Going Holistic

Hey there!

So I think you guys have convinced me to get a pair of Toms, although I’m going to take my friend Jen’s advice & look for a store that sells them locally rather than ordering them online. Since I have never tried on a pair before, I would like to know how they fit before I decide on my size. I’m really leaning toward the leopard ones…just because I think they are adorable.

But a close runner up are these:

I think both pairs are really cute! I just showed them to Craig & he didn’t agree one bit. He told me that they were ugly. Honestly I used to think that they were too, but then they started coming out with all sorts of cute designs. I also just love their mission, which I think it what makes me want a pair even more. 🙂

Anyways, yesterday I was having a hard time deciding what to make for dinner. Thankfully when I was reading blogs, I happened to stumble upon a recipe that Janae had for this bbq chicken dish. She said it was one of the easiest recipes, and that sounded ideal for a Monday night! Honestly all I wanted to do was curl up on the couch, but I knew Craig was not in the mood to have cereal for dinner. (haha!)
All you need are some veggies (I used: 1 small onion, 1 green bell pepper, 2 carrots, 1 can of corn, and some sundried tomatos), about 1 lb. of diced chicken, & about 1 cup of your favorite bbq sauce.

Then just cook your chicken. Once the chicken is cooked add your veggies & cook for about 2-3 minutes, & then add your bbq sauce & simmer until your vegetables are soft.


That’s it! How easy is that?? I also made some biscuits to go with the bbq chicken dish. I know Janae served it with rice, but I wasn’t really feeling rice (I’m not a huge fan of rice, & I really have to want to eat it in order to cook it) so I just served it by itself. The biscuits were a nice accompliment to the dish.


All I did was follow the directions on the back of the box of Heart Smart Bisquick for drop biscuits.

For some reason I had an abundance of carrots on my plate….

Someone doesn’t like carrots & he always strategically places them on my plate…so I end up with a mound. During dinner he would randomly say things like ‘H I just LOVE that picture over there.’ So that I would turn around & look at the picture. Sneaky little devil 😉 It’s a good thing that I like carrots..and they are good for your eyesight 🙂

SUPER quick, SUPER easy dinner! Perfect. Thanks Janae 😀

Yesterday I did another thing new. On my lunch break I had an appointment with an acupuncturist. I am trying a bunch of holistic approaches for help with my Crohn’s disease. I would like to eventually be off all medications if at all possible. I don’t know if it will ever be possible, but it’s worth a try, right?? I have also heard a bunch of great things about acupuncture & how it has helped people.

On my initial visit I just had a consultation. I told her about my issues & she asked a bunch of questions. The final thing that she did was look at my tongue! I was like, ‘huh? you want to see my tongue.’ And in fact she did. She told me that you can tell a lot of things by looking at someone’s tongue. Like my tongue had teeth marks on it (like on the outer edge) & apparently that indicates that you have stomach issues. I’m not too sure what I think about all of that; I mean I just don’t see what a tongue can really show. I think I’m going to have to ‘Google’ more on that topic.

After my initial evaluation she told me that I have too much ‘heat & dampness’ in my body. Dampness?! Ew. As I was walking out, I texted Craig what she told me (about the heat & dampness) & he was like how do you control dampness?? Eat papertowels?! Hahahaha 😀 I just love him so much. He always finds a way to make me laugh.

I would like to start trying acupuncture, but it’s SO expensive! It’s $70 per session & she wants me to come once a week. Eek! But the good news is that if I go to an acupuncturist that is in my ‘insurance network’ than they will cover it. The only problem is that the lady I saw today is not within my network. 😦

I think I’m going to make an appointment with the acupuncturist that is ‘in network’ just to see what they say..and to maybe try a few rounds of acupuncture. Can’t hurt, right??

Gotta go! Time to get this day started. 🙂

Questions for you:
1. What’s your LEAST favorite vegetable?
2. Do you believe in acupuncture treatment?
3. Have you ever been to an acupuncturist? How was your experience? Did you get relief from your symptoms or pain?? 

