Making Light of Crohn’s Disease

Good FRIDAY Morning to you πŸ™‚

Thank you all so much for your kind words on yesterday’s post. As hard as it was to realize that I could not run the race this year, I KNOW it is what I have to do. I mean I really have no other option….

Sometimes when you have a disease like Crohn’s, you have to laugh about it. It makes you feel like CRAP…literally, but you have to remind yourself to smile. Β It’s the only thing that keeps you going & not getting down on yourself. Some days can be really depressing, and if you keep dwelling on the negatives you won’t get very far.

‘When life hands you lemons, make lemonade!’

So in honor of Friday, I thought I would share some things that a person living with Crohn’s has to think about on a daily basis. Of course it’s all in good fun, and I’m not making fun of the disease what so ever (it is VERY serious) but like I said…sometimes you just HAVE to laugh about it.

1. Where is the bathroom??

Even if you don’t have to go that very moment, you will still locate every single bathroom in any place that you visit. I honestly know exactly where the bathroom is in every store that I visit frequently..and if I’m in a new place I make sure to scope out where the bathroom is or I ask someone where it is…JUST in case! Gotta be ready πŸ˜‰ Oh and this whole ‘bathroom ‘scoping’ could be very handy to anyone that might be with you. No need for them to hunt for a bathroom, since you already know where they all are. πŸ™‚

2. You will want to have some great magazinesΒ in yourΒ bathroom. (or other reading material)

Since you never know how long you might be in there…you want to be ready! Mine as well make the most of your time in there & learn something new!

3. If you ever don’t want to eat something because you don’t like it, just blame it on the Crohn’s.
(<- like those nasty things! yuck. Mini cabbages full of grossness. Ha.)

People will never know. Sometimes your Crohn’s disease can come in handy πŸ˜‰ Like for instance, in my office we have a lot of clients that like to bring in goodies for us..especially around the holidays. Sometimes I really just don’t feel like having a donut, a piece of cake or another cookie…so I just blame it on my stomach. πŸ˜‰

(Now, please don’t misunderstand me, there are definitely things that I really CANNOT eat due to my Crohn’s disease.)

4. Why don’t I own stock in toilet paper companies??

As much toilet paper that I go through, I should be their #1 investor!

5. Have a cute bathroom, since you will be spending a lot of time in there.

Mine as well enjoy the surroundings πŸ™‚

6. You always have an extraΒ set of clothes!

Ok, this might be a bit much…but guys, sometimes I am too nervous to even DRIVE in fear that I might get the urgency to need to go to the bathroom IMMEDIATELY. It is awful. I think that’s the worst part…when you are in your car with absolutely NO bathroom in site. I think the worst possible moment is when you are on a highway with NO exits for a long time. As soon as you realize that you don’t have the option to go to the bathroom if you need to, then you typically have to go right then. I swear it’s all a mind game sometimes.

Anyways, this post was totally random..but I needed a laugh πŸ™‚ Hopefully you got one too. Do you have any fun plans for this weekend?? I was a single lady for most of this week (Craig just got back home last night) so I’m going to be enjoying my time with him (I’ve missed him like crazy!) & we have a TON of DVR-ed shows to catch up on. (I don’t watch our typical shows if he isn’t in town- I always record them so that we can watch them together. Umm…hello cheesy πŸ˜‰ )

Hope you have a wonderful day! TGIF! πŸ˜€ I might just have some more donut recipes for you soon πŸ˜‰ They have become my new favorite thing to bake on the weekends.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. You are so funny! Sorry about the race. 😦 Work has been nuts- email me today so we can try and catch up! Or we need a phone date! πŸ˜‰ xo

    Reply
  2. i love your attitude! i had and still kinda have a similar digestive disorder so I can totally relate! Lots of good magazine and I always carry baby wipes in my purse. hahaha! love you friend.

    Reply
  3. I love your attitude Holly because it’s exactly what you need at this point. You are awesome and this post was hilarious.

    Reply
  4. As someone with CD, this is SO true!!! You know what else is fun? When I first started dating the hubby and having to explain, when I say get me to a bathroom I mean NOW! Now it’s a big joke. lots of poop jokes in our house. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Hahahahaha, I absolutely love this. And oh so true. I do many of these and I don’t have CD, but I love your openness and silliness about it.

    I used to drive between Madison and Chicago and I swear Id have bathroom ‘issues’ right when i was stuck in traffic and I would start to panic and think of all the ways I could leave my car!

    Reply
  6. Hillary

     /  September 23, 2011

    This post made me laugh. My boyfriend has Chrons Disease and he has pooped his pants in my car before. The only thing we could do was make a joke about it and giggle…and head to the nearest bathroom! We always try to keep light-hearted about the situation…the less stress the better! You can’t control the situation, you can only control your attitude! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Agreed to all 5 of the above! Coming from a fellow IBD patient I know those all too well. I also carry charmin wipes on airplane and while travelling, and in my gym bag – they are everywhere! You never know! Sorry to hear about your race – would have been nice to meet you there. If you do Summer 2012 the Virginia race is WAY HILLY! it was rather obnoxious actually.

    Reply
  8. This cracked me up! πŸ™‚ Glad you can put your situation in a positive light!

    Reply
  9. Sometimes you just have to laugh at yourself and make lemonade out of life’s lemons. I truly sympathize with you, but I also admire you and the strength you have to not only deal with your medical issue, but raise awareness, as well. You are amazing, Holly!!!

    Reply
  10. This is funny – and I wish I could do the same with brussels sprouts – I swear I will never learn to love those, no matter how much grease goes into them.

    If I were you I’d stock my bathroom full of Food Network and Cooking Light magazine. Ohhh, or get one of those little teeny flat screen tv’s!

    Reply
  11. Yes! More donut recipes, please! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. What a tough disease… but what a good outlook you have! πŸ™‚

    Just added your blog to my daily read list πŸ™‚ I cannot wait to bake those pumpkin donuts! DELISH!

    Hope you have a great Sunday! XOXO

    Reply
  13. survivingcandyland

     /  September 25, 2011

    You have a great attitude about having Chron’s. This post was awesome. I wish I had a better attitude about my autoimmune disease, Psoriatic Arthritis. Sometimes it just gets me down.

    Reply
    • Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that you have Psoriatic Arthritis 😦 I know a lot about that too…because it is an autoimmune disease & I do a lot of research on those types of diseases. But I hope you are on some kind of treatment that is helping you! Keep your chin up πŸ™‚

      Reply
  14. Girl, I am so bummed about Las Vegas and I am so sorry you have to miss it but that is AWESOME they are letting you transfer it to next year!! Okay, today’s post made my day! The cute bathroom, extra clothes, constant knowledge of where the potty it…HiLARIOUS!!! Maybe get a built in TV In the bathroom too:)

    Reply
  15. I just found your blog through Jenny’s blog and I’m so glad that I did! I met a girl last year who also has Crohn’s and she has the same kind of outlook on the disease. I love that you can laugh about it!

    P.S. I heard you are a Ravens fan!! Yay!!!

    Reply
  1. Living with Crohn’s « Love Eat Run
  2. Whatcha Reading Weekend | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed
  3. All The Single Ladies « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

