Put on Hold

Good Morning 🙂
 
Thank you for all of your help on the post yesterday about my pictures, I am going to try some of your suggestions to see if I can fix the issues.
 
Today I have to share with you something that makes me sad, but I know it’s what I have to do. Do you remember how I told you that I was going to run the Las Vegas Marathon in December for the Crohn’s & Colitis foundation?
 
First the bad news:
Well guys, sadly I am NOT going to be able to run it this year. 😦 To say that I am bummed is a huge understatement. The reason that I will not be able to run in it is because of MY Crohn’s disease. Kind of ironic, huh?? I’m still in a pretty bad flare up (& I’ve been on a ton of medication for it…which sucks, but I don’t want to get into that right now) & I can barely run.
 
Let me explain…it’s not because I am not conditioned to run, I definitely CAN run. The problem is that I can only run for like 2 minutes…and then I have to SPRINT to the bathroom. (sorry if it’s TMI) I ran 4 miles yesterday (which is the farthest that I have run in a while due to this bathroom problem) & it was the longest 4 miles of my life. It wasn’t because I was in pain, or that I was running slow, it was because of how many bathroom breaks I had to take. THANK GOODNESS that we have a treadmill at OUR house..I could of NOT done this in a gym! Ha. NO LIE (& no exaggeration) I think I took about 10 bathroom breaks. It’s terrible. I HATE it, but I cannot help it. For someone watching it might have been kind of amusing because I was sprinting back & forth from the bathroom to the treadmill over & over. But it was NOT amusing for me, but I was determined to get a run in…even if it was pretty short.
 
Now the good news:
I can move my registration & donations to the race for NEXT year! So hopefully I will be able to get things under control to run the race next year. I’m really thankful that I am able to move the registration. Before I even signed up for the race, I made SURE to ask about this because I wasn’t 100% sure that I would be able to do it because of my Crohn’s.
 
So right now my running is kind of on hold. It is KILLING me, because I love it. I will SERIOUSLY NEVER EVER take my ability to run for granted EVER again. After going through this, it really makes you appreciate it.
 
Right now I am focusing more on weight training & other forms of cardio. For cardio I am using the elliptical more (which I used to HATE), the stationary bike (on occasion), the stair stepper/ arc trainer & walking on an incline on the treadmill.
 
It’s working for me…and I have to do what I have to do, ya know!?
 
And just because I’m a HUGE preacher of weight training & LESS steady state cardio– I have NOT gained ANY weight by not running. (I’ve actually lost some…but I think that’s due to the Crohn’s) Just goes to show how many calories you REALLY DO burn with weight training! (& the ‘after burn’ calories from the muscle that you are building)
 
****************************************************
Anyways, As you all know I’m ALWAYS looking for new workouts to try (that do not involve running). The blog world is one of my very favorite places to find some new workouts. Below are some that I have found lately, and thought that you might enjoy them too! 🙂
 
Lower Body Barbell Workout: This workout is to be done circuit style, WITHOUT stopping. You will just need to switch where the barbell is. I used a 40lb. barbell (I can definitely do more for deadlifts, squats & lunges, but for push presses 40lb. is pretty heavy) & did this routine 4 times through…resting for about 30 seconds each circuit.
*8 deadlifts
*8 squats (barbell on shoulders)
*8 push presses
*8 lunges (each leg with barball on shoulders)
 
I did this treadmill workout last Friday because I’m always looking for new ideas using the treadmill. When I saw this workout, I knew it would be perfect! If you are looking for a pretty challenging workout, THIS one is for you. Thanks Naomi!! 🙂
 
From Naomi @ One Fit Foodie!
Time
Incline
Speed
Notes
0-3
5%
3.8
WARM UP
3-6
10%
3.8
 
6-9
10%
6.5
 
9-10
10%
2.0
 
10-11
8%
1.2
Walking Lunges
11-12
8%
3.5
 
12-13
8%
2.0
Face backwards, jog light on the balls of your feet
13-14
8%
2.5
Side shuffle LEFT lead
14-15
8%
2.5
Side shuffle RIGHT lead
Off Treadmill:
   
