Is This a Big Mac?

Good Morning! Smile

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend! I have to tell you..I kind of told you a lie yesterday. Oopsie. I was planning to share a funfetti recipe with you today, but instead I have another recipe. I haven’t finished with the photos for the funfetti recipe, so expect that one tomorrow. See, I didn’t totally lie..I just postponed it. Winking smile

This weekend was pretty busy. First, on Friday night I had a work outing that was a lot of fun! A company that we work with was in town & took us out to Wolf Gang Puck’s for dinner & then we went and saw Cirque Du Soleil at Disney World.
cirquedusoleil

The show was AWESOME! I have never seen any Cirque Du Soleli show before & had high expectations. Let’s just say all of my expectations were definitely met!! It was even better than I thought it would be. If you are in Orlando (near the Disney World area) you HAVE to go & see it, so worth the money.

**********************************************************

Saturday was pretty busy too. I had to do the necessary weekend ‘things’- like go to the grocery store & laundry. While I was out I also had to get my vehicle checked out. My stupid ‘check engine’ light came on this past week & I thought I would get it looked at.
check-engine-light<—I hate seeing that. Annoyed

Thankfully Craig has a friend that is a mechanic, so he was able to look at it for me…rather than paying $94.99 to have the auto shop look at it. I was like, ummm excuse me??? did you really just say $94 dollars?!?!?! Eek! THANKFULLY the problem is an easy fix, not a cheap one (boo!), but at easy one. He’s going to fix it for me this upcoming weekend. I pretty much did it to myself…my SUV calls for premium gas & I was using regular gas. (only because the dealership told me it wasn’t that big of a deal to use premium) Lesson learned…and only a medium dent in my wallet.

After finishing up with the car issues, I headed home to change into gym clothes & tackled my workout! I was feeling really good and actually got some running in! Woohoo!! It’s always a big deal when I get to run. Like I said before, I will NEVER EVER take advantage of the ability to run!

Once I finished my workout, I figured I would take on another challenge…my shoe issue. You guys, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but I LOVE shoes. Shoes are just my ‘thing.’ Everyone has their ‘thing’ & shoes just happen to be mine. I can’t get enough of them…I also can’t pass up a good deal on a cute pair of shoes. Like these:
015

How cute are these?? I spotted these cut shoes at Marshalls the other day…and couldn’t pass them up! I mean they are BCBG & they were on sale. Hard to beat, right?!
Even though the heal is a bit shorter than what I normally wear, I liked the pattern so much that I had to get them!
016<—New shoe, and a shoe with my normal height. Most shoes I wear are about 5 inches tall, but they usually have a platform so they aren’t uncomfortable. I mean I have to make up for my shortness, ya know?! Winking smile

When I was going to put these in my closet I KNEW that I needed to fix my ‘shoe situation’ immediately. The bottom of my closet looked like a disaster…and that’s no lie. It was AWFUL & I would have to spend at least 5-10 minutes each morning trying to find a matching pair of shoes. It was getting really bad & I knew I needed to fix it. Situation solved:
018019

^Rack #1 which sits right outside of my closet..and then rack #2^, which is on the inside of my closet. 8 shelves of shoes…sounds about right Winking smile And then I just threw all of my flip flops on the floor & boots are on each side of the shelf.
020
I don’t wear them that much..well especially during the week, so it’s not that big of a deal if they aren’t together.

We also did a few other things around the house before calling it a day. I always like feeling accomplished during the weekend..at least one day out of the two. Sundays we typically just sit around & do NOTHING but watch football & check on our fantasy teams. (Craig has 3 or 4 fantasy teams, so it’s quite a bit of work Winking smile I only have one, so it’s not that big of a deal. Haha!)

The other thing on the weekend that I like to do is have at least one football meal. I always try to find a good recipe during the week that is perfect for a day of watching football games. This past weekend’s recipe was Cheeseburger Pizza with Secret Sauce, curiosity of Iowa Girl Eats! Smile I changed it up just a bit, and have the recipe I followed below. I swear Kristen always has the BEST ideas when it comes to recipes!! She is so creative!

042

Cheeseburger Pizza
(slightly adapted from this recipe)

Serves 4 people, 2 slices each

Ingredients:

3/4 lb lean ground turkey

1 tsp. seasoned salt

1/2 tsp. ground black pepper

1/2 cup onion, chopped & divided

1 tbsp. minced garlic (or 2 tbsp. if you are a garlic freak like me Winking smile )

1 pizza crust (homemade or store bought)

1/2 cup ketchup

2 Tablespoons Thousand Island dressing

1/2 cup chopped dill pickles

2 cups shredded 2% cheddar cheese

2 vine-ripened tomatoes, seeded & chopped

2 cups shredded lettuce

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Heat a greased skillet over medium high heat. Add 1/3 cup chopped onion & minced garlic to pan. Sauté for about 5 minutes until onion is softened; add ground turkey, seasoned salt & pepper to the skillet. When the meat is no longer pink, drain and return to the skillet.

