Fives & Legs

Good Morning Friends! Happy mid week & YAY for all of the funny shows tonight. It seriously helps my day so much knowing that I will have some good laughs tonight! Open-mouthed smile (please tell me I’m not alone…otherwise I might feel a bit lame- ha!)  Today is a pretty busy day, so I kind of am coping out of a real post..instead I thought I would do a survey & give you a new leg workout that I think you will really enjoy.

I’m sure that you guys have seen this ‘Five’ survey going around, and I figured I would participate as well. Smile I think surveys are fun & I didn’t want to miss out on any fun, so here you go.

Fives

All you have to do is answer each topic with five answers..easy enough!

*Last five people I talked to on the phone:
1. Craig
2. Walgreens (ordered a prescription)
3. My Parents
4. Lea
5. My Chiropractor’s office (confirming an appointment)

*Last Five Meals I Ate:
1. A Cake Batter Protein shake with spinach added
2. A cinnamon raisin bagel thin with strawberry jelly & 1/2 of a banana
3. A Funfetti Donut! (I can’t get enough Open-mouthed smile )
IMG_2000

4. Roasted chicken, baked potato wedges, & broccoli
5. Thai Chicken Salad from Panera
Orlando-20110929-00064

*Last five places I’ve traveled:
1. Tampa, FL (for the Orioles v. Rays game)
2. Jacksonville, FL (to visit my parents & for my friend Jayme’s wedding)
3. Jacksonville, FL (for 4th of July to see Craig’s Mom & Aunt)
4. St. Lucia (for our Honeymoon!!!)
5. Baltimore (for Christmas & New Years & my surprise Wedding shower Smile )

Next five places I will go (outside of my hometown):
1. Jacksonville, FL (for the Ravens v. Jags game- end of this month)
2. Baltimore, MD (for Thanksgiving)
3. Fort Lauderdale, FL (hopefully!! to see Lea)
4. Maryland again for my sister’s in law’s baby shower!! Open-mouthed smile
5.

Last five workouts:
1. Upper body heavy weight workout + 20 minutes stair stepper
2. 3.25 mile run + 550 rep massacre (bodyrock tv)
3. 45 minute treadmill workout- alternating between incline walking & running & just running
4. 30 minutes on elliptical + 40 minute full body weight workout
5.
45 minute leg workout (HARD—see below!) & 20 minutes on treadmill- alternating between running & incline walking

Five things making me happy right now:
1. My family (everyone that is close & far)Red heart
2. Changes happening in my life! (they are good!!)
3. Looking forward to seeing my in-laws at the end of this month- we have fun things planned Smile
4. The Ravens (& that we are going to see them in Jacksonville for the MONDAY NIGHT GAME!!)
5. Fall- loving the weather here in FL, all things pumpkin & the upcoming holidays

There you go, my ‘five things!’

So I also have a NEW leg workout to share with you!! The beginning of the workout is from Lindsay’s Tuesday Trainer Leg Workout. Here blog is AWESOME! I’m glad that I found it. Smile She has some other KILLER workouts that you should check out! I have also done the ab workout & it ROCKS!

I just added more on to the end of the workout & also took out the last superset of her workout, only because it is a LOT of lunges..and my knees were really starting to bother me, especially with the extra weight that I was using on the lunge exercises.

  • Superset #1

Basic Squat (I used a 45lb. barbell on my back)
12-15 reps

Front/Back Lunge (I used 10lb. dumbbells each hand)
10 reps per leg

  • Superset #2

Stiff Legged Deadlift (I used a 50lb. barbell)
12-15 reps

Plyo Lunge
30-60 seconds

  • Superset #3

Curtsy Lunge (I used 10lb. dumbbells in each hand)
10 reps per leg

Kettlebell Swing (I used a 35lb. weight- there are no kettlebells at my gym)
60 seconds

