Making Monday a Bit Easier

Good Morning!

Hope this morning hasn’t been too rough so far. Good news for you though- you probably have a 3 day weekend this weekend! 😀 Next Monday is labor day…so I’m thinking you might have off work too. So that should help make this Monday better!

Since it IS Monday, I thought I would keep this post easy peasy! I wanted to share a quick & easy dinner- perfect for a night like tonight- and one of my favorite workouts right now.

First up- the recipe. I’m not too sure what to call it, I seriously have a problem naming recipes! 🙂 But I will think of something before this post is over. (*side note: I thought of one right when I finished writing this post 😉 )

Roasted BBQ Chicken Sausage & Vegetables

Ingredients:
-1/2 cup chopped onion
-1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
-1/2 cup red bell pepper
-5 – 6 small red potatos, diced
-14oz. chicken sausage, sliced (I used Butterball Chicken Sausage)
-1 tsp. garlic powder
-1 tsp. onion powder
-1 tsp. cajun seasoning (or 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper)
-1/4 cup BBQ sauce
-Rice, for serving

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
2. Grease a cookie sheet & put the onion, both bell peppers, potatos, and sausage on the sheet.
3. Sprinkle the garlic powder, onion powder & cajun seasoning (or crushed red pepper) over the chicken sausage mixture. Mix it all together.
4. Cook in oven for about 40 minutes, or until potatos are cooked.
5. Once it is out of the oven mix it with the bbq sauce. Serve with rice, if you want to. Eat & enjoy 😀

SUPER easy to make & you probably have most of the ingredients in your kitchen RIGHT now! Easy to throw together on a Monday night when you really don’t feel like doing anything when you get home from work.

While we were eating dinner we were watching Jersey Shore…of course. 😉

Anyone else completely SICK of Mike…aka ‘The Situation?’ Ugh. I just cannot stand him. What a creep! Oh, and Ronnie is definitely on steroids- it’s crazy how he just FLIPS his switch.
I also got the inside scoop & heard that Snooki really did sleep with The Situation when she was with Jionni. That’s what I thought originally, only because she was freaking out about it. If she didn’t do anything than there would be no reason to freak out, ya know?

And Sam & Ronnie remind me of nearly every high school relationship. I used to be in one of those crazy relationships that was always back & forth. But I think that everyone has to go through it to met the right one. Just shows you what you REALLY want to find in someone, ya know what I mean??

Enough of the Jersey Shore talk, time to share with you one of my favorite leg workouts. I got it from one of my favorite favorite bloggers, Janetha. She always has some of the BEST strength training workouts. I know I have shared some of her workouts before and once I spotted this one a few weeks ago I knew I would love it! I only changed a few things- and you can find the original workout by clicking here.

Workout copied from Janetha’s blog at Meals & Moves.
(if you need some weight training workouts, check out her blog- you will LOVE her workouts. I guarantee it 🙂 )

Warm up: 10 minutes cardio (I ran on the treadmill)

circuit one (three times through, no rest):

  • 15 straddle jumps on elevated step (5 risers high)
  • 15 lying bridge w/ 20# plate on hips & feet elevated on step
  • 30 russian twists on ball w/ 10# plate

circuit two (three times through, no rest):

  • 30 (15 each leg, consecutive) bulgarian split squats w/ 10# in each hand
  • 30 (15 each leg, consecutive) donkey kickbacks w/ 5# on leg
  • 15 stability ball hamstring curls

circuit three (three times through, no rest):

  • 30 walking lunges w/ glute kickback holding 10# each hand
  • 15 squats w/ 15# each hand
  • 60 second low plank
  • 30 second right side high plank
  • 30 second left side high plank

calf raises:

  • 15 each leg x 3 sets w/ 30# each hand
  • 15 calf raises on machine w/ 90# on machine

circuit four (three times through, no rest):

  • 15 barbell stiff legged dead lifts w/ 70#
  • 15 low back reps on hyperextension bench w/ 20# plate

circuit five (three times through, no rest):

  • 30 reverse lunges (alternating legs) w/ 45# barbell on shoulders
  • 30 (15 each side, consecutive) oblique reps on hyperextension bench holding 10# plate

5 minutes cool down stretching

This workout will KICK YOUR BUTT! Literally. But you will LOVE it! It’s fast paced & goes by so quick. I recommend doing it on a day when you are having a rest day the next day, only because you will be really sore. You can also adjust the weight according to your personal preferences.

In September I’m going to be starting a new weight training program that is in the newest Muscle & Fitness Hers magazine. (I just got the latest issue on Friday) There are a TON of new awesome workouts in this issue- I HIGHLY recommend it!! I’m also going to be picking up my running in order to get ready for my half marathon in Las Vegas in December! I’m really looking forward to switching up my workout routine- it will be nice to change things up.

Anyways, I’m off to get ready for work. Time to conquer the day 🙂

Before I go, here’s a picture to brighten up your day:

Sunflowers always make me smile 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. you know sunflowers are my favorite too. Love that we share that! the new header is awesome! and so is this workout. Thanks for snagging it. And thanks Janetha for posting it.
    Cheers!
    LC

    Reply
  2. Ooo what a great workout! I am literally going to try this later today! Thanks m’dear 🙂

    Reply
  3. Oh sunflowers make me smile too! Have a great (and short) week!

    Reply
  4. That does look like a good workout! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  5. I’ve been watching the Jersey Shore lately…shameful!! they are out of control.

    Reply
  6. Great Recipe! I’d love to try it out ! 🙂 Oh.. and I also am extremely sick of the entire Jersey shore crew.

    Reply
  7. woohoo looks like a good workout. Yep, living for that 3-day weekend 😉

    Reply
  8. SUCH a great recipe and oh my gosh SERIOUSLY about jersey shore- they all bother me!! haha! and that work out is BALLER! chyeahhh! love you!

    Reply
  9. Yay! Glad you liked the workout and thanks for the linkback lovin’ xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

