Celebrate Good Times!

Goooooood Morning πŸ˜€

Today I’m in a FANTASTIC mood. I’ll give you 2 guesses as to why I am so happy on a Monday morning….

Ready….. GO!

………………………………………………………..

This would be why:

The RAVENS WON!!!!!!! 35 to 7!!!!!!!!!!!!! The Ravens ROCKED it πŸ˜€ I was SO happy with the result of the game. Not only happy for the Ravens, but happy that my lovely husband was in a wonderful mood for the rest of the night. πŸ™‚ When they don’t win it is just not a fun day. Craig goes into this depression type state, and honestly doesn’t say much for the rest of the day. So it was nice to WIN & have a husband to talk to for the rest of the day. πŸ˜‰

How did we celebrate?? We had some of our favorite foods for dinner, of course. πŸ™‚

Salad for me:

(I love putting peanuts in my salads- adds a nice crunch!)

Pizza for Craig:

Not a bad Sunday night if ya ask me!

On Sunday morning (during football season)Β we also have a little tradition as well. Typically I get up earlier than Craig & run to Starbucks to get our drinks of choice. (iced coffee + 1 pump pumpkin for me (save on calories!!) & pumpkin latte for him) Yesterday morning I decided to try something different.

I have been on a mission to try to find a recipe to re-create a pumpkin spice latte. I have found a few, but the only problem is that when I make them with my milk (unsweetened almond milk) they never taste as good. I realize that without whole milk or cream that it is not going to be as creamier or rich, but I would like to find something that is close. Well I FINALLY found a recipe that I like that works well with the milk that I drink.

The recipe is borrowed from none other than Angela from Oh She Glows.
The only thing that I did different was to make it for one serving, rather than for 2 servings.

I also have listed the recipe that I used to make Craig’s latte. He is NOT lactose intolerant, so any kind of dairy is fine with him. The preparation is the same, but the ingredients that I used for him are in parenthesis.

Single Serving Pumpkin Spice Lattes
(adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cups almond milk (orΒ 1 cup half & half)
  • 1Β tbsp canned pumpkin or butternut squash
  • 1Β 1/2 tbsp sugar, to taste
  • 1 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3Β tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup freshly brewed espresso OR 2/3 cup strong coffee

Directions: In a saucepan combine milk, pumpkin and sugar and cook on medium heat, stirring,
until steaming. Now bring to a boil and stir in vanilla and spice. (I just added the spices in the beginning- before it started boiling- I think you can do it either way)


You can now transfer to a blender and process for 15 seconds until foamy. If you don’t have a blender, don’t worry- just whisk the mixture really well with a wire whisk. Some of the mixture fell to the bottom of the cup, so blending it might help prevent this.
Or you could use a magic bullet like I did! πŸ™‚ (Thanks Erin!! )

Pour in espresso or coffee.

Add on cinnamon or whip cream on top if desired. Serves 1.

You could also use this same recipe & make an iced pumpkin latte. I prefer iced coffee, especially in the summertime, so this recipe hit the spot! Instead of boiling the milk & pumpkin mixture, just add it directly to your blender (or magic bullet πŸ˜‰ ) & blend for about 20 seconds. Combine this mixture with 2/3 cup strong iced (or just cool) coffee & pour over ice.

Loved it! I also love that I now have a pumpkin latte recipe that I can turn to when I really don’t feel like spending $10 at Starbucks for two drinks. (ok, it’s really only like $7, but that’s still a lot!)

Not only did we enjoy the results of the Ravens v. Steelers game, but we were also well fed. πŸ˜‰

On a totally different note, I was considering getting a pair of Toms because not only do I think they are pretty cute shoes, but I also love their mission.
For every pair of shoes that a person buys, the company donates a pair to a child in need.

My favorite ones right now are the ‘snow leopard’ pair.
SO cute, right?!!?

I think these shoes would be great for fall/ winter since they are open toed. I hear that they are SUPER comfortable..and that I will probably never want to take them off. Sounds like the ideal shoe to me. πŸ˜‰

Now I have to ask you- do you own a pair of Toms?? Do you love them? How do you wear them? (with pants/ jeans/ shorts/ etc??) I just need some help because I feel like I might look weird wearing them. I normally NEVER wear flats because I am so short (5′ 2″), since they tend to make me look even shorter…and I just look kind of stumpy, if ya know what I mean.

I would love to hear what you think about them!

Anyways, it’s time for me to go & get ready for work! Enjoy your day..and I hope your Monday isn’t too bad.
Catch up with ya later πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. I have two pairs of TOMS… black glitter flats and black wedges. I actually wear the wedges more because they are more comfortable. The flats dig into the back of my heel area and I always end up with bandaids… I’m not sure if they are broken in yet though…

    Reply
  2. I want a pair of TOMS super bad, too! I can’t wait to try your pumpkin spice recipe! mmm

    Reply
  3. Ha true life. I saw clips of the game and saw that the Ravens were winning by so much and I was like…I know who is going to be so pumped! I am also thinking about getting a pair of toms. They just seem too comfortable to pass up!

    Reply
  4. I really want some TOMS!! I have to find a retailer around here.

    THANK YOU for finding & trying that recipe for me! I’m dairy-free as well and have been missing the pumpkin spice drinks this fall!