  • Superset #4

Leg extension on machine (I used 50lb. on machine)
15 reps

Hamstring Curls on machine (I used 50lb. on machine)
15 reps

  • Superset #5

Inner Thigh Squeezes (on the awkward machine- I used 50lb. on machine)
15 reps

Outer Thigh Presses (on the same awkward machine- I used 50lb.)
15 reps

  • Superset #6

Calf Raises on Machine (I put 90lbs. on the machine)
15 reps

Single Leg Presses (I used 55lbs. on machine)
15 reps per leg

**Once I was done with my weight workout, I ended up doing 20 minutes on the elliptical with some very sore legs! I wanted to make sure that I got some kind of cardio in though. Smile

Ok guys, this workout is NO joke. Usually when I do a leg workout I don’t really ‘feel’ the soreness until the end of the workout or the next day. Well this workout was a different story- I started feeling it in the middle of the workout. My legs were screaming at me…but in a good way. I love the sore feeling, so I didn’t mind…and I also knew that my workout was really WORKING it! Winking smile

Anyways, I’m off to get ready for work. I’m feelin’ pumped & ready to go today!

Before I go, some questions for you:
1. Tell me some of your ‘fives’- what five things are you looking forward too?
2. What is your favorite type of lunge? (if you have one) Reverse, regular, split lunges, jump lunges, etc. etc.
3. What’s your favorite show on tonight?? Mine is Modern Family Smile

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Loved this post! 🙂
    Five things Im looking forward to:
    1.) Going shopping with my mom 😀
    2.) Trying some new recipes this week
    3.) Getting a package
    4.) Reading blog posts
    5.) Dog sitting next week

    I’m not a big fan of lunges but I prefer the regular one.

    Reply
  2. i like that workout woman! nice! and yes FUNNY SHOW NIGHT! WOO!

    Reply
  3. five things i am looking forward to…..NZ, Fall weather, Soups!, 2012 racing season, and the WEEKEND!

    Reply
  4. I love walking lunges…they seem to really work for me :). Five things I’m looking forward to- my bf coming to visit tomorrow, getting a quiz over with today, going to Florida in November, some new blog opportunities, and several movies coming out that I want to see!

    Reply
  5. I’m going to do that survey tomorrow I think!!

    Posted the spaghetti squash lasagna recipe – Have a good day 😉

    Reply
  6. AWESOME! Thanks for the shout out! Glad you got sore – makes the time spent working out seem worth it!
    Tomorrow, I’ll post next week’s theme – you should submit something!

    Reply
  7. I’m a reverse lunge kind of girl. I feel like I have the best form that way.

    A show I’m wathing tonight is Top Chef Desserts, so I can drool 😉

    Reply
  8. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee

     /  October 5, 2011

    I can’t wait for Modern Family!! I usually work 12s on Wednesdays, but I am off today so I will have to switch between my Wed night shows and the Phillies! 🙂 5 things that I am looking forward to are: 1) Making pumpkin chili tonight, 2) Fall craft fair down the shore this weekend, 3) My birthday (halloween) in a few weeks and celebrating with fam/friends, 4) Graduating! the beginning of December, and 5) Vermont ski trip over New Years in the planning!

    Reply
  9. okay, so those funfetti doughnuts had me (and ryan!) drooling! he was literally salivating over them last night when i was looking at your blog. i have to make them

    Reply
  10. I ditto Julie’s comment … I don’t have one of those donut pans, but now I really want one!!!!

    And I do a lot of walking lunges … is that the technical term?? But I usually put a 5 lb dumbbell in each hand and do lunges up and down the floor of the gym. 🙂

    Reply
  11. I know this has nothing to do with this post but how awesome are our Ravens doing?! I was at the Steelers game and actually wanted to cry for joy!

    Reply
  12. OMG I got a donut pan on Friday and made cake batter donuts too! They were sooo delish! I am traveling right now but seriously want to make them as soon as I get back!

    I’m looking forward to five days in vegas! for work. but that’s okay 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

