Did You Get Your Pink Bagel?

Good Morning!! 😀

TGIF!!

This post is short & sweet, just wanted to remind you to get your PINK bagel from Panera today! (it’s going on ALL day- so don’t worry if you didn’t make it for breakfast, you can always have one for lunch..or for a sweet treat 🙂 ) A portion of the proceeds will go to a local breast cancer foundation!

I made sure I stopped this morning & picked up a bunch of them for my co workers & myself.

Breast cancer awareness is HUGE to me. I explained my whole story here. To sum the story up, I am BRCA positive, which means that I am at high risk for getting breast cancer at some point in my life. (about 60%- 80% more likely :/ ) It has affected all of the female members of my biological mother’s family. I am just on HIGH alert & I always make sure to get my annual exams, despite the fact that I am only 24 years old. I just have to make sure that I am doing all of the preventive things necessary so that I can catch anything before it turns into breast cancer.

Also, if you have ANY one in YOUR family that has had breast cancer OR is BRCA positive, YOU can probably get the BRCA test covered by your insurance. That is what happened to me. I was able to prove (with doctor’s papers) that my biological mother had breast cancer & my insurance covered the whole thing. Normally it is very expensive (like SEVERAL THOUSAND dollars), but if you can prove that it runs in your family insurance will typically cover it. So PLEASE consider getting the testing done- it’s JUST BLOOD WORK!- if breast cancer rusn in your family. It is SO worth it- better to KNOW & do preventative measures- that to just ignore it.

If you would like some more information on this- check out these websites:
Cancer.gov  & Bracnow.com

Have a WONDERFUL day!!! Don’t forget to wear PINK this month for breast cancer awareness!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. didnt know about the pink bagels but think i will take a walk there to get one right now 🙂

    Reply
  2. Wearing pink right now! 🙂

    Reply
  3. love those bagels! how cute!

    Reply
  4. Ooo good to know about the bagels!! I too am very aware of breast cancer because my grandmother has been fighting it for several years now!

    Reply
  5. I’m forcing aDuBs to go get Panera with me. True life. I love them.

    Reply
  6. I did not know about this event! I don’t have a Panera in my city, but there is one about 20 mins away that I will hit up if I decide to travel that way 🙂 Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply
  7. Thanks for bringing attention to this Holly!!! I have a strong family history of breast cancer too and I personally think the BRCA test is just awesome — I’m so glad it’s available….for when I get insurance 😉 haha

    Reply
  8. those bagels are awesome!! thank you for the info and reminding all of us the importance of this entire month!

    xo

    Reply
  9. I walked by panera three times today and had no idea! Wish I would’ve seen this post earlier. But what an awesome cause 🙂

    Reply
  1. She Read It Wrong. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