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. i totally believe in accupuncture. The hubs does it for his knee and I’ve been using it for my stomach/gallbladder. What did ya think??

    Reply
  2. Ok, so I totally have to agree with Craig… even thought Toms are trendy and comfy… I think they are sooooo ugly! I haven’t tried a pair and I’m not saying I wouldn’t get them… but they are just unattractive… they remind me of shoes I wore when I was 8!!! 😉 Craig is so funny… but I do want to know how you control this dampness!

    Reply
  3. Now I want another pair of TOMS! I don’t care that some people think they’re ugly, I love mine! I think I want to get a fun print like the ones you’re looking at – my other ones are just blue (which is nice, but you know)

    Reply
  4. I really don’t like cauliflower!

    Reply
  5. TOMS stretch so they say to buy a 1/2 size smaller than what you really wear. This will give you a little room to let them stretch and still be wearable comfortably. I have three pairs and LOVE them. TOMS wedges are the most comfortable shoes I own that are not sneakers.
    LOVE the meal!! If my husband wasn’t so afraid of vegetables I would be making it tonight.

    Reply
  6. I have a pair of the black tom’s and they are NO joke the comfiest shoes i’ve ever worn. I used to wear them when I was a nanny to run around everywhere.

    I’ve always been interested in acupuncture! Let me know how it goes.

    Reply
  7. Dinner looks so good! 🙂 I hate carrots only when they are cooked after being frozen. So strange! I like how cooked fresh carrots taste. Maybe it’s a texture thing? I’m not sure.

    I’ve never tried accupunture before. I’ve heard good things about it. Can’t wait to hear more.

    Reply
  8. I like carrots, but I’m not a huge fan of them cooked! And I totally think you should go for the leopard TOMS, those are adorable :D. I think it would be cool to try acupuncture…I guess I don’t know if I believe in it because I’ve personally never had it done!

    Reply
  9. I love accupunture…it worked miracles for me.

    Reply
  10. I’ve heard a lot of great things about acupuncture, but I’ve yet to try it out! It is supposed to be one of the most respected Eastern medicine practices. I hope it works out for you!

    And my LEAST fav vegetable is ocra. It’s kinda slimy and I don’t know how to cook it.

    Reply
  11. I have never been to an acupuncturist, but I hear they are good for migraines which I get.

    Least favorite veggie: mushrooms! Yuck!

    Reply
  12. I like the second pair of toms better — so darn cute. However, leopard print (or animal print in general) is supposed to be back again. ha.

    Reply
  13. gimme. those. biscuits.

    and did you see skechers came out with a brand “Bobs” that imitates TOMS? they’re cheaper and a little tackier looking. eesh. reaaaally?

    I like the second pair. 🙂

    Reply
  14. Those shoes are definitely growing on me as well…I am intrigued!

    I would try accupuncture…my mom loves it!

    Reply
  15. Courtney

     /  September 13, 2011

    I thought you went vegetarian?

    Reply
    • I did..for a little while..and then I did a post on how it was SO HARD to do while also having Crohn’s disease. See with Crohn’s disease I try to avoid a lot of high fiber foods (means just more trips to the bathroom for me- YUCK!)- since you have to eat a lot of beans to make up for the protein. It was just too hard for me right now…but maybe once I am out of this flair up then I will be able to go back to a vegetarian diet 🙂 I do enjoy it, but my body doesn’t enjoy it too much :/

      Reply
  16. lowandbhold

     /  September 14, 2011

    My boyfriend’s name is Tom so he’s trying to get me to buy a pair. I think they’re ugly, but some of them are cute and I love that they give away free shoes. So I’m torn!

    Reply
  17. lowandbhold

     /  September 14, 2011

    Ugh, that comment just made me sound really lame sorry. I don’t let me bf tell me what to do, just for the record 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

