen before the race I am sure they are more than understanding of your situation. Don’t sweat the small stuff because I am sure you will really regret not going ahead and doing it. (espcially if you are able to at that given day).

    On a side note, I have some stomache issues as well. Sounds a lot like you but I really have not read up on Crohns a whole lot to know exactly if that is a possibility for me.

    Glad your doing better!!!

    Reply
    • Hi Lindsay! Thank you for the sweet comment!
      I’m sorry to hear that you have stomach issues as well 😦 You should get tested for Crohn’s- really- it could be life changing AND you could get meds/ holistic medication to help you feel better!

      Reply
  17. A race in Las Vegas sounds amazing!!! I hope you can do it. I agree with the first comment about doing the fund raising and if all goes well you’ll be able to run…if not, at least you have spread some awareness and raised money for a good cause.

    Reply
  18. I agree and hope you make it to Vegas! This will be my first marathon, and running the Strip at Night was the main draw.

    Reply
  1. I’m Going to Do It!! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

