Apple Chip Chicken

Good Morning Open-mouthed smile 

Well guys, I know this might come as a shock to you. (insert sarcasm Winking smile )But I have another recipe for you today that uses apple butter. Maybe you didn’t believe me when I told you that I really do LOVE apple butter. Red heart This recipe is kind of a unique recipe though, it’s nothing that I have ever seen before..and I’ve seen a lot of recipes! I guess that’s why when I saw it, I was intrigued & knew I HAD to make it. My recipe that is below, is based on a recipe that I happened to stumble upon when I was on Publix’s apron recipes. The original recipe calls for dried apples, (which I was ironically looking for AT Publix, but they did not have any in stock- I asked) but since I could not find them, I decided to use apple chips instead.
039

I used Seneca apple chips, and I forgot HOW good these things are! As soon as I opened the bag the smell was SO inviting that I just couldn’t resist having a few. Smile
040

I love that they have a BIG apple taste when you first bite into them, and they use fresh apples to make them. There are also no funky ingredients to read through, it’s really just apples & a bit of oil to get that crisp. I actually bought more (after I made this chicken) to add to my oatmeal. I normally don’t like much added to my oatmeal (like I said yesterday- typically just brown sugar) but these are REALLY good in oatmeal. Yum!

Besides the fact that these chips are good on their own, they are even BETTER on chicken! ..and then you add in apple butter..oh man, I am S-O-L-D!

Apple Chip Chicken

Ingredients:
-1 & 1/4 cups apple chips (usually found in the produce section, by the apples)
-1 & 1/4 cups corn flakes
-1 tbsp. flour
-1 tsp. seasoned salt
-1/2 tsp. black pepper
-1/3 cup apple butter plus more for dipping, if desired
-1 lb. chicken tenders

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Add apple chips to food processor, and process until they are finely chopped.
043
3. Add in corn flakes, flour, seasoned salt & pepper to the processor & continue to process until it is all finely chopped.- it should almost look like breadcrumbs. Place the mixture on plate, or large bowl.
047

4. Pour your apple butter into a large bowl, and dip each chicken tender in the apple butter. Once covered in apple butter, dip each tender in the apple chip crumbs. Place the coated tenders on a greased baking sheet & bake for about 12- 15 minutes (flipping half way through) or until the tenders are no longer pink in the middle.
048
050

I served the chicken tenders with additional apple butter, but you really don’t need it…unless you are an apple butter FREAK like me Winking smile
051

This was such an interesting combination of flavors. Honestly I would of NEVER thought to put apples & chicken together. It is definitely a WINNING (<—ha! I sound like Charlie Sheen) combination!

As I was making this meal, I told Craig that ‘this may become one of my very FAVORITE recipes EVER.’ He was like ‘whoa H! That is a bold statement.’ Yep, I did realize that…and it was NOT an overstatement. This recipe is by FAR one of VERY favorite recipes. You can just feed me this at LEAST once a week, and I will be a VERY happy girl! Open-mouthed smile  It’s definitely a recipe that I will save for the fall, it’s not really something that screams summer. Something that might scream summer is watermelon, although I don’t think watermelon chicken would be a favorite recipe of mine…let alone a favorite of anyone’s. Winking smile

This meal is also husband approved! At first I wasn’t too sure what Craig would think of these tenders, but the second that he sat down at the table for dinner, he commented on HOW good they smelled. He was like ‘these smell sweet! I’m not used to that smell for dinner.’ I just kind of gave him a little smile & told him just to try them. I think he was pretty delighted after he took his first bite. I may or may not want to admit that between the two of us we were able to eat an entire pound of chicken. Embarrassed smile That’s just HOW good they were. I was really bummed that we didn’t have any leftovers, which is a statement I NEVER make. (I’m a leftover hater..as much as I hate to admit that..it’s true) I’m already looking forward to making these again…and just looking at the picture above is making my mouth water.

If you remember one thing today…it’s that you HAVE to make these..immediately! Smile I promise you will be in for a real treat!

I’m off to get this day started! But first I’m definitely going to need a big mug of coffee, with a  bit of brown sugar maple creamer. I’m still addicted to this stuff- it’s oh so good! Open-mouthed smile Have a GREAT day!!

Questions for you:
1. What is the most random combination of food that you like to eat?
2. What is your favorite dried fruit?
I really like dried banana chips. Which makes me think…maybe I should think of a recipe using those! Smile

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. This chicken looks delicious! 🙂 Such a creative idea.

    My favorite dried fruit is banana chips too. They are so good. I also like apple chips. I want to try making homemade apple chips.

    Reply
  2. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee

     /  October 18, 2011

    Great recipe idea!! I think my next purchase will have to be a food processor. 🙂 A great summer recipe could be a combination of dried banana chips & coconut?

    Reply
  3. Oh my goodness….I am totally making this!!! PERFECT!

    Reply
  4. totallllly making this. i just bought apple butter (and i almost bought these chips!!) on vacation this past weekend.

    Reply
  5. I think I’d like this recipe as well! Apple and chicken goes really well for some odd reason — I did an apple stuffing stuffed chicken breast and that was like Thanksgiving in my mouth. So good!

    I’ve got my maple creamer today too 😉

    Reply
  6. DRIED MANGO IS HEAVENLY!! YAY for a husband approved meal…I am SURE my husband would approve of that meal too, it looks incredible! I think apples and chicken sound amazing together!

    Reply
  7. what a great combo girl! i love this. so clever! apple chicken is good stuff. I once made something similar with corn flakes and crushed peanuts. I think chicken goes with anything, well almost.
    😉

    Reply
  8. Interesting. I bet that would work for tofu or seitan. And I’m with you on leftovers. Not a fan.

    Reply
  9. Yum, they sounds delicious! I love a little sweet with my savory 🙂

    As for weirdest food combo? How about orange juice with dessert?! I’ve never been a milk drinker, so when I have something sweet I reach for the orange juice haha my guy thinks I’m crazy, but I just love it!

    Reply
  10. What a great recipe! And I definitely love apple butter the way you do! I’ve yet to make it myself…..white house makes such a great variety! Anyways, the weirdest combination I’ve chowed down on for a long time is PB & J with cheez doodles mixed in. Ewww I know, but for me, it reminds me of my childhood (I just can’t eat it that often now..have you tried to eat just a few cheetos? lol) And my fave dried fruit is dried cranberries! They are a great surprise in my oatmeal each day! Great post!

    Reply
  11. Ooh that looks and sounds delicious!!

    Reply
  12. WHATTT! I never would have thought of that. That sounds seriously fantastic. I love apple butter like it’s my job.

    Reply
  13. Yum!! That’s such a creative idea!

    My favorite dried fruit is probably dried cherries. They are so good on spinach salads. Yum!

    Reply
  14. i love apple chips, they are quit expensive though but still an awesome treat. the apple rings from TJ’s are awesome, they are not fully dried out so they are still kind of chewy. i love them!! kinda hard to stop eating them though. haha.

    Reply
  15. mmm…I’ll have to give this a try! I sometimes bake chicken breast in apple sauce and cinnamon. Gives it a nice flavor for Fall & Winter 🙂

    Reply
  1. Strawberry & Lime « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

