Baked Apple Butter Oatmeal

Good Morning Smile

Welcome to a new week! Can you believe that October is more than half way over?? I can’t. I feel like this month as FLOWN by, actually the whole last half of this year has flown by. Right now is the PERFECT time to live in Florida- well the next month or so, it’s cooling down, mind you cooling down is the low 80’s for us. It’s also getting darker earlier, which I love because it just really feels so ‘fall-ish.’ (don’t mind the made up words Winking smile )

I know that I have been talking about coming up with a recipe for Red Velvet donuts for a little while…and I do promise that it’s coming. I’m just trying to perfect it. I just need to figure out how much cocoa powder to use. …the other part of the problem is that I forgot to pick up red food coloring the last time I was at the grocery store. So I had purple velvet donuts instead of red. Smile  (because you know I always have a ton of purple stuff on hand Winking smile )

But I do have a new recipe for you…sorry it’s not red velvet donuts (they WILL be coming), but it IS really good, that I can guarantee!

Believe it or not, there is actually something that I love more than pumpkin this time of year. It’s something that I can get all year round, but I prefer to eat it during fall & winter…only because it seems more appropriate this time of year.

031

Apple butter!!! Yep, I said it, I like this stuff MORE than pumpkin! I don’t know what it is about it. It must be the sweet combination of apples & sugar perfected and bottled in a jar waiting patiently for me to but it every single year. I know my Grammie used to really like apple butter..and I almost want to say that the first time I ever had it was when I was visiting her one year in New Hampshire. I really can’t remember, but it does remind me of her. There must be some reason that it brings memories of her to my mind whenever I have it.

When I got up on Sunday I was trying to think of what I wanted to make for breakfast. Typically I make Craig something involving eggs, bacon, and some kind of bread. He really like bagel sandwiches, which I have made many  Sundays, but I wanted to make something different. Something new. As I was lying in bed, just waking up, it hit me. What I wanted to make for breakfast HAD to include apple butter. No if’s, and’s or but’s…it was a must.

Baked Apple Butter Oatmeal

Serves 2

006

Ingredients:

-1 medium to large apple (I used a Gala apple, but any would work)
-1/3 cup apple butter, plus additional for topping
-1 cup old fashioned oats
-1 tsp. cinnamon
-3/4 cup almond milk (or any kind of milk)
-2 egg whites, lightly beaten

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Cut up apple into small pieces & place in a large mixing bowl. Add in apple butter & mix together with apple pieces.
009
011
013

3. Add in oats & cinnamon. Mix well.
014

4. Pour the milk & egg whites into oat mixture and combine.
019

5. Grease two mini loaf pans & pour half of the mixture into each of the loaf pans. Add about a teaspoon of apple butter to the top of each loaf.
022

6. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the middle is no longer soupy. (is ‘soupy’ technical?! Winking smile )
032

Now please keep in mind, this baked oatmeal isn’t super sweet…I actually prefer my oatmeal that way. I’m not a huge fan of overly sweet oatmeal…and I know this might shock you all, but I really don’t like peanut butter in my oatmeal. The more ‘oatmeal-ish’ the better. The other thing that I like about this recipe is that the oats still kind of had a little crunch (like oats should) when I went to eat it. Not an uncooked crunch, but just a hearty oat crunch. Does that even make any sense?! Sorry my descriptions are a bit off this morning. It IS Monday…that should say enough in itself Open-mouthed smile

If you did want it sweeter, then you could add some kind of sweetener (sugar, stevia, or honey) to the oats before you bake them.

Instead of eating the oats out of the pan, I took the loaf out & mashed it onto a plate. Then I topped the oats with some more apple butter…because well, like I said I just can’t get enough of the stuff! Smile

041

044
(looks kind of like ground turkey, right?! Ha! Smile)

This was such a FILLING & tasty breakfast! It kept me full for about 5 hours!!  I’m a pretty big snacker, so 5 hours without any food is the sign of a VERY filling breakfast! I’m actually considering baking a few of these & storing them in the fridge for my work week breakfasts. That way I won’t have to think of what to have for breakfast, and I can just grab it & go. Pretty convenient Smile

Looks like it time for me to get this work week started! I just kicked my own butt at the gym, & now the shower is calling my name. Hope you have a great Monday! (well, as good as a Monday can be Winking smile )

Questions for ya:
1. What is your favorite thing to mix into oatmeal?
Honestly, like I said, I like it really simple…so I typically just add a bit of brown sugar.
2. Anything exciting that you are looking forward to this week? I definitely do- Craig & I are heading up to Jacksonville on Saturday to see my parents & to go to the Monday Night football game- RAVENS v. Jags!! We are both REALLY excited about it!!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I LOVE apple butter too! I have loved it ever since I was a kid. I currently have a jar in the fridge and 2 in the pantry : ) Definitely going to try this recipe!

    Reply
  2. OH my goodness do i love apple butter, even more than pumpkin butter! Looks like a great recipe Holly, as usual 🙂 I

    Reply
  3. Yum! This IS the perfect Fall breakfast and a great way to start the day! 🙂

    Reply
  4. I lovelovelove apple butter!!!! I’m sitting in class drooling over this. Haha! I need to make this 😀 I have been looking for a new way to wat oatmeal. I usually love nut butter in mine or dried fruit. Sometimes simple oatmeal is the way to go! This whole year has flown I can’t believe it’s near the end of October either! Crazyyyyy

    Reply
  5. I think apple butter is pretty fab myself!

    I like to add maple syrup to oatmeal, probably because anything maple pretty much rocks my world.

    As for this week, my bestie, my Mom and my MIL are all flying in for my baby shower!

    Reply
  6. The oatmeal looks faboosh!! Have you ever tried making your own apple butter? I did last year and it knocked the socks off store bought! Have a great week 🙂 !!

    Reply
  7. Yum that looks tasty! I do like PB in my oatmeal, so lately I’ve been mixing a half a banana and a scoop of PB in mine and then I top it with cinnamon 🙂

    Reply
  8. I agree that apple butter is the best! it reminds me of my grandma too! Funny.

    So random question about red velvet cake…but I thought the reason it was red was because of some chemical reaction and true red vevlet cake doesn’t have food coloring in it. Have you heard that?

    Reply
  9. even though it might not be too sweet, it still looks yummy and amazing!! I don’t like it overly sweet either, so I think I would like this! 🙂

    have fun at the game!

    Reply
  10. Ha yes, you could totally fool people with that picture – it almost looks like it could be turkey with bbq sauce 🙂 Sounds awesome though, I love apple butter too! It’s great on a cinnamon raisin bagel.

    Reply
  11. That looks great!!! I like bananas or blueberries in my oatmeal, with brown sugar, a little cinnamon, and maybe some walnuts on top. But yours looks amazing!

    Reply
  1. GOtheXtraMile » First Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

