How Do You Take Your Coffee?

Good Morning 🙂 Happy MID week!!

So happy that it’s already Wednesday, although yesterday was SUPER busy. Not that it’s a bad thing, makes the day FLY by, but I was just so tired all day too. I was literally walking around my office like a zombie. It’s amazing what an extra day off can do to your ‘normal’ routine, ya know what I mean? I’m just glad that the weekend is coming AGAIN shortly 😀

Anyways, as you all know, Starbucks kicked off the fall season yesterday by introducing the Pumpkin Spice Latte into their menu. I always think it’s kind of funny that once the Pumpkin Spice lattes are out, it’s suddenly ok to start making & eating all things pumpkin. I’m not complaining, I love all things pumpkin! Pumpkin pie is actually my favorite pie & I cannot wait to have some at Thanksgiving, it might just be my favorite part of the meal. (ok, thinking WAY far ahead now! ..Thanksgiving is still like 3 months away..ha!)

I don’t know about you, but I love all of the holiday speciality drinks at various coffee shops. Even though they are so good, they are also pretty high in calories. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m ALL about the occassional treat now & then, but to have one of these speciality drinks daily can really start to pack on the pounds.

Today I thought I would share with you some healthier options for your favorite speciality drinks.

***************************************************************

Starbucks

Pumpkin Spice Latteregular (how they would make it if you just asked for a ‘pumpkin spice latte’)
(2% milk, whipped cream, 16oz.)
Fat: 13g
Calories: 380
Sugar: 49g

Healthier option:
Make it with nonfat milk & NO whip cream- 16oz.
Fat: 0g
Calories: 260
Sugar: 48g

Healthiest option:
16oz. hot brewed coffee or 16oz. iced coffee with ONE pump pumpkin flavoring
Fat: 0g
Calories: 35
Sugar: 7.8
*30 calories per pump of syrup.

Honestly I LOVE getting coffee with one pump of the pumpkin spice syrup. It adds enough flavor to the coffee to get the nice pumpkin spice flavor, but without all of the additional calories in a latte.


Peppermint Mocha Latteregular
(2% milk, whipped cream, 16oz.)
Fat: 15g
Calories: 400
Sugar: 49g

Healthier option:
Made with non fat milk & no whipped cream, 16oz.
Fat: 3g
Calories: 280
Sugar: 49g

Healthiest opion:
Get the peppermint mocha latte above (healthier option) & then request half the amount of pumps of peppermint syrup– there are normally 4 pumps in each grande (16oz.) & it’s 20 calories per pump. You could also ask for half of the amount of mocha sauce. The amount of mocha sauce varies- it’s all up to the person making the drink. Doing this will reduce the amount of calories in the drink to about 200. Not too shabby for a tasty drink! 🙂

And click HERE to find out more coffee drinks that Starbucks offers UNDER 200 calories!

Dunkin Donuts

Pumpkin Latte– medium, made with whole milk
Fat: 9g
Calories: 320
Sugar: 48g

Healthier option:
Made with skim milk, medium
Fat: 0g
Calories: 260
Sugar: 49g

Healthiest option:
Latte Lite Medium
Fat: 0g
Calories: 120
Sugar: 15g
*Just wanted to add that this has Splenda in it…and I’m NOT an advocate of Splenda. Just wanted to show you the comparison of the three drinks.*

I also found out last weekend when we stopped at Dunkin Donuts that they do not offer any kind of dairy alternative, like Starbucks. 😦 I was really hoping to get an iced latte, but then I asked the guy if they had any soy milk & he looked at me like I had 3 heads. It was actually kind of funny & I couldn’t help but giggle, because I swear that they guy had NEVER even heard of soy in in his life.

While I was searching for coffee beverages, I thought I would pick out a few of the coffee drinks from food places too, since they are easy to grab on the go.


McDonald’s Iced Vanilla Coffee
Fat: 8g
Calories: 190
Sugar: 28g

**Leave out the cream & save 90 calories & 8 grams of fat!**


Burger King Iced Mocha Coffee
Fat: 4.5g
Calories: 290
Sugar: 55g

****************************************************

It’s pretty crazy how many calories some of these drinks have, but it’s nice that there are so many alternatives & you can customize most of them to make them healthier. Like I said before, there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with a treat- go for it! I’m having a Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte this Sunday with Craig. It’s our little tradition to have one when football season kicks off…and a few throughout football season. 😉 It’s just a nice treat to wake up on Sunday morning & get a latte..and of course FOOTBALL!! 😀

Today I’m sticking to my tea, but I’m looking forward to my Sunday treat. 🙂

Anyways, time to get this party day started. I hope you all enjoy your day! Catch up with ya later.

