Baked Funfetti Doughnuts!!

Good Morning!

I hope that yesterday wasn’t too rough on you. I know Mondays can be kind of brutal sometimes…especially when you are up until midnight on Sunday watching a Ravens game. Smile I don’t know about you, but sometimes I think Tuesdays are the worst day of the week.

I mean Monday is the beginning of the week, so it’s like a new start. Wednesday is mid week, so you know you are half way to the end (& some of the best shows are on Wednesday night Smile ). Thursday is Friday Eve! (& more funny shows are on Thursday night…not to mention is Jerzday Winking smile ). And, well, Friday is a given, so I don’t think I need to explain why Friday is so awesome! So sometimes I wonder why Tuesday doesn’t get more of a bad rap?! Then again, maybe it’s just me..and I think WAY too into things. Smile

Since today is Tuesday, I thought I would give you something to make your Tuesday a bit better.
Here you go:
IMG_1998

Oh yes, I’m sure you guessed it, that is a FUNFETTI doughnut!! I mean does it get any better??? The combination of a doughnut AND sprinkles…I mean really?!! I don’t think too many things can top this combination. I swear that there is like crack in the funfetti cake mix.
IMG_1979

Once I smell it I HAVE to have it!

When I was looking for a new dinner recipe, I happened to stumble on this one for Funfetti Cake Doughnuts. It was like a sign that I HAD to make doughnuts! I really can’t get enough of my doughnut pan. It has quickly become my favorite kitchen utensil.
003

I just can’t stop making doughnuts! And to make it easier for you to find doughnut recipes that I have made (since I probably won’t be stopping anytime soon Winking smile ) I added a ‘doughnut’ section to my recipes page! (& if you still haven’t bought a doughnut pan I have NO idea why you are waiting…this is life changing!! Seriously Open-mouthed smile )

Without further ado, here is the recipe you have been waiting for:

Baked Funfetti Cake Batter Doughnuts
(slightly adapted from this recipe)

Donuts:
2 cups Funfetti Cake Mix
3/4 cup cake flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup egg beaters (or any other egg substitute)
3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk with 1 tbsp. lemon or lime juice mixed in (let sit for about 5 minutes after mixing together)
3 Tablespoons butter, melted
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Glaze:
1/2 cup powered sugar
1 tbsp. unsweetened almond milk

Preparation:
In a large bowl, whisk together the Funfetti cake mix, cake flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
IMG_1982
Want to see the cute spoon that I used?? (I’m sure you are just dying to see it  Winking smile )
IMG_1983
I just love it! (it’s just my pig obsession Smile )

Add in the egg substitute, almond milk + lemon/ lime juice mixture, melted butter and vanilla extract. Mix with a spatula. There will be some lumps in the batter, don’t worry. Do not over mix!
IMG_1984

Spray a doughnut pan with nonstick spray. Drop a few sprinkles into each of the doughnut hole molds. (just gives it an even more ‘funfetti look’ & you can never have too many sprinkles Winking smile )
IMG_1985
Fill a large ziplock bag (or pastry bag, I just don’t have one) with the doughnut batter. Fill the doughnut pan with the batter. When filling the doughnuts, do not fill each one up too much.
IMG_1987

IMG_1988

Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 minutes. The doughnuts may look like they’re not done but they are.

Take the doughnuts out of the pan and cool them completely on a cooling rack.
IMG_1991

IMG_1993

Once cooled, mix the powdered sugar & unsweetened almond milk together. Stir until there are no more lumps in the mixture. (you may need to add more milk to it; it will just depend on the consistency) Once you have the consistency that you like, drizzle the glaze over the donuts & top with tons of more sprinkles.
IMG_1995
IMG_1998

Then try to eat just one…I dare you Winking smile

IMG_2001

I also suggest trying them without the glaze, they are really good that way too. The funfetti flavor isn’t too overwhelming, it’s just right! I enjoyed them either way..and I may or may not of considered eating these doughnuts for dinner. I mean, hey nothing wrong with a little sugar for your dinner. Smile It’s all about balance, right?!

Well, sorry it took me an extra day to post this recipe, but I sure hope that it was worth the wait!

Before you go, I have some BIG news…well big news for me at least. Guess who was able to run OUTSIDE yesterday for 3.25 miles with only 2 bathroom breaks?!? (thank goodness for actual bathrooms along the path I was running, not woods- ha!) THIS girl!!!! 😀 Guys, I was SO happy. I don’t even remember the last time I was able to run outside. I could of kept running, but my time was limited & I didn’t want to push my luck TOO much. I kept repeating the same two sentences over & over in my head: I WILL conquer this run & I will NOT let Crohn’s disease get the best of me. It worked!!! After my run I also knocked out the 550 rep fat massacre (which I ALWAYS recommend for a home workout) & some additional ab, inner thigh & butt stuff. Needless to say that I was a VERY happy girl when I finished my workout!!