    Reply
  5. I’ve been wanting a pair of Toms too! Those leopard ones are adorable!! DO IT :).

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the awesome recipe! Gonna try it really soon πŸ™‚
    I love those leopard print toms! πŸ™‚
    I dont own a pair of toms.. 😦

    Reply
  7. Yay for your Ravens win πŸ™‚

    I’ve had two p-spice lattes this weekend, but definitely did variations on them to make them much lower in calories. Still so god too!

    I’m not a TOMS fan so can’t help ya on this one!

    Reply
  8. danielleburger

     /  September 12, 2011

    Oh my gosh, TOMS are the comfiest shoes I have ever owned! I always tell people they are like a little hug just for your feet. Unfortunately, mine wore out really really fast. My first ones got a hole within two weeks and I was super bummed. I emailed the company though and they were super nice about it and sent me another pair for free. Unfortunately, after about a month of wear they got holes too. I’ve talked with other TOMS lovers and it seems to be a common trend.

    I wear my TOMS all the time (usually with jeans or shorts) and love them despite the holes they’ve already developed, but I’m not sure I could justify spending another $60 on another pair since they wore out so quickly. In terms of comfortable-ness and customer service though, I’d say TOMS are one of the best companies I’ve ever dealt with.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for the advice. & that is really good to know about customer service!
      I wonder if a lot of people have that issue with them wearing out..? Hmm, makes me think twice…but I LOVE that they are so comfortable. I think it’s worth it πŸ™‚ & thanks again for your comment!!

      Reply
  9. YEAH! My eagles won, too- so I am super happy! I have a pair of gold sparkly toms and I LOVE them. They look really cute with jeans. I’m shorter than you are by a couple inches and don’t feel stumpy so I guess that’s a good sign. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. I want a pair of the glittery Toms!! Yes, I’m 5.

    Reply
  11. I saw Tom’s on another blog recently … I think it was “girl meets life” … ? Anyways, they are super cute and I also love their mission. You should totally get a pair, and then tell us how they are! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. Jennifer

     /  September 12, 2011

    You already saw my TOMS(the yellow and white striped wedges)! I cant take them off and am wearing them right now. I would try them on at a store ( do a search on the website using your zip code). The wedges are ridiculously comfortable and sooooo cute. I tried on the standard type , but they were too thin. I also tried the Row line by MK and Ashley. Sooo comfortable. I am ordering the cordones right now bc i think they might be similar. Hope that helps! Go for it! It is money well spent, regardless! Miss you!

    Reply
    • Hey Jen!! πŸ™‚
      You inspired my blog post, so THANK YOU πŸ˜€
      I love the wedges- they are sooooo cute. I will have to look for them in store- that’s a much better idea that just ordering them online.
      Oh, I saw the Row line too- they sound so comfortable- aren’t they silk??
      Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚
      Miss you too!!! & I hope all is well!!

      Reply
  13. Is it weird that I thought about a blog I read when the Ravens won? (obviously, that would be YOURS)

    Yes! I have a couple pairs. I have a pair of the Olive green flats and they’re super cute with shorts, skirts or cuffed/cropped pants, skinny jeans. I wouldn’t recommend them to be worn with bootcut. I also have a pair of their black wedges which I LOVE!!! I swear them with everything I can!!! (except shorts) Super comfy and not too high!

    Reply
  14. I looooove my TOMS!! They are so gosh darn comfy and cute with a pair of capris. Order them now, I demand you πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  15. Nice job on making the drinks – more special πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  16. tori

     /  September 14, 2011

    Oh my gosh I am soooo excited you posted a recipe for a pumpkin iced coffee!!!! Where I live we don’t have a Starbucks or really anything even close and I always want to make my own but have been too scared.
    I have also been eyeing some TOMS because I’ve heard they’re suuuuper comfy:))
    p.s. I have a question for you about your Crohn’s… I am soo surprised you can drink coffee so much because my boyfriend has really bad ulcerative colitis, and doctors have mentioned Crohns’s, and coffee/caffeine, but mostly coffee are like sooo hard for him to consume. He can’t even do decaf 😦 I def know what you go through when you say your stomach is bad because of him and I can’t even imagine. You are a trooper;)

    Reply
    • If you try it, let me know πŸ™‚ Would love some feedback!!!
      And about the Crohn’s- I really can’t drink coffee 😦 It sucks! I had like a half of a glass of the iced coffee & then I had to throw the rest out. I just wanted to try it..and I really liked it, but I KNEW it would kill me, so I just tossed it. Although I did enjoy it while I drank it πŸ™‚
      Thanks so much for your comment- and I hope your BF gets to feeling better soon! He should do the blood test for Crohn’s.

      Reply
  17. Molly L

     /  September 14, 2011

    I own four pairs — navy, black, silver glitter, and black glitter. I’m 5’3 and wear them ALL THE TIME (except not really in the summer — I’m from Phx so any extra fabric, even on my feet, is intolerable during the summer). I wear them mostly with skinny jeans because I think if I wore then with, say, shorts or a dress, i would look stumpy. i also like to bring my glitter ones when i go out to wear when my feet starting hurting from heels. I always gets tons of compliments! anyways, LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!!

    Reply
  18. Did you ever buy the Toms? I also want a pair. They look so comfortable, and I could see myself living in them this fall!! I’m on the website, and I’m being so indecisive! The Snow Leopard ones are cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