10 jump squats, 10 mountain climbers, 10 jump squats
15-16
15%
5.0
 
16-17
15%
2.0
 
17-18
15%
5.0
 
18-19
15%
2.0
 
19-20
8%
1.2
Walking Lunges
20-21
8%
3.5
 
21-22
8%
2.0
Face backwards, jog light on the balls of your feet
22-23
8%
2.5
Side shuffle LEFT lead
23-24
8%
2.5
Side shuffle RIGHT lead
24-25
8%
6.5
 
Off Treadmill:
   
10 jump squats, 10 mountain climbers, 10 jump squats
25-30
1%
7.5
 
30-35
0%
4.0
COOL DOWN

Both of these workouts are awesome! I use the first one (the lower body/ leg workout) as a warm up & then do a full leg/ butt workout after I’m finished. It’s an awesome warm up to any workout OR you could use it as your leg workout- you can add some more reps to it & go through it a few more times.

I hope you all have a great Wednesday! (YAY for mid week 😀 ) & don’t forget (if you watch it) Modern Family starts up again tonight!!! WOOHOO 😀

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. aawww, girlfriend, I’m so sorry to hear that. I’ve totally been there with the bathroom/treadmill sprinting, and it’s noooo fun. you’re lucky you have a treat in your house and aren’t doing it at the gym. 😉

    hey.. it just gives you a whole year to get psyched for the race, right? 🙂

    Reply
  2. It is rather ironic, but all the more reason to support the cause and try for it next year!

    I’m sorry you’re having a flare up though. I have had similar issues for extended periods of time (not Crohn’s) and I know how hard it can be!

    Reply
  3. Zepherinus Joseph

     /  September 21, 2011

    if i could i would run that race on your behalf, hope you get this under control. do take care of yourself.

    Reply
  4. Aww im sorry you cant run in the race this year.. Hopefully you can next year!! 🙂 ❤

    Reply
  5. Tara

     /  September 21, 2011

    I’m so sorry about your flare up and not being able to run. I’ve suffered from digestive issues for years. Not quite what you have…but they’ve never been able to diagnosis it. So I too have to alter my workouts and most of my life around being near a bathroom. I had a good friend who has Crohns and she kept having so many issues. They treated her for Candida and her symptoms almost disappeared. Just a thought. Anyway…..my thoughts are with you!! Love your blog.

    Reply
  6. So sorry to hear that you can’t race this year!! Hopefully you start feeling better soon!!!

    Reply
  7. I’m sorry about the race! I hope you start feeling better. Your health is the most important thing 🙂

    Reply
  8. I am so glad that they let you transfer your registration and I can’t wait to hear about it when you finish! It is awesome that even when you feel bad you stick to exercise you are so motivated! I can’t for Modern Family either!

    Reply
  9. Aw Holly I’m so sorry to hear that! But I’m really glad you were able to move your fees to the next race! That is fabulous. And finding the positives in this situation and just finding fun workouts to keep you motivated is the way to go! Love you girlie 🙂

    Reply
  10. i’m so sorry about your chrons, but you are doing the right thing. Taking it easy, getting it under control. I have full faith that you will.
    hugs!

    Reply
  11. Sending you “blogger hugs!!” I’m so sorry that you have to deal with that, but I also admire you for taking your health seriously. I hope and pray that you get better soon!!

    And in the meantime, I’m glad that you’re able to do other forms of working out. Imagine those who can’t do ANY form of exercise due to a physical disability. Wow. Makes me think about how truly blessed I am.

    Reply
  12. I’m curious what your doctor says about running? Does running cause stomach issues?

    I’m sorry you can not run the race this year, but you certainly have a great attitude about it. I hope things get better for you!

    Reply
  13. Ack I’m sure this is a huge disappointment for you! You have a great outlook though! Hang in there ❤ ❤

    Reply
  14. I’m sorry to hear about your flare up, Holly. But don’t let it get to you–you will do it when you are meant to! Keep up with your awesome, positive attitude and have fun with your other amazing workouts!!!! : )

    Reply
  15. One of my friends has this as well. He is a dedicated runner but has never once said anything about having the same situation. Does Crohn’s make every sufferer feel the urgency? Cause if so, now I don’t believe him, he never complains about the bathroom part.

    Steve
    My site: Does Creatine Help?

    Reply
  1. Making Light of Crohn’s Disease « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. Living with Crohn’s « Love Eat Run

Leave a Reply

