Baked Pumpkin Donuts

Good Morning!

Mondays are always kind of tough, but you can also look at it as a way to start fresh. You have to decide right now that you are going to make this week a great week, rather than dreading that the weekend is over.

I thought I would share with you what our typical Sunday looks like. I almost always wake up early and then let Craig sleep in. Sometimes I run out & get coffee for the two of us (our Starbucks treat πŸ™‚ ) or I will just catch up on some DVR-ed shows. Once Craig gets up, I make breakfast for us. A Sunday kind of breakfast- which means eggs, bacon (for him), biscuits or pancakes…it’s always something ‘special’- a breakfast that we wouldn’t eat during the week. Then we do our own thing until the games start at 1pm. And by our own thing…here’s what I mean:

That’s Craig checking his fantasy football, the game stats & spreads, and also watching NFL network. The picture is kind of blurry because I was trying to be sneaky..and not let him see me.

And here’s me:

Oh and just to give you a good laugh, here is the fix picture that Craig took of me:

He responds with ‘oops! I forgot to get your head.’ HA! Maybe he was doing it intentionally so you didn’t have to see my messy Sunday morning look. πŸ˜€

That would be me, baking a new recipe in the kitchen. Don’t you wear your jersey on Sunday ALL day long too?? I’m not the only one, right?! πŸ™‚ Please do not mind that I look like a mess- I don’t do anything to myself (make up/ hair/ greasy face/ etc) on Sundays, it’s my day to just chill. Oh, and yes, I do in fact have hair, it’s just tied up in a ponytail. πŸ˜‰

Then around 1pm, we are both sitting in front of the television with our laptops next to us (to check our fantasy teams) rooting on the Ravens. Let’s not talk about the game yesterday, remember that whole speech in the beginning of my post about starting fresh this week? I was implying that for the Ravens too. They need to GET IT TOGETHER. I swear it was a totally different team playing out there yesterday.

Anyways….

Lately I have not been able to get my mind off of the donut pan that I recently got. After I made the chocolate ones, I have been thinking of all of the other flavors that I want to try. Since it is getting closer to fall, and the ‘blog world’ is a bit obsessed with pumpkin (I love it!) I thought I would make Pumpkin Donuts! After doing some research on the internet, I found a recipe that I thought would be perfect. I didn’t change much, just the type of butter (salted instead of unsalted because I didn’t have any) & the baking time.

Baked Pumpkin Donuts
(recipe adapted from Culinary Cory)

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

1 Β½ tsp. baking powder

Β½ tsp. salt

ΒΌ tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. nutmeg

2 tsp. cinnamon

Β½ cup brown sugar

1 cup canned pumpkin

2 eggs

2 Tbl. milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

ΒΌ cup butter, room temperature

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.Β  Sift the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, nutmeg and cinnamon in a small bowl.Β  Set aside.Β  Cream together the brown sugar, canned pumpkin, eggs, milk, butter and vanilla extract until the butter is well incorporated.

(^doesn’t that just remind you of Thanksgiving??? All I can think about lately is pumpkin pie & how bad I want some!)

With your mixer on medium low speed, slowly add the dry sifted ingredients to the wet mixture.Β  Mix until just barely combined.Β  Be careful of over mixing.**



Spray the donut pan with cooking spray and fill each donut mold halfway with the pumpkin batter.

Bake at 375 degrees forΒ 8 – 10Β minutes or until the exterior springs back when touched.Β  Allow to cool completely and top each donut with cinnamon glaze.

Cinnamon Glaze
(copied directly from here)

Β½ cup powdered sugar

1 Tbl. milk

Β½ tsp. cinnamon

ΒΌ tsp. nutmeg

Mix until smooth and creamy.Β  The glaze should pour easily from a spoon.Β  You may need to add additional milk or powder sugar to get the right consistency.

**The key to any donut recipe is to NOT over mix the batter, it will make the donuts chewy. When you are mixing the batter, mix until it is JUST combined.**

Trust me, these donuts taste just as good as they look! I wish you could try them, because I know you would love them. (well, if you like pumpkin πŸ™‚ ) Before I baked them, I tried some of the batter & it tasted just like pumpkin pie, which is my absolute favorite pie. Pumpkin pie in the shape of a donut?! Umm, YES please!