2. Spray a pizza pan with non-stick spray, then stretch the dough on top. Mix ketchup and Thousand Island dressing together, then spread on top. Add layers of cooked ground beef, pickles and cheese. Bake pizza according to the dough’s package directions.

3. When pizza is fully cooked, top with tomatoes, onion and shredded lettuce.

2011-10-01

047

OH MY GOSH! This pizza is SO good!!!!! I cannot tell you enough how good it is! Not only is it so good, but it’s SO filling. Two pieces was PLENTY for me. Craig ate 3..and I thought he was going to eat another one, but he stopped so that he would have 3 pieces for lunch the next day.

As soon as I put the pizza on the table for dinner, Craig looked over & immediately goes ‘WHOA! That looks awesome!’ Then he walked over & swore that it smelled JUST like a Big Mac. He was like ‘is this some kind of Big Mac pizza, because I know the secret sauce for a Big Mac is thousand island dressing.’ I just told him to try it. Needless to say he was NOT disappointed. For the rest of the night I didn’t hear anything from him except how GREAT the pizza was! I seriously thought that he was going to raid the refrigerator in the middle of the night. Winking smile

You really NEED to make this! I’m sure whoever you make it for will love you for it…or maybe at least they will volunteer to do the dishes!

I hope that you have a great Monday! I know sometimes it’s a bit hard to enjoy a Monday…but hopefully it will be an easy day at work or school for you. Smile

Questions:
1. What’s your favorite pizza topping?
Mine is mushrooms. I just love ‘em!
2. What is your ‘thing?’ Mine ‘thing’ is definitely shoes! LOVE them.
3. Have you ever seen Cirque Du Soleil?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. That cheeseburger pizza looks awesome!! 🙂 My favorite pizza topping is turkey pepperoni and cheese 🙂

    Reply
  2. Darn – I was really looking forward to the Funfetti Holly! It’s okay, I’m sure you’ll have it for us sooner or later 😉 Those shoes are super cute – sometimes I wish I didn’t beat my feet/legs up marathon training so that I could enjoy wearing heels!

    Reply
  3. Holy crap you have a lot of shoes! haha

    My “thing” is jeans! Expensive, designer denim mainly!

    And favorite pizza topping = pineapple

    Reply
  4. You have so many cute pairs of shoes! I’m jealous! 😉

    I’ve been wanting to try that pizza recipe ever since Kristen posted it. It looks amazing! I’m going to have to try it.

    Reply
  5. That pizza looks rather fab 🙂 Awesome job as usual Holly! And cute shoes, I wish I could wear those, but I would be about 7 feet tall haha
    I am going to see that show this Thursday!!

    Reply
  6. I adore mushrooms. on everything.

    and burger meets pizza? THAT sounds like the best combo…. ever.

    Reply
  7. You know me girl, I love me some shoes!

    Those are HOT. Love the pattern and the sass. Perfect with a pair of dark jeans. Cute cute cute!

    I’ve seen one Cirque and thought it was phenomenal. I need to go again!

    Reply
  8. I love pepperonis on my pizza :). Those shoes are adorable!!! I’ve seen a couple of cirque shows and all of them are amazing!

    Reply
  9. That pizza looks awesome!!

    I love your shoe collection 🙂 My thing is purses, but I have had to put a hold on that and save my $$ more..darn, I hate being responsible sometimes lol

    Reply
  10. I love feta and kalamata olives on my pizza. Always a winner! I also love those shoes!!! I’ve been eying a snake print pair from Banana Republic. So cute!

    Reply
  11. My “thing” is food and cooking related stuff I’ll spend money on that over clothes any day! Mushrooms, peppers, and onions are my favorite on pizza!

    Reply
  12. I just got 3 more pairs of shoes today 🙂 I think those are my thing too. And watches. I freaking loooove watches.

    Im getting a HUGE wall just for my shoes installed in my closet. I’ll show it once it’s installed!

    Reply
  13. OMG look at all of those shoes girl!

    I love Cirque shows – just got tickets for the michael jackson one but its not until march!

    Def get the bread…it’s delicious! I made my cream cheese dairy free and it was so good!

    Reply
  14. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee

     /  October 3, 2011

    I love those BCBG pumps! I’m also short so I love wearing high heels. I can’t wait until I am no longer a grad student and have an income to spend on some fun things…like shoes!! 🙂 I think my ‘thing’ is coffee!! ha, friends always ask my opinion on what to try at starbucks or buy at keurig. Fashion wise, I own a lot of baseball hats!!

    Reply
  15. Wohoo! Glad both you and the man liked the Cheeseburger Pizza! Love those shoes by the way! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