Questions:
1. What is your favorite speciality coffee drink? Mine is definitely the pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks. Yum!
2. How often do you get coffee from a coffee shop? I try to keep it to just once a week. I was going to Starbucks for iced black tea a bit too much in the past couple of weeks, but I’ve cut back! Once a week is pleny. It just adds up so quickly.
3. Do you like iced or hot coffee better? I’m all about iced coffee…but I guess it depends on the season too. Since I leave in Florida, iced coffee typically sounds better. It’s a RARE day in the winter that I want hot coffee.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  September 7, 2011

    This is AWESOME, Holly! I’m a huge Sbux Pumpkin spice fan so I’m always looking for lighter options. I’ve never even thought to order and iced coffee and ask for a squirt of pumpkin syrup! (I forget that Sbux is so customizable)

    I’m going to keep this option in mind next time I go 😀

    Reply
  2. I only get iced at coffee places but I’ll drink hot at home. I esp love hot coffee at weddings- it’s always so much more amazing! I get coffee out like 1-2x a week- mostly on the weekends when the boy is treating! 😉

    Reply
  3. I’m actually all about grimey gas station coffee because I can add all the flavorings in there myself. So good. I love the comparisons though. It makes me wonder why they have such high caloric drinks if you can get good ones for half the calories!

    Reply
  4. Mmm that’s a good idea to have the syrup in your coffee without all the cals of a pumpkin spice latte! Thanks for the tip!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for all of the healthier options!! I never thought about getting the regular coffee with a pump of the pumpkin spice flavor :). I definitely think that the pumpkin spice lattes are my favorite. I usually only coffee from a coffee shop once a week, if that. And I definitely prefer hot over cold!

    Reply
  6. Great post w/ great ideas! I love the idea of getting coffee with a pump of syrup. I usually just drink coffee, and when I got a toffee nut latte the other day, I realized how sweet the are! It was like a candy drink!

    Reply
  7. Love this! I did a post about lowering your Sbux cals about a year ago and suggested the same thing…I order my peppermin mocha as follows: Grande nonfat 2pump peppermint, 2 pump mocha, no whip. Perfection!

    Reply
  8. So awesome! Thanks for all of these options and ideas! Now I know of healthier options for my favorite drinks!

    Reply
  9. Definitely a pumpkin spice latte – it is by far the best! I used to go almost everyday, then I realized how much it was costing me!

    So now I try to keep it at once a week. While the weather is still warm, I’ll stick to warm drinks in the early morning only.

    Reply
  10. What a useful post!

    Fave drink: gotta go with the crowd – Pumpkin Spice Latte fo sure!

    I get a DD coffee every day, usually one of their unsweetened flavors. It’s what gets me up so darn early in the mornin’!

    Reply
  11. omgosh, peppermint mochas MAKE MY LIFE.

    what a smartypants you are.. I’ve never thought to ask for less pumps of flavor!

    Reply
  12. i find all these speciality coffees wayyy to sweet for me. i LOVE black turkish coffee… so so so SO good- everyday any day… but the best is when you are camping or on the beach and you cook it on little portable burner!

    Reply
  13. I am a BIG fan of the coffee + one pump of syrup, too! I don’t like my coffee with sweetener to begin with, so one pump just seems to enhance the spices with almost no sweetness!

    I do indulge in my non-fat PSL every… err, two days or so. Hahah! I love those things! And I agree with PSL being the start of including pumpkin in everything. Everyday this week I’ve had SOMETHING with pumpkin in it, no lie. I mean, if Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts can do it… SO CAN I! Haha. 🙂

    I buy wayyy too much coffee at coffee shops. Whenever I make it myself it never tastes right. I get SO frustrated. I must have 4 + bags of different coffee and still buy it at gas stations/starbucks. UGH.

    Reply
  14. i love the mocha coconut frap!! 😀 But definitely with no whip and ff milk

    Reply
  15. I’ve kind of feel out of love with coffee recently but I still indulge now and again-I love cold caramel macchiatos with skim milk but with whip! and hot wise I like to indulge in a white chocolate mocha:)

    Reply
  16. I’m not going to lie, I’ve never had a pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks! I guess I need to get my butt in gear this fall and try one. Although your idea of the pump of pumpkin (ha) in coffee sounds just as delish. And so cute that you and your husband go and get lattes together on Sundays 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