Craig took one bite of a donut & looked at me & said, “WOW! These ARE really good! I really like the sauce.” (by sauce he means glaze πŸ˜‰ ) It’s almost like he doubted my donut making ability…what was he thinking?! πŸ˜‰

I have a feeling that I am going to have some very happy co-workers this morning. πŸ™‚ I thought they would make a nice Monday treat.

Oh, and if you don’t have a donut pan you can also make these as muffins! They will be a bit more dense than regular muffins, but I’m positive that they will still be just as good.

I am already looking forward to making more donuts. I think this pan has become my new favorite thing! It’s addicting. Good thing Craig & I have co-workers to help us out with these goodies. Otherwise we might both just turn into donuts! πŸ™‚

I hope you have a great day. I’m off to get ready for work. I know today is going to be busy…VERY busy. But good busy. πŸ™‚
Be back soon with an update on all of the Crohn’s stuff. I know I started the Crohn’s mini series and haven’t posted for a while about it, so I will have more on that soon!

Questions for you:
1. Do you like football? Does you significant other like football?
2. If you’re not a football fan, what do you like to do on Sunday?
3. What’s your favorite thing about Monday?? (there has to be something πŸ˜‰ )

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Oh my god those look amazing!! And I wish I could have spent my Sunday like you did…instead I did a lot of homework haha. I’m not a huge football fan, but I’m trying to like it more- I think my problem is that I prefer to watch it live and not on tv haha. Btw, did you switch your theme again??

    Reply
  2. You are making me want to buy that donut pan!!

    I made pumpkin cinnamon muffins for my coworkers today, but I gotta say, these donuts just take the cake. I am going to try to buy a pan and make some this weekend. Per usual, love your recipes πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. ya buddy! I totally will try these. I don’t have a donut pan so muffins will be made. Either way, they sounds FALL-icious.

    Reply
  4. Zach and I both aren’t really football fans, but if he was, I’d be way more into it — I actually really like the idea of watching games on Sunday!

    I *WANT* those pumpkin donuts. I’ll send you my address ;-P

    Reply
  5. I neeeed to get a donut pan. so badly. or maybe you can just send me some’a those jitties? πŸ˜‰ “sauce” included?

    Reply
  6. I’m planning on pumpkin muffins (maybe tonight!), but the donuts look SO good!

    Reply
  7. ooooh the donuts are so cute! i’m totally cracking up at the first pic craig took. i think he just wanted to focus on your boobs.

    Reply
  8. James

     /  September 19, 2011

    Our sundays are almost exactly the same……except, the roles are reversed…..I try to get Logan out to the park, or we go on a run/ride…..the main difference is the games start at 10am, so its an early call…

    Reply
  9. Love that you guys have a Sunday tradition for mornings. Monday…..hmmmm…..can I get back to you on a fave thing about Monday LOL

    Reply
  10. Panthers fan straight up! Ha. I love how into the Ravens you. It makes me so happy another female loves football as much as me.

    Those pumpkin donuts look so freaking good and I have all the ingredients. #winning

    Reply
  11. Pamela

     /  September 19, 2011

    Oh my goodness!! Those donuts look amazing! I honestly want to run out to buy a donut pan just so I can make them. I love anything pumpkin! Where did you find that pan again? Thanks for the idea πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. OMG yum!! I have everything to make these, except that darn donut pan! I think I might go grab one this weekend – seems like such a good thing to have on hand for fall.

    I love the glimpse into your Sunday!

    Reply
  13. Those look SO good! I have a “dinner club” on Thursdays and I think the next time it is at my place I am going to make those!
    My favorite thing about Monday? 3:00 when the yellow buses drive the kids away!!

    Reply
  14. Need to make those donuts! πŸ˜€ They look soo good! Thanks for sharing the recipe! πŸ™‚

    I think watching football is fun! I live in Germany and football is not a big thing here (i know! how dare they!), everyone always watches soccer which I dont find as interesting for some reason…

    I usually go to church with my family on Sundays, and then we just relax and hang out πŸ™‚

    Reply
  15. I’ve literally been looking for pumpkin donut recipes so I could use my new donut pan and I’ve been craving pumpkin donuts like crazy!

    Reply
  16. Kim Lee

     /  September 25, 2011

    Just made these and they are delicious…..very, very, VERY sweet! Great with a cup of coffee!

    Reply
  1. Lunch/Dinner (Lunner?) « Pamcakes & Coffee
  2. Baked Funfetti Doughnuts!! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  3. Pumpkin Donuts with Cinnamon Glaze « Pamcakes & Coffee

Leave a Reply