I hope that you have a great day! & I hope that this Tuesday flies by for you. At least tomorrow is mid week, right!? Winking smile

Questions for you:
1. What is your favorite day of the week besides Friday- Sunday? & why?
2. I need some more doughnut recipe ideas- do you have any?? Or any requests??

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Yum!!! THese look so delicious. I need a donut pan! My favorite day is probably Thursday because it is my last day of school for the week and is like my friday 😀

    Reply
  2. I’m so happy for you that you got to run outside! It really is the best feeling.

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh!! I totally didn’t see these coming but they look AMAZING! I’ve got to get one of those pans pronto. I love that you put sprinkles in the bottom of the pan so the color popped a ton on the top of the donut.

    Reply
  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  October 4, 2011

    Aw yey! Congrats on the successful run! You’re a motivation for us all 🙂

    Reply
  5. These look so pretty 🙂 Putting the sprinkles i first is a brilliant idea! And yay for the success of running outside!

    Reply
  6. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee

     /  October 4, 2011

    Congrats on the run! Oh my goodness, those funfetti donuts look amazing!! Why have I not bought that donut pan yet?? My favorite donut at DD is the blueberry cake. And red velvet would be delicious! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Nice job on the run Holly!!

    I don’t really like Tuesdays either – Mondays are pretty busy at work and Tuesdays are just blah.

    Clearly I love funfetti – so these look AMAZING

    Reply
  8. WOW! Must go by donut pan today!

    Reply
  9. Congrats on the run, Holly!!!! My fave day of the week is Wednesday, because it means that half of the week is over, and since I’m a grad student, I only have one class on Thursday and then nothing on Friday–even though it is usually taken over by reading and homework, I love it just the same!

    Also, I made Avocado doughnuts a while back with a caramel drizzle–they are so yummy and spicy! http://thegradgourmand.blogspot.com/2011/07/avocado-doughnuts.html

    Reply
  10. These look wonderful!

    Reply
  11. Funfetti is my favorite type of cake! I can only imagine how amazing they taste in doughnut form! I am definitely registering for a donut pan. I cannot wait to try making my own doughnuts 🙂

    Reply
  12. Oh those look awesome! I should get a doughnut pan :). And congrats on your run!! I love Wednesdays because it’s the sign that half the week is over before the weekend!

    Reply
  13. Ugh, I hate Sundays…but I actually like Mondays because it’s like a fresh start!

    I would love to be a taste tester for all the donuts that you’re making 😉

    Reply
  14. LOVE the doughnuts. adorable. who doesn’t love funfetti? i really love mondays now..weird, i know.

    Reply
  15. Saturday because it’s right in between. Any day but Monday is okay with me.

    Coconut donuts, lemony donuts, festive donuts, gingerbread, mint chocolate, candycane…wow am I getting into winter themed baked goods (pancakes on my mind…who knows). Anyways these look delicious.

    Reply
  16. Errign

     /  October 4, 2011

    Funfetti cake is like crack, so props on makin’ it into doughnuts! 🙂

    Reply
  17. CONGRATS on the run! That must have felt great!!! 🙂 Yaaaay.

    These doughnuts look AMAZING and that spoon is just way too cute for words 🙂

    Hmmm doughnut flavors…. lemon meringue pie doughnuts? haha I love lemon meringue pie 😛 And I’ve never seen a recipe for those as far as I can remember!! I think pumpkin doughnuts would be a great morning-after-Thanksgiving brunch idea too 🙂

    Reply
  18. those donuts look SO good! i can’t ever resist funfetti. one of my coworkers birthdays is this week and i was debating which kind of cupcakes to bring in…then i remembered that everyone loves funfetti!

    Reply
  19. Omg. I’m not really a huge fan of regular donuts, but i am SURE i would love these. And I adore your pig spoon. ADORE IT!

    Reply
  20. can NOT wait to make these. i love donuts and i love sprinkles. this is a perfect union that must get in my belly asap

    Reply
  1. An explanation and “Whatcha Reading.” | Confessions of a (Not-So) Domesticated Newlywed
  2. Funfetti Donuts and Icing « Pamcakes & Coffee

Leave a Reply

