Maple Glazed Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Good Morning!

Happy TUESDAY to you….aren’t you so happy that Monday is over??! It’s SO nice having a 3 day weekend. I definitely cannot complain about that! I just wish that we got one of those every week…but then it might not be as exciting. 🙂

Craig & I had a great weekend in Tampa. I had a few things planned out, and the main thing was going to the Orioles v. Rays game. When I was looking online for places to eat dinner, I happened to find this place called Cafe Alma. It is located in Downtown St. Petersburg, and is kind of a whole in the wall kind of place…but it is AWESOME!

We got there a bit early & decided to grab a drink before dinner. I got a raspberry lemon drop martini that the bartender just kind of made up..and OH man it was SO strong. I actually had to have to her add some cranberry juice to it, because it was so strong.

It was really good, but I could only drink half of it. I now have like ZERO liquor tolerance. Oh how times have changed 😉

Once we finished at the bar, we headed to the table to get some appetizers. The restaurant is a tapas restaurant so they had a pretty extensive list of appetizers for us to decide on. Craig picked one dish- the smoked salmon carpaccio & I picked the other- Portuguese spicy shrimp.

Both of the appetizers were DELICIOUS…but the smoked salmon took the cake! Craig & I were both commenting the whole time on how much we really like smoked salmon. It’s kind of hard to find good FRESH smoked salmon & the stuff was perfect! Not only was it extremely fresh, but the combination of flavors was just to die for.

Here’s a description of the dish from their website:
Smoked Salmon Carpaccio
Cold smoked Norwegian salmon with capers and lemon aioli


(see those white chunks?? Those are hard boiled eggs, which added even more texture to the dish! YUM!)

Doesn’t that just make you drool?? Or maybe that’s just me 😉

For my dinner I decided to get the seared ahi tuna & a side salad. I tend to always get seared ahi tuna whenever it is available. I just love it!

Craig got the ravoli stuffed with CRAB (real crab..NOT ‘k’ krab 😉 ) & shrimp. I had a bite of his too & oh man HOLY deliciousness!!

We were both very satisfied with our meals…& we both left with no room for dessert…we were really that full!

Saturday we woke up & decided that it looked like it was going to be a good beach day, so we had a quick breakfast then jumped in the car & headed to Treasure Island– only like 15 minutes away.

They also had this cool blow up water slide that was like 3 stories high!!

I told Craig that I thought we should go in it, but he wasn’t really into the idea. Ha! I totally need to put one of these on every beach..I would make a KILLING! As the day went on, this slide was the place to be. There was so many kids just loving it; and they were charging $3 for one slide down…and $5 for two rides…or $25 for unlimited slides. Money maker! 😉

After a few hours at the beach, we headed back to the hotel to shower & get ready for the Rays v. Orioles game. We got there a couple of hours early just to watch the guys warm up- always fun to see them in action.


Oh heyyyy Nick 😉

And even though the Orioles lost to the Rays…we still had a great time!

Definitely a fun weekend with great company 😀

I also have a new recipe to share with you! In honor of Starbucks releasing their pumpkin lattes TODAY, I thought I would give you a recipe for something that you can enjoy with your latte!

Maple Glazed Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Ingredients:
-3/4 cup whole wheat flour
-3/4 cup old fashioned oats
-1/4 cup white sugar
-1/4 cup brown sugar
-1 tsp. baking powder
-1 tsp. baking soda
-1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
-1/2 tsp. salt
-2 tbsp. flax seed (optional)
-1 cup canned pumpkin
-2 eggs, beaten (or egg substitute)
-1 container (6 oz) vanilla greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
-1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
-about 2 tbsp. light brown sugar (to sprinkle over the top of the muffins)

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. (The whole wheat flour through the flax seeds)

2. Once the dry ingredients are combined, add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl & mix well.

3. Pour the batter into a greased muffin pan. Divide the batter equally amoung the 12 cups. Top each of the cups of batter with a sprinkling of brown sugar.

4. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into one of the muffins comes out clean.

5. Top each of the muffins with the maple glaze. (recipe below.)

Maple Glaze:
(adapted from Jess’ vanilla maple glaze)
-1/2 cup powdered sugar
-2 tbsp. maple syrup
-2 tsp. vanilla extract
-3 tbsp. unsweetened almond milk (or milk of your choice)

Combine all ingredients & stir until smooth. Drizzle over pumpkin muffins.

Can’t wait to get my first pumpkin latte of the season & enjoy one of these muffins with it!

I can smell fall in the air…or at least I can pretend, since I DO live in Florida. 😉 I love kick starting the fall and can’t wait to start decorating the house in all sorts of fall decorations. I’m sure Craig will be ALL over the idea of having pumpkins & leaves everywhere. 😉 Ha! Actually he is pretty cool about whatever I do around the house, which is nice.

Well guys, I’m off- gotta get ready for work shortly. Hope you all had a wonderful LONG weekend!

Questions for you:
1. Do you watch baseball? Who’s your favorite team?
2. Do you like pumpkin lattes? Or do you prefer the winter flavors? (gingerbread, white chocolate..and I think another flavor)
3. Have you ever had smoked salmon? I just LOVE it!

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Yankees ❤ I like pumpkin lattes but I like gingerbread a little better..

    Reply
  2. Those look so good. I have never had a pumpkin latte but I could drink all the white chocolate ones in the world.

    Smoked salmon is my absolute favorite. I just want to eat it all the time! They have a smoked salmon bagel at the baglery right up the road and I’m craving it now for real.

    Reply
  3. yum smoked salmon has always been a staple in our house.. smoked salmon and cream cheese on a bagel.. heaven!!!

    Reply
  4. The pumpkin lattes are my absolute favorites!

    Reply
  5. Looks like a very fun weekend in Tampa! And I’m with you on 3 day weekends – wish we had more of them. I am totally about to start embracing pumpkin season after seeing these muffins!

    Reply
  6. Amy

     /  September 6, 2011

    My hubby and I are big sports fans. I love baseball. My fav team is the Yankees but I grew up in Pgh and like the Pirates too. I have to have baseball on at night to fall asleep. It brings back memories of watching baseball every night with my grandparents growing up. My gramma passed away in my arms with baseball on.

    Reply
  7. So glad you had a nice weekend! 🙂 xo

    Reply
  8. Sounds like a fun weekend! 🙂 I love pumpkin flavored coffee! I really like the Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice k-cups! These muffins look like they would go perfect with pumpkin coffee. Yum! 🙂

    Reply
  9. OMG I didn’t know pumpkin spice lattes were coming out today! I need to get one :). Glad you had a fun weekend! And thanks for the recipe…those look fabulous!!

    Reply
  10. Those look great!

    Reply
  11. christinaorso

     /  September 6, 2011

    It’s pumpkin season!! I don’t like the lattes, but i do love baking with pumpkin!

    Reply
  12. Yum! Those muffins looks great! 😀

    Reply
  13. I am OBSESSED with smoked salmon and would put it on everything if I could! Your dinner looked so amazing! What a great weekend 🙂

    Reply
  14. YAY! I can see your blog at work again 🙂

    What a fabulous weekend you had — love beach time the most! And good eats of course.

    I’m not a huge fan of the p-spice latte, but love me a peppermint mocha!

    Reply
  15. I had my first pumpkin spice latte of the season on Saturday (the guy gave me one early after I begged on my hands and knees. ;)). SO yummy!!

    Reply
  1. Fives & Legs « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

